CTE AMK Accident

BMW320i

i guess tis is an e.g. of how 1's perception can lead 2 others' concluding wrongly... cos' all of us (incl. myself) have a 'pre-fixed' impression of taxi, etc...

In my first reply(#5) to your post(#1), I asked "where was the taxi?" because you left that fact out.

Then in #9, you reiterated that it was the taxi crahed into the bike.

It was not until Ecaf at post #20 that he clarified that the bike lost control and thence you retracted your initial post in #22.

In between these posts, the taxi(and the driver) was condemned as the culprit.

Maybe if in your first post, you simply put accident involving a taxi and bike would have been better.

What you have seen and deduced, and what you put in writing is of paramount important and consequence.

Cheers.smile.gif

yikes tt would be extreme! hehe

i think in the end, its up to the rider's mind. either to risk danger for convenience (by taking a ride on a bike), or to play safe and take public transport [:)]

of coz, having said that, i'm not saying that riding a bike is a danger in itself [;)]

Seriously, I can't asy who was right or who was wrong. In any case, I do not have a great impression of motorcyclists or taxis. Regardless, it is indeed sad to see lives snuffed out like that.

Many motorcyclists have a habit of overtaking between cars (illegal, by the way), and cutting in front of me out of nowhere when I are setting off from a stop sign or traffic light. Many of them weave in and out of traffic, on the expressway and in traffic jams, and effectively become road hazards. I'm amazed motorcyclists who ride like this do not end up as expressway 'jam' sooner - they certainly deserve it.

Taxis, I don't have to elaborate. I'm pretty sure most of us here have a healthy detest for taxi drivers. I, for one, have nothing good to say about them.

I ride bike now by the way....

Actually... I know what u mean by weaving in and out of traffic... cos I do that as well.. but not as die hard as some... with their smaller bike... squeezing thru very small area.

Another reason for NOT riding in the middle of the lane is also bec. of safety reason. Cos in the event of the car in front... e-braking... and the car behind... cannot brake in time.... it'll be [shakehead] for the motorcyclist.

We all know that not all car drivers keep a good safety distance. So riding near the road markings is actually consider as defensive riding as well. But I dun mean a motorcyclist should negotiate a bent or turning in between 2 car of cos.

Cheers.. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

hi bro,

you're a bike rider, so issit as dangerous as people make it out to be?

I am a cyclist and I've had quite a few brushes with errant truck and bus drivers on the left lane, quite unnerving. But I am quite interested in bikes.

Pls advise!

Cheers! [thumbsup]

taxi drivers are terrible.... i detest them actually. before i drive cars, i took taxis every now and then, and i was amazed the way they drive. i felt scared sitting inside the cab, but dun dare to tell taxi driver to slow down. sacred he may get angry and drive even faster!

i saw many many taxis getting accidents. the worst is that it's the taxi got accident alone!!! crashed into centre tree, central railings, road side in the bloody drain. and all are taxis alone crashed, no other ppl or car involved.

On PIE, one time, a comfort taxi crash into the centre divider and ended up on the other side of the PIE, caused massive jam on both sides!!! taxi alone again.

this kind of accidents tells me that taxi are speeding obviously. lose control somehow and ended turtle or sideways. bloody hell!

one time i was on upper thomson road, going up to Yishun on morning. along the famous few petrol stations on upp thomson road, i saw a TP booking a car. so i told myself to drive slower as i pass the TP, coz once the TP finish booking, he will naturally continue to ride ahead, in same direction as me. true enough, he ride as same direction. one stupid comfort taxi driver didnt see TP, started to overtake me on right lane, going at about 80-90km/h. unlucky, TP saw and speed up to make him stop, and give booking. i was damm happy that the cab driver kena booked. he deserved it. driving without eyes to see that TP on the same road, just behind us. but i feel pity that his one day earnings gone to the summon. but it's 1 lesson he has to learn.

Have to agree with you. When I was riding bike, I also keep to the lane markings. Safer that way. Now that I am driving, I tend to give way to riders on lane markings. When I need to pass then, I usually give them two polite horns, then pass.

Sometimes those motorcyclist from our neighbouring country puropsely ride middle of 2nd lane at 70-80km/h !! That I cannot tahan. Speed limit on expressways 90km/h mah...

By the way, what bike you ride?

Riding bike got higher risk definitely.

Pple bang u... u kana... u bang pple... also u kana.

Basically... once u "buang".... sure see blood.

But generally... if u always keep a watch out.... it is still ok. [thumbsup][thumbsup]

But when I'm going on the white markings... I'll always have the anticipation of a car which suddenly lane change.... and if any car really do so... [shakehead]

Yah... sometimes I'll overtake in between 2 car.... at say 100km/h... when both are travelling at 90km/h... side by side... [dizzy] ... but only on straight portion and not during negotiating a bent.

Any bikers that dare to overtake in between 2 vehicle while turning... got balls made of iron..... [laugh][laugh][laugh]

i see, so have you gotten into any accidents? Just asking, not cursing you la. Cos i am interested in riding bikes, just wanna understand how it is really like.

All the people telling me its dangerous and you shouldn't do it are non-bikers.

im an ex biker too.. but i too say its dangerous.. if best is dun ride ah.. i got into some accident and landed in the hospital with my gf for a nite.. learn my lesson... now driving a slow van..

my fren's dad who is a taxi driver himself.....still he advise to keep a distance away from taxi when on the road...as he said...they are siao one.....dont keep too near...

Even taxi driver themself know that taxi are dangerous driver....