Bleuzone 1st Gear October 25, 2004 Author Share October 25, 2004 Just got back from Swee Fong. Actually the shop name's Jun Xing Motor service. Friendly ppl! Turns out that it was my dry sump or something which needed to be changed. Mentioned yr name and got ard 10% discount... Thx bro! hi bro, Jeep Chee specialises in exhaust mods.. other servicing & repairs not so good.. cos they're always busy selling their LTA complaint Supersprint exhaust mufflers.. From your description seems like your Drive shaft or CV Joint gone liao.. get it fixed ASAP else your other suspension components might give way soon.. Try the workshop below.. good comments by a lot of other EG/EK bros.. excellent workmanship for a fraction of what Jeep Chee will charge you.. Blk 5034 Ang Mo Kio Industrial Park 2 #01-321 Tel: 68581074 (Swee Fong) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 25, 2004 Author Share October 25, 2004 Just got back from Jun Xing, aka Swee Fong (boss name). Not bad, rather friendly ppl. Went for a test drive and the prob was diagnosed as the right dry sump worn out. Tried to ask me to change both left and right but I said $$$ no enuff so did the right side only Pricing wise it was $160. This inc a new dry sump, workmanship, alignment, and some oil replacement. I dunno if it's cheap or ex cus I didn't look ard. Besides $$$, time also no enuff... Overall I would say they are ok. Will consider going back there next time I have any probs. Btw, they were so fascinated that my car plate is the same as their block number, 5034. Lucky number k! Always come out 4D. Too bad I'm not a gambler Btw, I mentioned that Alex recommanded me so got better price (I think). Anyways if you wanna go down I think they will remember my car cus of the licence plate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 26, 2004 Share October 26, 2004 (edited) hey, they did alignment 4 u? is it wheel alignment? how is it after the alignment.....? did u changed ur drive shaft? wat is a dry sump? Edited October 26, 2004 by Konspire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie October 26, 2004 Share October 26, 2004 I'm sure he's referring to the DRIVE SHAFT. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 26, 2004 Author Share October 26, 2004 Hmm... Could be the drive shaft. Maybe I heard wrongly or his mumbled it.... Time to dig my ears...... Damm I feel so dumb... Dry sump.... I didn't even know wat it was. I just said "ya ya... Must fix right? Cheaper la... Alex recommand me le....." Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
D15z7 Neutral Newbie October 26, 2004 Share October 26, 2004 hi bro.. glad you got a good deal at Jun Xing.. $160 for original Honda drive shaft + labour + alignment sounds very reasonable to me.. now no more funny noise liao rite? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 27, 2004 Author Share October 27, 2004 Yeah, no more funny noises... Thx lots! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Armored_Saint Neutral Newbie October 27, 2004 Share October 27, 2004 Don't feel dumb! We all have to start somewhere, right? One of the best ways to learn is to ask... Glad you got a good price for that shaft! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 27, 2004 Share October 27, 2004 he's doing alignment oso? izzit good? or is it just side slip? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 27, 2004 Author Share October 27, 2004 They told me alignment, but I believe it's just side slip. They brought it to another place to do it. Anyways, I'm bringing my car to JB for alignment and rotation. 4 wheels computerised alignment for 15 ringgit I think, if I remembered correctly! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 28, 2004 Share October 28, 2004 anyways, if it's the original esi drive shaft, then it's worth it. i changed mine wif a recon one for $120....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 28, 2004 Author Share October 28, 2004 How long hv u been driving yr esi? I've been driving mine for abt half a year only. Oh, my insurance is pretty ex too! $1.4K (w/o NCD) for 3rd party, fire and theft. Any lobang for that? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 28, 2004 Share October 28, 2004 (edited) i've been driving mine for 2+ yrs already. ur insurance is very ex huh? $1.4k for me i can get a comprehensive insurance. anyways i take from NTUC. i'm paying abt $600+ for 3rd TFT with 20% ncd. if u need, i can get for u cheaper, i think, depending on ur age n driving exp.... so how at swee fong? a lot of ppl or not? Edited October 28, 2004 by Konspire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear October 28, 2004 Author Share October 28, 2004 Eh... When I went there there were abt 3 others. But all minor stuff. Anyway he said normally also not that busy U thinking of going down? Hmm... I also saw 1 guy tipping the mech. Is it common practice? I've been driving for 5 yrs, age 25. But did a claim last year so no more NCD. Could you help me check on the insurance? I'm with Aviva now. Thinking of switching to whichever is cheaper, and cancelling my current one. I dun mind just 3rd party insurance. Thanks!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie October 28, 2004 Share October 28, 2004 i think it's up to u how to take care of the mech, mebbe he tips cos he wants something extra....usually.... so up to u......if we just want service....pay n get the service..... btw u got pm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mun333 Neutral Newbie November 18, 2004 Share November 18, 2004 Hi, i'm planning to buy 1... Wondering why is the COE short of 1 yr ??? Eg: Registration = 92, COE till= 2011 ??? Can help ??? Thankz !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alant 1st Gear November 19, 2004 Share November 19, 2004 The owner renew his 10 yrs COE at the 9th year in 2001 when the 3 mths average COE for renewal was abt $18000+. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jusnel 6th Gear November 19, 2004 Share November 19, 2004 Hi, been reading this thread with interests........ i'm thinking of getting a COE ESI...... now, noticed that a lot of ESIs are 2011 expired COE $18000 something. selling price is around $28000 (more or less) if i want to resell this ESI, for example, on the 15th or 16th year of the car. what's the implication on the resell value of the car. i dun want to face as situation where i got to top up to pay back the finance company, just to resell the car. i heard of some ESI owners got to top up before they can resell the car........... currently, my ride is Starlet. nice steady car........ just thinking of getting a bigger car......... but no $$ to get brand new car...... thanks ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...