AMPS

Misterray

Amplifiers:

A power amplifier takes an input signal, usually a preamp level signal, which has both low current and low voltage characteristics, and produces an output which will have higher current and voltage levels. The power supply available to the audio output IC in a head unit is limited to the battery voltage of the vehicle. This means that the head unit can produce an audio signal with a limited (by the battery voltage) voltage swing, and therefore a limited power output to the speaker. Most amplifiers have a special circuit (switching power supply) to boost the available battery/charging system voltage to a higher voltage. The higher voltage developed in the amplifier's internal switching power supply will allow the audio output voltage swing to be greater. This allows the amplifier to produce more power into the speakers connected to the amplifier's output terminals.

Its possible but IMHO, its probably better to change the stock spkrs 1st, then see if you'll like to add an amp later. btw, if you're into GnR [sly] go the whole hog & get the amps & woofer [sly][sly][:p]

lidat hardcore meh [:p] mellow liao lah, age is catching up [:p][laugh] but i think that config is more than enough for normal drivers, unless he the siao ICE type [sly]

can advice which should I choose, a 100WX2ch for the front comp spks or a 35WX4ch for front and rear spks. Which is a better choice?

cheers

Send me a bigger pic of your avatar then i tell u [:p][sly]

ha ha, joking only bro. My 2 cents but take it with a pinch of salt 'cos i not ICE expert. For me, nothing beats having the power to drive the speakers provided your speakers can take it. I'm currently using a 230Wx2ch amp for the front comp spkrs, i don't hv rear spkrs. 35W/ch you might as well stick to your HU [:p] But if you're looking for potential expandibility, get a 4 ch amp.

haha, how about bridged the 4 ch to use for the front only. when bridged the 4 ch will the power better than the 100Wx2ch. ? undecide which will give better ?

Cheers,

err, dunno ah [sweatdrop][:p] but i think theoretically shld give better sound as u are using 1 ch each to drive the tweeter & the cone, but depends on how much power your amp outputs in bridged mode, but seriously, i'm lost [dizzy][:p]