Engine Mounting

Sucker

On 9/6/2013 at 9:15 AM, Jansonchua said:

Most of the time when change engine mount is because the rubber inside the mount cracked due to prolonged use or if the driver has a habit of turning fast corners or going up humps at high speed I guess. It's one of the more expensive wear and tear parts that had to be changed.

Parts are not that ex leh, it's the labour

:wacko:

On 9/6/2013 at 9:00 AM, BlueOldMan said:

[

You talked so long still Duno what others advised you

Haiz

At 5 th year when u changed 1, you should have changed 3

It's labour the killer

Do we have To make it so clear?

TGIF

Yes, I should have changed all 1.5 years ago. I didn't have the wisdom then. Thats why i am so long winded now, for everyone else to know.

Sorry to have irritated you.

On 9/6/2013 at 12:06 AM, 13177 said:

if engine mount need to change every 2-3 years, normal or not? [:/]

Yes

it's

a b normal la

On 9/6/2013 at 9:15 AM, Jansonchua said:

Most of the time when change engine mount is because the rubber inside the mount cracked due to prolonged use or if the driver has a habit of turning fast corners or going up humps at high speed I guess. It's one of the more expensive wear and tear parts that had to be changed.

I guess if change mounting twice within 10 years, maybe still acceptable?! Lol.

On 9/6/2013 at 9:34 AM, Columbian78 said:

Yes, I should have changed all 1.5 years ago. I didn't have the wisdom then. Thats why i am so long winded now, for everyone else to know.

Sorry to have irritated you.

No la dun say irritated la, we learning from one another in any ways

We also hope you save on labour

Y let these Ws earn extra right [laugh]

On 9/8/2013 at 5:22 AM, D4rkFly3r said:

Just changed my engine mountings. Car feels like new. Theres slight vibration when idle i guess its normal right?

There should be some, feel more SHIOK [laugh]

I guess for someone who is on avg on 20-25k km per year and would like to hold on to the car for more around 10 years, it is good to change engine mount and suspension on the 5th year. Else, by 7 -8 year, the engine mount & suspension would have been gone.

I just changed mine during the last service when my ride is just over 6 yrs old......my avg mileage per year is about 15K km......and my ride is parked under the hot sun daily, be it at work or at home.....

On 9/8/2013 at 6:57 AM, Hosaybo said:

I guess for someone who is on avg on 20-25k km per year and would like to hold on to the car for more around 10 years, it is good to change engine mount and suspension on the 5th year. Else, by 7 -8 year, the engine mount & suspension would have been gone.

Don't forget your suspension rubber/hydraulic mount [:)]

My friend was quoted around almost $2kSGD for changing of engine mounting, wheel bearing, fuel filter change and also labour for changing of coilover for his Wish from a JB workshop. All parts are original except for the coilover which he purchased himself, just labour to fix it. Is this amount reasonable or on the highside? The amount is actually near to $2k but discounts can be given after installation. So should he proceed with it? Any bros care to enlighten?

On 9/8/2013 at 6:57 AM, Hosaybo said:

That is a valid gauge or assessment.

Any more heavier utilization would have shifted forward the duration or time to change engine mounts.

Anyway, engine mounts are wear and tear items and these are part and parcel of a driver's driving experience or style.

On 9/6/2013 at 12:06 AM, 13177 said:

if engine mount need to change every 2-3 years, normal or not? [:/]

It may not be normal if your mileage is low and/or your driving style is much gentle.

It may be normal if a driver closes high mileage for the car within 2-3 years.

The point is watch the tell tale signs and get workshops to verify and/or thereafter second opinion to confirm it.

On 9/8/2013 at 2:46 AM, BlueOldMan said:

Best dun change la bro, unless your $ too much la ^_^

If no change spoilt engine mounts, more parts might be damaged and more cost or money spent later on.

On 9/14/2013 at 1:24 PM, Zakkwylde said:

My friend was quoted around almost $2kSGD for changing of engine mounting, wheel bearing, fuel filter change and also labour for changing of coilover for his Wish from a JB workshop. All parts are original except for the coilover which he purchased himself, just labour to fix it. Is this amount reasonable or on the highside? The amount is actually near to $2k but discounts can be given after installation. So should he proceed with it? Any bros care to enlighten?

Get a second opinion from a local or Singapore workshop for the same stuff going to be done on his Wish.

This might help.