Post mortem report: Resonator removal

Genie47

Guest Aveo_powered

Brother when is the next meet up and the place would like to learn something from u or share some idea , my remove also but nothing special .

Bro, if your idea of "special" is a shove in the back, then you'd have to look at TC'ing or SC'ing the car, a bottle of laughing gas would do the trick too [sly]

Seriously, you should feel the difference when the resonator is removed. [nod]

can the same be done for a 2003 honda civic?

how is the process like? thanks bro

sorry bro, you asked the wrong person. me no expert in car and have nv driven a honda before...

you should ask genie, he is the expert thumbsup.gif it was he who taught us this resonator mod

Yes it can be done, just by removing the resonator box only. You'll need to buy some tubing to connect the air filter box to wherever you want.. nod.gif

I dont have the pix however. sweatdrop.gif

So by removing the resonator will be good enough already.

Thanks Guru for your advise.

Hope the next lesson on the removal of resonator will come soon.

I can't wait to get to ZOOM in my Aveo. [bounce2]

my first take (as an auto trans owner):

aveo is my first auto, having previously drove quite a few manuals. when i first started driving it around around, i realised auto lacks the "punch" of a manual car, alittle too unexciting for my liking. to start with, i already knew auto trans is like that, but nv did i expect the difference to be so great. since then, i have always been looking out for cheap mods which can add a little bit more "vroom" to the car.... and i think i found the ans today.

today, under the guidance of our very own inhouse guru, genie, i removed my aveo resonator. the immediate feel is that the car is now more punchy, the throttle more responsive, and pick up improved slightly. while the lorry behind used to push me when the light turned green, it is no longer the case after the mod - i managed to pick up enough speed so as not to "hog" the lorry behind (without having to step harder on the accelator). the feeling is like i m driving a manaul again, though still slightly short i must admit.

nonetheless, i am really happy with what this little and price-less (as in NO NEED MONEY) mod has done thumbsup.gif

for other auto aveo owners, if you want a little more vroom without forking out good hard earned $$, this is definitely a mod you should seriously consider.

now, i wonder with the new found , will FC increase? will update again after 1-2 tank run.

oh! did i mention the new deep vroom vroom sounds good too? wink.gif

Take 2:

After 1 complete tank, i noticed my FC worsen following the removal of resonator - previous 14km/L, now 13km/L. I think the problem isnt due to the absence of resonator but rather, my right foot. You see, now there is more vroom in the car, i cant help it but to step on a little harder, just to have the "shiok" feel in picking up (previously step hard hard also no response unsure.gif). there is also a tenancy to overtake more than what i used to do...

lastly, the "induction piss" is an addiction, man! i find myself ramming the car just to heard the "roar"!!!! sweatdrop.gif

these probably explain the increase in FC frown.gif

and i have no regret!!! sly.gif

will try to go back to the "gentle" driving method again and see how FC behaves...

Drop 1km/L you complain already? My driving is somewhat spirited at times can get 13km/L. Nothing to complain about lah! If you mousey driving, can get 15km/L. But must strike a balance. You must DRIVE THE CAR. We have the desire to DRIVE THINGS. So we must inject some DRIVE into our DRIVING. If everyday mousey mousey driving, must consider taking BMW (Bus,MRT, Walk). laugh.gif

LIfe is short, MUST PUT SOME DRIVE INTO IT!

hehehe exactly! removing the resonator definitely makes drving an aveo more fun. i have no complaint for the slight increase in FC, bro - that's just a small price to pay for all the fun laugh.gif

those who want more fun out of your aveo, seriously must consider this free mod sia! sly.gif

Tien,Same here.....noticed that a slight increase in FC.from abt 13km/l~14km/l now ard 11km/l~12km/l but Ride is enjoyable especially when picking up.Wind down the window and can hear the engine roar ...laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif.Bcos of this,now tends to drive a bit faster...sly.gif

Edited by Yeoman

hehehe want to enjoy then must pay money lor....

let's see what other mods genie recommends... hehehe me addicted liao sweatdrop.gif