AP Racing BBK

Precurser

Need to know the following:

1) The local dealer that sells AP Racing products
2) A reputable workshop that can install
3) Rough pricing of a 4-pot brake kit

1) ST Powered

2) Installation is included in the price.

3) >S$5000 depending on car for 6 pots.

If you want 4 pots, go for Brembo.

heard endless and ap racing is a grade higher than brembo..brembo jz looks good bt doesnt perform as well as ap racing and endless...hmmm please correct me if im wrong

AP Racing rotors are usually very big, so even if you do get the 4 pots, the price difference is not much from a 6 pot. Brembo 4 pots are cheaper. It's all about money.

Even with my tiny Brembo brakes, the braking power is still limited by the tyres. No fade after 10 laps on Sepang with very hard braking. The brakes were smoking already and yet they were still working. AP Racing, Brembo, Endless, Stop Tech, etc are all the same on the street and even on the track, if using street tyres. It's only for looks. Nothing more.

Becareful about fitting large brakes on the front because it can change your brake proportioning and make it too front biased. Never a bad thing because it makes the car stop in the most stable way but it will be hard to control the car during trail braking.

How much would an AP Racing 4 and 6 pot cost compared to the Brembo 4 pot? I wouldn't mind saving up more for a better setup..

No solid figures, you should call up ST Powered and ask them. Should be about 3K plus for Brembo, 4K plus for AP 4 pot (if available for your car) and 5K plus for AP 6 pot.

I think 6 pot is overkill... dun think there's a need man.. unless money is no issue.

Saw a 90's Lotus Elan getting a complete overhaul at ST with full set of AP 4 points... 4k plus price tag.

There's some other brands ...forgot liao leh.. from England.. just as good...

Even Pangani Zonda's are on 4 pots AP...

On 11/8/2004 at 11:13 AM, Nightchaser said:

I think 6 pot is overkill... dun think there's a need man.. unless money is no issue.

Saw a 90's Lotus Elan getting a complete overhaul at ST with full set of AP 4 points... 4k plus price tag.

There's some other brands ...forgot liao leh.. from England.. just as good...

Even Pangani Zonda's are on 4 pots AP...

If money if no object to owners who wanted 6 or even 9 pots what is overkill? Maybe they wanna stop way in time?

Anyway, brake balance is important. If available consider replacing the rear as well so that the balance when braking is not disrupted. This have adverse effect on track and during emergency situation on the road where serious understeer will come in to kill the fun or kill you. This is provide if you push your car to that limit and if don't (like most who go for blink blink) then forget it.

Tyre play a part in stopping as well. Good grippy tyre save half the braking distance.

Lastly Brembo not as good? Say who? Check out the WTCC or LeMan cars man. 8-pot caliper with carbon ceramic rotor that glows in the dark. Wetz...

On 5/23/2012 at 1:58 AM, Kenmical said:

If money if no object to owners who wanted 6 or even 9 pots what is overkill? Maybe they wanna stop way in time?

Anyway, brake balance is important. If available consider replacing the rear as well so that the balance when braking is not disrupted. This have adverse effect on track and during emergency situation on the road where serious understeer will come in to kill the fun or kill you. This is provide if you push your car to that limit and if don't (like most who go for blink blink) then forget it.

Tyre play a part in stopping as well. Good grippy tyre save half the braking distance.

Lastly Brembo not as good? Say who? Check out the WTCC or LeMan cars man. 8-pot caliper with carbon ceramic rotor that glows in the dark. Wetz...

bro u cannot compare car technology 8 years ago to now... you reply to 2004 post [blush]