Yuan 6th Gear September 14, 2013 Share September 14, 2013 On 9/3/2013 at 7:01 AM, TVT said: I believe mileage and usage (where you often drive to, how you drive) will affect the lifespan of the engine mounts. Does engine mount has a standard mileage to be changed, eg like timing belt? I think don't have right? Don't have. A lot of factors contribute to the wear and tear of engine mountings and need not be at certain stipulated mileage. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zakkwylde 5th Gear September 14, 2013 Share September 14, 2013 On 9/14/2013 at 2:29 PM, Yuan said: Get a second opinion from a local or Singapore workshop for the same stuff going to be done on his Wish. This might help. What is the benchmark for the rubber mountings? I went to www.toyodiy.com and calculated the indicative price of the rubber mounting which totalled to almost $800 exclusive labour. Haven't include the wheel bearings and labour. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 On 9/14/2013 at 2:27 PM, Yuan said: If no change spoilt engine mounts, more parts might be damaged and more cost or money spent later on. He dun even know got spoil anot nb even go Ws check Of cse faulty need to replace lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 On 9/14/2013 at 2:27 PM, Yuan said: If no change spoilt engine mounts, more parts might be damaged and more cost or money spent later on. Only for my case huh I drove a brand new car till 5.5 yrs nb need to replace mounting My current used car till date 7 yrs oso no need Maybe I careful n slow n good driver la Nb overused my mountings Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
BlueOldMan 1st Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 On 9/14/2013 at 2:29 PM, Yuan said: Get a second opinion from a local or Singapore workshop for the same stuff going to be done on his Wish. This might help. This is genuine advise Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yuan 6th Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) On 9/14/2013 at 3:00 PM, Zakkwylde said: What is the benchmark for the rubber mountings? I went to www.toyodiy.com and calculated the indicative price of the rubber mounting which totalled to almost $800 exclusive labour. Haven't include the wheel bearings and labour. I am not too sure or familiar with Toyota cars or Wish. When I was driving my old Mitsubishi, my change of mountings (all 4) plus labour was around S$500 (if I remembered correctly). But this pricing was 4 years back and you could peg that price with increased labour charges and inflation in this country to get a rough estimation. Edited September 15, 2013 by Yuan Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) On 9/8/2013 at 6:57 AM, Hosaybo said: I guess for someone who is on avg on 20-25k km per year and would like to hold on to the car for more around 10 years, it is good to change engine mount and suspension on the 5th year. Else, by 7 -8 year, the engine mount & suspension would have been gone. If change at 5th year, wonder the mounting will last until the car scrap or not?! Edited September 15, 2013 by 13177 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gdspd08 2nd Gear September 15, 2013 Share September 15, 2013 (edited) Any recommended workshop to change? My Vios 2008 Engine Mounting going to kaput liao. Thanks. Edited September 15, 2013 by Gdspd08 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Icemann Neutral Newbie October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 (edited) hi guys I'm very bad with car stuff, so please pardon me if my question sounds really dumb. my car's been having idling vibrating issues for a few months, & blur me didn't realise this was actually an issue..unless lately it really has been shaking like crazy, so I told the workshop dude that car's like vibrating like mad. the prob turned out to be engine mounting... so heres my question: workshop chap assured me its no big deal, can still drive, but perhaps drive lesser than usual till part comes in for replacement. 1) can I really still drive the car about although the vibration can feel like the whole cars shaking.. 2) how badly and what other critical parts of the car can be affected in the time a car is used when mounting issue is not fixed? eg transmission? gearing? etc etc? 3) am I serious S$%T if I really have been a goof and been driving a car with a worn and torn mounting problem or about 6 months before getting it fixed? =( once again, apologise for the dumb question, would appreciate advice please! thank you Edited October 15, 2013 by Icemann 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 15, 2013 Share October 15, 2013 On 9/15/2013 at 9:26 AM, 13177 said: QUOTE (Hosaybo @ Sep 8 2013, 02:57 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}> I guess for someone who is on avg on 20-25k km per year and would like to hold on to the car for more around 10 years, it is good to change engine mount and suspension on the 5th year. Else, by 7 -8 year, the engine mount & suspension would have been gone. If change at 5th year, wonder the mounting will last until the car scrap or not?! Engine mounts n suspension u can feel when ty r getting old n need to change. Only change when u feel it. Otherwise u r wasting yr money. Different cars n driving style n ty need changing at different mileage. On 10/15/2013 at 3:42 PM, Icemann said: hi guys I'm very bad with car stuff, so please pardon me if my question sounds really dumb. my car's been having idling vibrating issues for a few months, & blur me didn't realise this was actually an issue..unless lately it really has been shaking like crazy, so I told the workshop dude that car's like vibrating like mad. the prob turned out to be engine mounting... so heres my question: workshop chap assured me its no big deal, can still drive, but perhaps drive lesser than usual till part comes in for replacement. 1) can I really still drive the car about although the vibration can feel like the whole cars shaking.. 2) how badly and what other critical parts of the car can be affected in the time a car is used when mounting issue is not fixed? eg transmission? gearing? etc etc? 3) am I serious S$%T if I really have been a goof and been driving a car with a worn and torn mounting problem or about 6 months before getting it fixed? =( once again, apologise for the dumb question, would appreciate advice please! thank you Too much vibrations n yr battery can spoil. Other stuff also wil b affected by the vibrations like your teeth wil fall out. Brain can also b damaged. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TVT Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/15/2013 at 4:05 PM, Pisces69 said: Too much vibrations n yr battery can spoil. Other stuff also wil b affected by the vibrations like your teeth wil fall out. Brain can also b damaged. But some people like to be in a vibration mode wor...eg, women with high sexual drive! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Heard that Engine Mounting is something that cannot be bo chap. Else the vibration gets worse & worse & stress other parts unnecessaryily.Changed mine at 80k, Getz 1.4. $450 excl labour. Also changed timing belt at the same time. Actually, the vibrations at idling started around the 70k mark. But would go off after bout 15mins of driving.Hence when I did my 10k servicing at the 70k mark, the shop told me during my 80K maj service....standby to drop my pants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 any show signs that tells engine mounts need to be replaced? so far.. mine still running good for a 13 years old car, mileage around 139k this kind of part, does the theory: if it isn't spoil, dont meddle with it still applies? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Baal Supersonic October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Reg reg the spoilt part, 1 concern could be there the vibration comes on progressively.....& the driver slowly gets accustom to. my understanding is that eng mount does not have a SOP change guideline. Depends on the road conditions that u freq drive on too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
QQDreamer 4th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/16/2013 at 4:01 AM, Kurty said: any show signs that tells engine mounts need to be replaced? so far.. mine still running good for a 13 years old car, mileage around 139k this kind of part, does the theory: if it isn't spoil, dont meddle with it still applies? can always ask your workshop to jack up the car and visual inspect the engine mounts. usually mounting going to spoil have some tell tale signs like vibrations could be mild or heavy depends on the serve wear of the mountings. visual inspect to see if there are crack on the rubber insulators will know whether the engine mount current state of conditions. Engine mounts have no definite time in replacing them, our singapore climax is very hot and plus the hot temperature from the engine bay is enough to say that the mountings wear faster than those in colder countries. Like what other says, if you dont replace the mountings, chances of damaging your other car parts is possible. Your ride is 13 year old already, if its required to change i suggest please change them. Eles who knows if suay suay damaged other car parts and cannot find the spare part any more than more problem will surface. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kurty Supercharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 OK, noted with many thanks. Funny, my workshop didn't say anything about my old car.. Just change front bearing, lower front arms, shaft cover. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 Just changed my left n right engine mounting and gear box mounting. Car felt so light, smooth n powerful Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear October 16, 2013 Share October 16, 2013 On 10/16/2013 at 3:38 AM, TVT said: But some people like to be in a vibration mode wor...eg, women with high sexual drive! Ya I heard ty can buy a special tool that vibrates n ty wil put it between their legs for maximum satisfaction. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...