Metalslug Neutral Newbie November 21, 2004 Share November 21, 2004 hey where to get these special lock nuts? my friend said jb also can get...... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 21, 2004 Share November 21, 2004 (edited) I recently just got mine at Stamford Tyres in the Bt Batok branch. They have a set that is chromed and looks very close to my original ones, need to look very closely to tell the diff. Edited November 21, 2004 by Sotong_kia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear November 21, 2004 Share November 21, 2004 Not much of use- anyone with a manually operated gear torque multiplier can easily break the lock pin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 21, 2004 Share November 21, 2004 Oh, really ? But the nut has curves and it looks not easy to have a grip on unless have the right key ? Anyway, nothing is 100% secure. idea is just to make it difficult and not worth the effort for someone to do things to your car. I mean, remote can be duplicated, keys can be picked, bars can be cut. And lastly, if they really target you. Can just tow your car away and do something later.. Basic idea is to prevent the "lets see what I can steal today" kind. If I offended someone and is targetting a me specifically, even the Secret Service can't do much.. HAHA Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Metalslug Neutral Newbie November 21, 2004 Author Share November 21, 2004 wow... but i dont think those thieves with bricks and jack can steal my rims once i have the nuts rite....i mean e gear torque thing sounds troublesome anyway! to invest in a car alarm, tts even more expensive....! :P Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear November 21, 2004 Share November 21, 2004 What we afraid is that they want to get the rims and tyre... cannot... so they get angry..... and when they get angry... they would wan to vent their anger.... and if they see the car windscreen, windows, paintwork so nice.. and decide to leave some signature... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duadua2 Neutral Newbie November 22, 2004 Share November 22, 2004 is GPRS system really works?is it worth fixing it up in ur car? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 23, 2004 Share November 23, 2004 It is called put up a fight.. You want to rob my money, be prepared to work for it.. I am not going to pass my wallet to you in a silver platter.. Maybe the robber bigger and stronger than me, and I end up also losing the money, worse, kenna beaten into a pulp. But at least, the message is : Don't think I small like kuniang you bully me. I make sure you work up a sweat too. But ha.. if they tow my car away, macam meet a robber with gun and I only got baseball bat.. Bo bian lor.. Kenna outgunned.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watoke Neutral Newbie November 24, 2004 Share November 24, 2004 Quote I recently just got mine at Stamford Tyres in the Bt Batok branch. They have a set that is chromed and looks very close to my original ones, need to look very closely to tell the diff. How much you paid for? How many nuts? 4 per set or 5 per sets? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 24, 2004 Share November 24, 2004 I think it is $25. They even installed for me. 4-nuts lah. 1 for each wheel. How come need 5 ? Spare ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghost Neutral Newbie November 24, 2004 Share November 24, 2004 maybe he think is all the nut change lar.. but sure and confirmed safe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 24, 2004 Share November 24, 2004 Well, safe from petty theft, but definitely not professional. The only way is to buy things that dun attract professionals, like cheap car.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 Quote hey where to get these special lock nuts? my friend said jb also can get...... recently found my lock nuts all crack liao and ask my father to get some for me. and he managed to get whole set for me at RM$80 (all together 18 nuts(2 spare) with the special key), don't know ex or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 1 for each wheel 1 for each looks ugly ler, must have all nuts same pattern mar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghost Neutral Newbie November 26, 2004 Share November 26, 2004 aiya , can;t really notice it 1 lar.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 aiya , can;t really notice it 1 lar.. don't know ler.... i can't notice ler Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 Hi Metal slug Of cos you can get it from across the bridge. Lemme share my woes with you. I had a set transferred from my Santa Fe to my Monstero. After some wheeling and changing of tires, the lock nut began to wear down from the tightening and loosening regime. There was a period of time I was wheeling so often, I was changing to my other set of tires twice a week. The day came when the special socket rounded not one but 2 of the lock nuts. I was goign crazy because the rest of the guys are waiting for me to arrive across the bridge. I had a hard time to chisel some falte spots and use a normal size 20 socket to open them up. After that odeal, I never went with lock nuts ever. So what if your rims cost 2 times more than your audio set up. I would rather have a piece of mind with the mechanical parts than to worry when they will fail again. How often do you hear of cars left on bricks? Heard many but have you actually seen one? Rims are not really that expensive nowadays. Mechanics' hours are. Even if the most expensive lock nuts will fail you after some usuage, let alone cheapo ones from RM$20. Another caution you need to take is the thread pattern of the lock nut might not match up with your vehicle. You might end up stripping your lug bolt. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie November 27, 2004 Share November 27, 2004 Really, the one I have looks very alike. If you look closely, or you have to sqauat down then can see the difference. At one glance, you can't tell. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...