Cashiertan Neutral Newbie October 18, 2004 Share October 18, 2004 Hi guys for the close price of abv two korean made cars, which car is a better buy? The 1.4l Dohc Aveo or the 1.3l sohc Hyundai getz? I need fair and unbiased views and factual evidence. I need the ppl who wanted to buy a budget car knows which is a better car of the two. Personal: I really am annoyed that many at the korean section is bragging abt their getz and yet i personally feel the aveo is much better car. as it has better FC, bigger space and better engine. plus i can get ABS from the aveo. Looks wise, the aveo looks more better when modded than the getz. I personally see getz as really a small budget car loh at least the aveo looks like a sedan or hatch budget car. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie October 18, 2004 Share October 18, 2004 i was considering between the 2 cars and eventually settled for the aveo. why? simply becos aveo has newer engine compared to getz (dohc vs sohc). note chevrolet is already phrasing out aveos fitted with sohc, an indication of the superiority of dohc. aveo is bigger and comes with hb or nb - is always good to have the power to choose. styling wise aveo is less boxy, something which i prefer (personal preference) lastly... there are too many getz on the road liao. if i want a common car, i will get a toyota! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 18, 2004 Share October 18, 2004 If you want to compare the two there is no comparison. But in terms of superiority, the 1.6L DOHC Getz is better than the 1.4L DOHC Aveo. The 1.3L SOHC Getz is rather miserable in the FC department from reports but you cannot blame it, Korean cars run rich to protect the engine. The Aveo on the other hand is rather flexible. The ECU can get trained to give you 15km/L if you work hard on the shifter. As an exercise of space, the Aveo is better especially the NB though the HB does contain some magic to reveal more space. ABS is nice but if you like airbags, can invest in the firing computer and wheel but will need the vanity compartment be sacrificed. American Aveos are rated very high on the equipment level. Another thing about the Aveo. It's stock height. It is very high-roofed. Easy to get in and out. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched October 18, 2004 Share October 18, 2004 e moment i test drive AVeo, I forget about Getz, Just feel the spacious of that CAr. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Superchevy 1st Gear October 19, 2004 Share October 19, 2004 the truth is chevy aveo is better than , kia , hydundai our chevy is much smoother ride and more quiter as tien have mention Getz is every where where else chevy is quite special only lover will buy this brand my 5 cent worth of info . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie October 19, 2004 Share October 19, 2004 (edited) Well said bro.... Personally i feel that too many getz on the road liao and styling wise not as good as Aveo. Driving Aveo got a bit of conti feeling but not in Getz.. Somehow i find that Aveo got smooth and better ride. ** Roxy likes to zzzz in my boot area when i fold up my backseat.... Edited October 19, 2004 by Yeoman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Godfinger Neutral Newbie October 19, 2004 Share October 19, 2004 Hi Lets talk value and cents : Hyundai Getz 1.3L - SOHC 1342cc 12V EFI - All power windows - Tilt Steering column - Seat belt height adjustments Chevrolet Aveo 1.4 L - DOHC 1398cc 16V VGIS - All power windows - No Tilt Steering - No seat belt adjustment - ABS - Fog lamps standard Frankly speaking, the Aveo will be a better choice except that it does not have tilt Steering and seat belt height adjust. Getz does not have power mirror while Aveo have passenger side electric adjustment. Aveo have ABS while Getz dont have.. Getz have a nicer meter layout and night illumination while Aveo meters look cheap in the night. Aveo have ZF style Auto trans gate ( found only in expensive cars ) while Getz have convectional style Auto gate. Getz do not have side repeater while Aveo have. Getz Interior pillar are lighter beige while seats and dashboard are done in grab grey. A sign of inconsistent Quaility.. Aveo have the backup of GM international publicity and backing. That is the un-comparable and deniable part. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear October 19, 2004 Share October 19, 2004 Better post this in the Korean folder, then you'll get your fair and unbiased views Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 19, 2004 Share October 19, 2004 The good thing about the Getz is the 1.6L DOHC version. That is a real good buy for a HB. Great FC with the new powerplant and set apart with 3dr sporty looks. Too bad the US 1.6L Aveo is not sold anywhere around the world save for the US. If SA wants to repeat what Komoco does with the 3dr Getz, I hope the do and bring in the 3dr Kalos/Aveo and put in the 1.6L DOHC powerplant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 aiyo....ah tan,ah tan,ah tan...y u muz always bring these '2 dogs to bite one another' leh? both are equally good cars....dats why they hv their own group of fans/followers. each hv their good pts. eg Getz spareparts shd be more easily available since there are more on the road & Hyundai is more 'recognised' in s'pore. AVEO looks more unique & not so common. give u another scenario: Mr A & Mr B has $1 million each & they each bought property. Mr A bought a 99yrs 3 bedroom condo in the heart of Orchard Road. since he works near Orchard Area. Mr B bought a freehold 3storeys landed at Joo Chiat. coz his parents & in-laws stay in Geyland. & can look after his childrens. so......who made the better choice? maybe my angmo no good. but what i'm trying to say is.....every owners hv their priorities & preference. Getz is an affordable all rounded car. oh,btw...i bought an AVEO. ....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cashiertan Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Author Share October 20, 2004 ahveo ahveo ahveo why u muz always be the neutral man. can go side abit arnot? after all, there is a reason that u bought the aveo over the getz rite? didnt the decision made by you goes to the side of the aveo? Man cannot remain neutral mode all the time else you go noway, like in neutral gear. juz share your views lah, after i ask for a user to provide their exp with their car and the expert on which car they would buy if they had to buy the either of the two. genie, i am asking for 1.4l dohc aveo and 1.6l sohc getz as their price is closer. the 1/6l sohc getz is abit off the budget range leh. I knew that the engine is more powerful and fc better plus with a 1.6l lup in such a tiny car, the car can fly man w/o abs and quality steel support, any major accident almost sure to kill the ppl inside the small and fragile getz.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toalson 1st Gear October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 Relax.... Btw 1.6 is DOHC engine n fyi ABS do not exactly mean no accidents. Its how u drive, how alert u r to traffic n reaction n also how safe u drive that prevent accident. ABS and airbags do not prevent accident!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cashiertan Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Author Share October 20, 2004 ABS and airbag dun prevent accident i agree totally, however, it does reduce accident and death numbers. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 (edited) ok,ok... but i may be bias.... i tested both & i Personally prefer the Firmer handling of AVEO better...esp at high speed. looks wise oso prefer AVEO, maybe becoz not so much on the road. my wifey compare both interior & she fell in love with AVEO interior at 1st sight. looks more spacious wif better headroom. the zig-zag auto gearshift is another ! downside of Aveo - no freebies. not much ppl dare to take chances on a Chevy in s'pore... but looking at growing number of chevy owners, i believe SA will stay here for good. btw, i drive the.....ahem, "limited edition" 1.5L SOHC AVEO. Edited October 20, 2004 by Ah_veo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cashiertan Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Author Share October 20, 2004 Well done aveo, Maybe it is time to also reveal your FC and driving style abit more to let the others potential car buyer the actual FC of this "mini" aveo? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 FC: 11-12km/L. 70% city drive. driving style depend alot on my mood for that day. maybe becoz still on mineral oil, milege still below 8k. hopefully will get better after my 10k servcing, when i change syn oil, plugs & air filter. anyway, dun monitor my FC so closely nowadays...coz my usage very low. not so worry abt petrol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 ah veo car reserved for his mistress Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie October 20, 2004 Share October 20, 2004 (edited) !!! ...... distance to & fro from my house to workplace = abt 10km nia. distance to & fro from my house to town area - abt 10km nia. distance to & fro from my house to my mistress house - abt 10 km nia. my servicing is due in 1mths' time, & i need to hit another 3000km. how....you tell me....how?????!!!!! Edited October 20, 2004 by Ah_veo ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...