Pte "L" Plate instructor!! YOU FAIL!

Nicholas

Here is a rant from pedestrians for a change. (myself and gf)

This story begins on friday when my gf is going down to BBDC to book her driving test after receiving the letter that she passed her advanced theory.

We come to a T junction, like this-> -| (see attached pic below) where we want to cross to road. We the the red dots and there's a pickup stopped on the left side, red lights.

The man shows red. But it is a red light for the cars on the left. It's a short road so we think just cross. After we cross halfway a "L" plate black car (i think is CIVIC, never see properly) turning right very fast and stopped before us, and he have the guts to horn loudly at us. My gf got quite a shock cause she's on my right.

At first i thought is a student, why so arrogant.. then I see only got this Indian man inside, so confirm is a driving teacher. I stopped walking and shake my head at him but he pretend never see just drive around us and off. So this driving teacher didn't know what is "ALWAYS GIVE WAY TO PEDESTRIANS?". Ironic isn't it? [thumbsdown]

How can this person be a driving instructor? [shakehead]

post-49-1097945245_thumb.gif

Edited by Nicholas

Technically he has right of way and you and your gf are jay walking.Can't blame him for horning as he didn't expect you to cross cause the man was red and there could have been a car in the opposite direction approaching?I expect many of us would have reacted the same way and yes,myself included.Driving instructors also human,when i was learning how to drive at one of the driving schools,my instructor tackled the corners using the "lorry" style i.e. palm on the steering wheel and turn to full lock.He even ask if i dare to try.When i was taking my test ppl jay walk across the road the tester also kpkb ask me to horn.Nowadays you see TP on the road also,look at the way the ride and drive and it makes even more sense.What to do,they are king. [lipsrsealed]

Advanced theory: Always give way to pedestrians. Moreover, my gf and I walk halfway already then he drive fast and corner in, means he already see us. Cars approaching.. nope. That day and time 3+ pm got not much cars around, and all moving slowly.

About your teacher's method, I think it's fine to experiment if you don't put others' lives in danger.

What angers me is that he's a driving teacher. [furious] With that kind of teachers, imagine the students is how one..

erm...despite everything, u were jaywalking to start wif, rite? tongue.gif

similarly, if a car were to beat the lights and get into an accident, the fault lies wif the car that ran the lights.

in any traffic court, as long as a car involved in any accident even if the driver has the right of way, the driver is wrong cos he is driving a monster.

Yep. But the lights just turned red on the left and I just reached the junction. Nobody will wait for the next green man one lah, cause it's a narrow road. I admit that I'm wrong but that driving teacher is too much, don't you think? Somemore when I cross, there's like no cars turning, and he can see us, we're not in his blind spots or what. Cross halfway suddenly he vroom vroom come in. He trying to see if my legs faster or his wheels faster issit? [:|]

If car - car accident, then it's the car that beat read lights fault. But car - man different story mah.

yah loh...tester give me 8pts for not horning at person jaywalking...Failure to look out for pedestrian....a bit duhz rite...how i noe i supposed to horn...on test leh... [shakehead]

I thought horn only when emergency, if the pedestrian never see u..

Actually my first test which failed, also same thing lidat happen. 1 auntie jaywalk on red man but stop at big kerb in middle. I thought it's ok to turn right and go past her slowly, but tester say, u should stop, i expect u to stop!! I listen to him scold me then filter lane distracted, he say, the red car behind u slow down u never check. [furious] Bye bye my points.

Then back to the centre, he access my test, he ask me what i should do. I say horn her.

He say 'NO!!!! You should wave her to continue walking, ALWAYS GIVE WAY TO PEDESTRIANS.' [:|] In my mind i thinking what if she continue walk then kenna knock down by another car turning on my left. [:p]

My tester from BBDC, urs from where. Why say different thing.. [rifle][rifle]

Edited by Nicholas

Brudder brudder ... jaywalking is jaywalking lah bro tongue.gif

You should have waited for the green man ... if you did , you wouldnt be upset about this incident right ? Cause then you would have the right of way wink.gif

Maybe the driving instructor was trying to tell you you were jaywalking by horning you. I live near a school ... and I'd honk (light taps) if I see a schoolkid jaywalking. nod.gif

Traffic codes including green man and red man are put there for your own safety, and it should be followed at all times. nod.gif

Sometimes its not about educating the drivers ... the pedestrians need to be educated about Road Safety as well nod.gif Imagine the kinda mess on the roads (like India) if pedestrians have this mentality ... drivers must look out for me and the red man does not apply to me. shocked.gif

For safer roads ... EVERYONE must play their part thumbsup.gif

Edited by Hitman

in the first place if everyone stops at the red man and wait for the green man, will there be any honking n anger? find the root of the problem.........if there is no fire, how can the food be cooked? dizzy.gif

if a pedestrian has right of way on a road, then they should be paying road tax as well.unimpressed.gif

I'd give way to pedestrians if traffic is heavy and they're on a dangerous road divider without any pedestrian crossing.

Unfortunately fact is that you and gf were jaywalking and the instructor had every right to honk you...as a precaution, in case you did not see his car approaching.

just my observation.gossip.gif

"..........if there is no fire, how can the food be cooked? dizzy.gif ..."

Er...now there is mocrowavelaugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

But, valid points...I do believe that jaywalking is the issue of the day here...and it is these kinds of acts that would actually cause unforeseen incidents on the roadwink.gif

anyways, wer humans, we always think that we r rite n oth ppl r wrong...but if we look at it in a diff way, then we realize wat a stupid jerk we r........it's ok.....looking at the society we r living in nowadays.....hope we become more wiser by having this out of the box thinking......