I buay tahan Delo 400 liao!

Genie47

This is the last straw! The oil no doubt will give superior protection but my FC recently went down to 11.5km/L eversince the oil got in. Been decreasing since the oil change. I'm gonna drain it out. Good thing got the Conoco Hydroclear SAS 5W30.

Maybe the name should have been Ditlo or Diamdiamlo 400. FC diam diam lo. [laugh]

Perhaps the characteristic of the oil's optimum performance temperature has never been reached on your car. This is one of the factors I do consider before using a fleet oil / HD.

[sweatdrop]

Yeah! Delvac MX worked fantastic on the old Starlet's 18yo engine. But I do know of some of the crazy BITOG guys using this oil in a turbo engine. They say it is great in it. Anyway a turbo engine runs way hotter.

I do not doubt the detergent capabilities of Delo simply because it is what it's been desgined to do.

But long drain diesels and fleet oils have different operational requirements than passengers, Long distance travel, higher operational temp, resistance to shear a must, good detergent to clean up muck from high temp, low rpm operation... hmm... [:/] I dunno alot of stuff, but I'll still try to avoid a fleet oil on my car. [;)]

I did a practical assessment before, that 1 a good dino / blend is cheap. oil change every 3-4k alternating change of oil filter is pretty hardcore enough for me. [sweatdrop] And 2 this still works well (if not better than a full syn) and definitely cheaper. [gossip]

Got from Malaysian Caltex station. Damn funny. I'm from Singapore, the oil is made in Singapore and I got to buy it from Malaysia laugh.gif.

Bro Genie47,

While reading your posting, had notice this ads on SuperCharging with TurBonator.

Being a Guru around, any take on this Ang Mo stuff???confused.gif

This is the last straw! The oil no doubt will give superior protection but my FC recently went down to 11.5km/L eversince the oil got in. Been decreasing since the oil change. I'm gonna drain it out. Good thing got the Conoco Hydroclear SAS 5W30.

Thanks bro for the feedback, maybe its best use when youre driving up north sly.gif.

I do not doubt the detergent capabilities of Delo simply because it is what it's been desgined to do.

But long drain diesels and fleet oils have different operational requirements than passengers, Long distance travel, higher operational temp, resistance to shear a must, good detergent to clean up muck from high temp, low rpm operation... hmm... unsure.gif I dunno alot of stuff, but I'll still try to avoid a fleet oil on my car. wink.gif

I did a practical assessment before, that 1 a good dino / blend is cheap. oil change every 3-4k alternating change of oil filter is pretty hardcore enough for me. sweatdrop.gif And 2 this still works well (if not better than a full syn) and definitely cheaper. gossip.gif

Wah 3-4k oil change ...... quite a hassle but it will definately benefit the engine.nod.gif

With his Wankel coupled with the unavailability of Motorcraft 5W20, he has no choice. The UOAs for RX-8s with this oil is great but the closest he will get to is Conoco Hydroclear 5W30. BTW, both the Motorcraft 5W20 and Conoco 5W30 are blends and the OE for Motorcraft is Conoco.

I would suggest he try the Conoco oil and do an UOA to get a feel. Afterall, I can supply the bottles sly.gif.

Edited by Genie47

Damn ex lah! The trend in the oil world now is blends. Cheap because not 100% synthetic but depends also. Conoco's oil is hydocracked Group III. So very close to Group IV PAO synthetic. So they mix the two to give you the Motorcraft 5W20 and 5W30. Schaeffer's Supreme Blend 5W30 also very cheap and very good. Both score very well for their UOA. Bang for buck.

Now that is a good question. laugh.gif If I recall correctly from my PM with Icerain, the Wankel doesn't take too well to synthetics especially ester based synthetics. Even the guys at BITOG advises against it. The system sprays a bit of the oil into the hot intake and sort of vaporizes it. Get a non-vaporizable synthetic into it and it accumulates into muck.shakehead.gif It is supposed to burn 1qt of oil every 2k miles.

Hence his lookout for good Group III dino oil or even blends. The oil that scored very well with UOAs to prove is Motorcraft 5W20 but we don't get this here.

Edited by Genie47