Mit Lancer 98

Plakatboy

Hi all,

new here. Currently driving a Suzuki Swift 1.0 5 dr.

Received a quote of $28k for a 98 Mit Lancer 1.3 manual GLXi recently. 2 previous owners. Viewed the car, no accident.

Anyone can help with the following queries?

1) FC for Mit Lancer 1.3 ?

2) Is it a good buy at this price ? Scrap value according to dealer is $26.5K

3) Any known problem with this car ?

4) Cost of maintenance ?

Plakatboy

Hi hi.. I was driving the 1.3GLXi manual before I bought the new lancer.

1) Good ! fc is min 15km/litre... (sigh.. compared to the new lancer of 12)

2) Not too bad.. too high depreciation.. No dealers will get my old lancer above scrap value..So just scrapped it.

3) Well.. drove for 7.5 years. at the 7th year, the splasher for the wind screen spoilt. Erm... actually very satisfied for the 1.3GLXi car lor... Oh.. one more thing is that there's a screeching sound in the morning. But could be easiler fixed by changing the bearings.

4) Maintenance ?? Cost of servicing is depends on where u go.

Min FC is 15km/l meh? I used to get 12-13km/l leh... But now always get 15-16km/l. But driving really controlled, no speeding at all.

eddie

Issit ??!! Really depends on individual lor.. ha ha... Maybe the driving pattern really makes a diff.

As for me.. its really min 15.. sometimes go up to 16-17. Well I never speed.. never rav... change at 2k to 2.5k rpm ... always below 100km/hr (only Singapore) ... [thumbsup]

Thanks Cow28. Great info.

15km/litre is really good news. My current Swift '96 gives abt 15km/litre (30% of time with air con turned on). Another strong point for me to consider the lancer.

The parf of the lancer at 10th yr is $10900. So the annual depreciation is approx $4300+.

Not sure if this is consider high for the current pre owned car market?

Ya, there was a screeching sound coming from the car when i viewed it the other day. According to the dealer, it'll be alright after changing the water pump and timing belt. Dunno whether to believe or not.

The only thing holding me back is the depreciation for my current swift. Scrap now or next April gives me approx $11,000 either way. So it's as good as driving for free till next year. Heart tells me i should wait till next April but i'm not sure if such lobang will still be avail when i'm ready to scrap.

Lancer 1.3l is a good looking car [thumbsup]

I hope i can share something with you.

In 2nd hand market, lobang are everyday and everywhere. I learned it a few years back when i was hopping around 2nd hand car mart to hunt for a good deal. In the end, i keep finding good or better deals almost evertime i go to a car mart. 28k for a 4 year old lancer is quite expensive as you must consider the interest is much higher for a 2nd hand car. To get this 1.3l lancer, you need to pay around $650-700 monthly. Now there is so many new >1.3l car at sub $600 monthly.

Nevertheless, if you still keen to buy the lancer, bargain till the paper value price. Dun worry that the dealer is not making money as they would have earn from the seller by buying in at 5%-10% below paper value (dealer's pratice). If the dealer doesnt want to give in, you just walk away and go to the next dealer showroom to hunt for a better deal

(they may give in). There is no point wasting time to buy an overpriced and condition unknown deal when your current ride is not giving you any problem.

Hope this helps in your hunt for a new ride and good luck [thumbsup]

Edited by Gamax

Then your normal driving pattern is like what i'm doing now lor... haha... Meaning last time i not very friendly... =P

With this driving, usually more than 15.5km/l. I hit 17+ before... =)

eddie

[bigcry]

Now with the same driving pattern , I hit 12 !! for every litre, lose 4 KM !! The auto is really drinking up alot of fuel..

BUT !! I just love the new lancer !! ha ha... No choice.. my old lancer depreciates too much..its time to change..

If u come in earlier, I could have sold to u at Scrap value . Dun wan to let those dealers earn lor..

U should ask the dealer to settle the sound before buying it from him. Cause there can be 101 reasons for the sound !! I mean u can drive la... but its really quite irritating early in the morning to hear this sound. And u can ask to bring it for inspection to confirm that there are no major overhaul in the car.

Why not u go to the Lancer forum and see if anybody scrapping or trading in their cars at scrap value ? U can just get from them.

There's always good deals around ! If u feel that the COE is going downwards, wait a little longer, coz the dep of the new car shouldn't be less then the old car.

Thanks to all.

My current car scraps at $11K. Not thinking of taking loan (mthly repayment). Thats why intend to throw in cash to top up difference. With my current budget, reckon that only can get yr 98 cars or COE cars. Not keen on the latter due to unforeseen problems.

Cow28 : i'm a bit suaku .... but what's the link to the lancer forum? Thanks. [sweatdrop]

I'm now currently driving a '98 1.3m lancer..the Fc of this car is great with abt 70% city driving and sometimes hard footed can get back min 15km/l ever hit 17km/l too when on 80% highway driving..but the car is seriously under powered but if juz for pt A to B its great but for a 6yrs car mine oredi having probs: Left passenger door frame rust, driver power window spoilt[shakehead](go parking hv to open door). not forgetting the COE at that time is super high mine is at $42K!!! finally gonna scrapped it waiting patiently for my vios to arrive end nov!!! [sly]

so pls consider this facts when u getting it..the COE is already not worth and oso wear & tears

Good Luck