Tron Neutral Newbie October 5, 2004 Share October 5, 2004 Taken from todays ST paper.... Why no free parking on Saturdays I REFER to the letter, 'Review Saturday carpark charges' (ST, Sept 30), by Mr Danny Tan. HDB carparks are provided primarily to serve the residents. Residential carparks are usually heavily utilised on weekends. Waiving parking charges for non-residents during this period, when demand is at its peak, would result in congestion in the carpark and deprive residents of their parking lots. Hourly parking charges help to regulate demand and ensure that residents need not compete with visitors. As many families get together during weekends and public holidays, HDB has implemented the Free Parking Scheme (FPS) for Sundays and public holidays (from 7am to 10.30pm) to promote social interaction and foster family ties. About 1,450 out of the 1,800 HDB carparks are under the FPS. The suitability of a carpark for FPS is assessed in consultation with the local grassroots organisations and the Land Transport Authority. One main consideration is whether FPS will compromise the parking needs of the residents. HDB has received feedback similar to Mr Tan's suggestion on free parking on Saturdays and are monitoring the situation and reviewing the arrangement to see how it can be improved. ENG SOH SENG Deputy Director (Car Parks) Housing & Development Board ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie October 5, 2004 Author Share October 5, 2004 early morning... relax one corner... then read this type of (to be frank) crap... wat a way to start a day. not exactly a race story... but its enough to make my blood race... err... then what abt the season lots marked in red reserved sepcifically for residents? i Dun say that ALL carparks shld be entitled to free parking on saturdays... but for strictly residential areas that has little amenities around (like e.g: SengKang/Punggol i state these 2 areas cos im familiar wit it) - wat is the justification for paid parking on Saturdays for such areas? so does it make "sense" if i say for example that if one family from SengKang visits their family in Punggol and VICE VERSA, doesnt this effect essentially offset the supposed "congestion" caused on saturdays?? no doubt older carparks with very limited lots in popular areas need to charge parking on saturdays or 7 days a week for tat matter... but for the many new huge MSCPs, it is clear to me that they are UNDER-UTILISED.... just move up to deck 2A or 2B & beyond... its all empty.... either tat or maybe my grassroots leaders are sleeping in my neighbourhood... cos in my MSCP, u can even stage a carpark race wit no problem on saturdays... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 Wah lau ... even on Sundays , I never can seem to find a FREE carpark that is FULLY UTILISED till I cannot find a lot. What a load of CRAP !!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Husky Clutched October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 Yeah, they assume that family gather together only on sundays and not saturdays Maybe we should suggest that sunday is free and saturday 1/2 price i.e. $0.50 for 1 hour!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeoman Neutral Newbie October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 Another "blood sucking" organisations and its ideas.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tron Neutral Newbie October 6, 2004 Author Share October 6, 2004 somtimes i feel its better tat gahment civil servants who are in charge of such PR matters shld do themselves justice by NOT replying IF they are gonna come out wit such reasoning... such a reply makes it all the more clear tat they dun have much grounds to hold up their case.. sigh... sad man. Maybe they shld think along the lines of: All thanks to the gahment for building such BIG & BEAUTIFUL MSCPs in many neighbourhoods; therefore "indirectly" creating Under-utilisation of such MSCPs... so can they make us pay for their "mistake"? .... really all dun make sense... blardy saturday only wat... residential neighbourhood some more cannot give chance to the masses.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 Since now Govt promote 5 days week, maybe can ask for Sat free park also 'to promote social interaction and foster family ties As many families get together during Saturdays" Peace Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear October 6, 2004 Share October 6, 2004 Using ERP as an example to seek Saturday Parking Free for half day also, maybe from3 pm onwards.. Peace Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged October 7, 2004 Share October 7, 2004 Well, at least now ERP are non exisitant on Sat. They should make it free at least for neighbourhood carparks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear October 9, 2004 Share October 9, 2004 Yah, maybe we can get it, last heard election coming....whatever we ask, we can get.. Peace Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 email to Prime Minister Office... and tell PM that someone in their organisation is AGAINST 5days work week.... SACK that guy!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 But many in their organisation is against 5 days week leh, especially those in Govt board.. Peace Bro Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 think those old guards so used to working on Sat and now they do not know how to spend their time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 if these old guards cannot share our leader VISSION... then sad to say, give them GOLDEN HANDSHAKE sometimes i feel these old birds are in their own comfort zones and reluctant to change or resist changes for whatever reasons (scare of paper work??)... now is a different era... its PRO FAMILY... wake up H*B give your PARK ATTEDNANCE a break , let them stay off work on sat... so they can have time to make weekend babies ;) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cheekg99 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 our political leader also reluctant to give 5 day work, but people pressure too great, bo bian ah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freezy 1st Gear October 10, 2004 Share October 10, 2004 you may be wrong lor... some of the gov departments already started on 5days work week... many will follow next jan... so when will our dear H*B and U*A? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gadgeter 2nd Gear October 11, 2004 Share October 11, 2004 what a crap.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Freemen 2nd Gear October 12, 2004 Share October 12, 2004 I think they are starting soon, they had sub con out the task of summoning cars to cisco & other security firms... now they can off sat & sun while other do the summon for them & still receive fine money from us the unlucky drivers... Peace Bro ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...