Vivi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 Hi All I just got news that i need to replace my throttle body for my Mit Lancer. It costs 1241. Anybody got a better solution to this? No money leh, so how?????? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 $1241?! wah..siong man. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 wah liew... so exp meh?? tot ard 300-400 depending on model and availability? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 maybe can go for refurbished or recon? or can lancer use proton parts? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 wah how come need to replace throttle body? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 How old is your ride and why do you need to change it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Shoi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 find scrap yard lol. whether got recon anot. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Author Share November 25, 2004 Only 3 yrs old and got to replace throttle body. Outside workshop is about $700+. Dunno if shld do it outside. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 3 years old only and need to change? is it faulty or it is a mod. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Author Share November 25, 2004 Har what u mean? This morning when I start my car, it keeps jerking and then the engine indicator keep blinking, so got to tow to cycle and carriage. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rx18 Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 what happen? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 maybe you can try to clean the throttle body instead of changing. Is it still under warranty? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Author Share November 25, 2004 3 years and 3 months i think no warranty. Wah the mechanic say if you change outside also got to bring back there to do tuning or dunno what cos only they have the computer to do it. They also say cannot use recon cos although may be able to start but may keep vibrating. So in old cars is called carburettor, new cars is called throttle body. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 It might be the case of a dirty throttle body... You can't trust the mechanic with 100%... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vivi Neutral Newbie November 25, 2004 Author Share November 25, 2004 He told me that we cannot see the inside, probably the filter is dirty and so there is no choice but to replace the whole thing Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slonez Clutched November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 Agree . No harm try cleaning first & see how. Mechanics like doctors, better get 2nd opinion. But $1k+ for throttle body is too much. Remember ITR also not so ex! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 no such thing one... Cleaning of throttle can be DIY one.. think he want to 'smoke' you liao Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear November 25, 2004 Share November 25, 2004 Think they want to chop him ah.. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...