Power steering re-cond?

Turbobrick

Wa kaoz, which one kaput? Steering vane pump or steering rack or forward hose or return hose or refill tank?

Anyone has a power steering recond shop to recommend? My has sprung a leak and the new one is $1k+ [:(]

The boot at the rack leaking slightly. Now considering using a leak stopper fluid to tide the time first.

btw, my CV boot also got a cut yesterday and grease all over the wheel and suspension! [mad]

Got my CV boots, tomorrow gonna fix.

u can try looking for steering rack repair kit which consist of some oil seal and bushes. (I wonder if volvo have such repair kit in the first place). If not, not worth repairing. If leak is minor, ignore it.

As for replacement of CV dust cover, I dun think can DIY lah, got to pull out the drive shaft. Do remember to replace the drive shaft oil seal and inner CV dust cover too.

Replace asap before the drive shaft kaput. [:)]

The boot at the rack leaking slightly. Now considering using a leak stopper fluid to tide the time first.

btw, my CV boot also got a cut yesterday and grease all over the wheel and suspension! [mad]

Got my CV boots, tomorrow gonna fix.

Too bad but Volvo does not have a repair kit for steering rack [mad]

As for the CV boot, tomorrow going mech to do lah. DIY buay tahan siah [shocked]

Know where I can find either of these power steering leak stop fluids?

The brands are 1) Gold Eagle 2) Prestone 3) STP

post-8-1016122254_thumb.jpg

Edited by Turbobrick

Fix the steering? For my case any mechanic if I bring the part ($$$). That's why I'm gonna try a leak stop additive first. [:p]

Found the STP power steering leak stopper, will be adding it and checking for the month to see whether the leak reduces or stops. [;)]

Must pour in the leak stop fluid, let it work for a couple of days. Then clean up the gunk left behind from the leak and watch....... [;)]

[reply]

Found the STP power steering leak stopper, will be adding it and checking for the month to see whether the leak reduces or stops. wink.gif

Hope you don't mind me digging up an old thread, but I've a relevant question....

So how was your experiment with STP power steering leak stopper (white bottle with blue label, right)? sly.gif

This morning I just noticed that my power steering reservoir level had got below the minimum. There's a slight leak at one of the power steering hose for quite sometime already, but leak is very minor, just a wet spot which doesn't drip to the floor. So today after work, I got myself a STP power steering leak stopper, planning to use tomorrow. Appreciate you sharing with me your experience on this stuff. rolleyes.gif

I don't remember it well but I didn't change the steering rack so the stop leak must have at least slowed down the leak enough for me to ignore it [:p]

Good to know that stuff works for you.thumbsup.gif

This morning I just pour a little bit in until level just below maximum level. Actually, the leak is not so serious, but I hope the additive in it will help condition the PS system.smile.gif