Bourne Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 (edited) Hiya people... I am new to this forum and had spent the better part of the weekend in this forum reading up about cars, reason being I am going to buy my first car. Hoping to place my booking by this week... Anyway, was wondering in what ways can I soup-up the performance of the Subaru 1.6TS in terms of power output and driving feel? For example, fitting a after-market turbo-charger for power output and using low-profile rims/tyres + stiffening suspension for improved driveability? BTW...whats the max wheel-size that a Subaru 1.6TS can accept. Was hoping to fit a 17" rim thats lighter than stock to offset FC cos I would like to increase width to 205. What ratio would not drastically affect speedo reading? Thank you people... :) PS. Is it too "beng"-ish to add the STI high-mount spoiler onto a 1.6TS? Currently, I have already requested for a front scoop to be added as one of my friend also has the same car in the same colour (black) although his is an MY04 whilst mine is a MY05... I like the spoiler but will that make me too much of a "wannabe"? I know 95 horses will never beat 225 horses but I am just talking about aesthetics... Edited October 10, 2004 by Bourne ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Redeel Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 Haha... Why not try out the Focus before deciding? Definately handles better, longer warranty, more solid and cheaper than a souped up TS. =P eddie Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghunk Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 in all honesty..... i think you have already done the most beng thing that can ever be done......putting the scoop..... adding the spoiler is prob the lesser evil or the 2..... If you are thinking of installing a turbo.... might as well go for the REAL rex.......the price not that ex now.... 95 horses and stock form can't even outrun a nissan sunny liao.... adding all the rims and body kit.......a kancil will have no prob winning by car length... Sorry if i sound too negative but i can never stand those TS on the road with all the add on wanna be rex stuff.....some of them also feature the full sti rally decal which most sti dun even put.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 yes i agree with you v much. my nissan sunny easily has more than 100bhp. if is driving Ts, leave it as it is. mod until majiam WRX, in the end kana lee siao v paiseh de. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 don't have all the answers for you, this is my 2cents worth. The best way imho, is to drive a TS stock. :) i find the stock package is not too bare for the look, and yet not too heavy for perfomance. its quite balanced actually. Increase Power output? do u really want to do that? (last resort please) If u want to improve a little of the driving feel and responsiveness : reduce weight. ie. change to lighter rims. install a GNG. legacy intake.. air bleeders.. , k&n, .. they all add up to a sum of money.. IMHO, some of the kits are not really helping in better drive. ie. the scoop. replica high mount spoiler which is quite heavy. The stock fishtail is good enough for high speed stability. imagine this, u have improved a little responsiveness of your car and then go and slap on a scoop and HM spoiler.. which adds weight and drag.. ended up canceling out what u have added in the begining.. As for handling of the car, I am still driving stock. :) its a well balance setup for normal and spirited driving. if u change it to be like a STi, you may compromise on the comfort.. really depending on what is your driving habit and skill level. :) There are tonnes of info about local subaru , u can pay a visit and seek info from there. www.subaruclubsg.com Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 I think best to go for just the cosmetic upgrade. Don't bother about those bolt-on performance gadgets....it doesn't work most of the time. The only one with a slight improvement are better spark plugs, ignition cable, etc. Better to save up and buy a WRX in future. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 agreed. aesthetic mod is ok providing one is not trying to obviously do a fully pirated version. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 There is a feature in this month's torque on how to spot the real and the wannabe. Feature TS vs WRX, YRV vs YRV turbo, Ignis vs Ignis Sport. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 hv u seen this almost perfect WRC replica impreza (dunno if it's TS, WRX or STi) on the roads? it's mica blue, gold WRC rims and it's got the full 555 + the complete set of sponsorship stickers on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 What!? 95 horses? My car has 92 horses on a 1t chassis already! Hehehe...... Now I will check the rear wheels for drum brakes when I pass an Impreza. If yes, just floor it and wave goodbye to him/her . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 Bug eye version? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 How about the underground ones like: Startlet XL vs a real Starlet GT Turbo Actually quite obvious, there are no 5dr Starlet GT Turbos in Singapore........Officially. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 Hehehe...... Now I will check the rear wheels for drum brakes when I pass an Impreza. If yes, just floor it and wave goodbye to him/her Wah, your petrol cheap huh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 Startlet XL vs a real Starlet GT TurboToo many of that on the road. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 There are quite a lot of TS with rear brake disc upgrade. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 (edited) nope, the c**keye version. the replica is quite detailed. Edited October 11, 2004 by Soya Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 (edited) Not just too many but so many. Since the 90s, most of the normal XLs are converted to Turbo S kits for the EP70s and GT Turbos for the EP80s. But be warned there are a sizeable number running around with real snail power in them. 135 horses on a sub-900kg chassis makes this into a rocket. I kenna sweared at by motorcyclists when I beat them to empty pockets in heavy traffic. There is a new one in the block. But his is a normal 1.3L NA engine but has a stonking huge Weber 45DCOE installed with Ramflo filter. Freaking loud, accelerates faster than the GT Turbo powered engines . Very well tuned and jetted carburettor, no black smoke or white smoke from the exhaust. He is the real one with petrol to burn. 28L can bring him up to 200km only! The Starlet's fuel tank is a meagre 36L only. Should be very 2 days must fill up. Edited October 11, 2004 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Silver_blade Turbocharged October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 I have seen a bug eye one with upgrade rear disc, engine, bodykit, re-spray, removed 3rd brake light, etc. Heard that guy spent over $20,000. With that kind of $$$$$$, he could have save up a bit more to get the real thing. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...