Labor cost for changing disc rotor & pads

Huggable

Time to replace my baby's badly worn out disc rotors and brake pads. I'll be collecting my new disc rotors from Korea, and using Mintex Silverline.

Anyone knows of a cheap reliable workshop for the job? I gather it should cost around S$80.

just labour for brake pads + rotors? don't think it's so much leh. I've just done 1 such replacement in singapore and it cost $40 including changing petrol pump. (labour cost only).

edit: I did the replacement about 2 weeks back.

So if labour cost for petrol pump is $10, then the brake pads + rotor labour could be S$30. Check around in some workshops. Some might give you a good deal.

For this workshop, we've been with them for > 10 years. So...I'm not sure if they give us very good discounts. even the regular oil change + oil filter change, they only charge us $10 or $20 (labour).

[sunny]

Edited by Kianbeng

How to get the business going with $10 labour charge unless the work is completed under 20minutes. By the way, sweepers and non-skill workers are paid about $5.00 per hr without CPF. To unstuff a 20ft container with 4 labourers - the job is done in 4 hours - the damage is S$70.00 x 4 = s$280.00. So your mechanic should drop the wrenches and become a labourer - no headache on technical matters and not upgrading to attend.

it was a pretty quick job with regards to the $10 labour for engine oil change. He connects a oil pump to somewhere in the engine and off he goes. 20 mins later, he comes back, screw out the oil filter, put in the new one and pour in engine oil. Started the engine, checked the dip stick and that was it. I went upstairs to the office and was told to pay $10 for the 1/2 hr job. (even though he physically spent 10 mins on it)

Is it too cheap? shh! [lipsrsealed]

[sunny]

How to get the business going with $10 labour charge unless the work is completed under 20minutes. By the way, sweepers and non-skill workers are paid about $5.00 per hr without CPF. To unstuff a 20ft container with 4 labourers - the job is done in 4 hours - the damage is S$70.00 x 4 = s$280.00. So your mechanic should drop the wrenches and become a labourer - no headache on technical matters and not upgrading to attend.

[laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh][laugh]

spoil market meh? [sly] no lah. Some forumers here has quoted probably cheaper labour costs. (maybe done in msia [;)] )

ok, maybe I have to clarify again that we got this price probably because we have been with this mechanic for many many years. 10 years maybe. So it's probably a kind of "pull long fill short" (directly translated from mandarin).

Maybe the next time I go back there for change of tyres, he'll quote me $300 each instead of $200 from outside shops? [sweatdrop]

But the prices I quoted was really what I paid and I also thought that it was a standard price. Coz for my car, engine oil change for example, is a really quick job. No need to jack up the car or go under it. I have probably overstated that he spent 10mins physically on it. Could have been just 5 mins. [;)]

[sunny]