Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 Call or visit the scrapyards yourself to check. Sometimes the mech got no time of can't be bothered so he tell you, don't have lah. No harm putting in a little more effort if you have the time. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2004 Author Share September 30, 2004 haha but i dunno where are the scrap yards ma only my dad knoes but he has got no time coz bz with work.. does scrap yards haf 2nd hand rims too? thought of changing tat plain looking rim of my Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 no la total my dad paid 9k+ for 5 years itz because got the $101 coe cause is cheaper to renew old cars..coz he said is pass 3 mths coe's average ma..so tat time count 10 yrs coz 19k den tink this old 323 can't tahan so long so renew 5 yrs ======================== Oh ok if like that then I guess not worth then. But still cheap leh. My coe cost $32K that time. But I calculate OK. My car still abt 5 yrs more & maybe can extend again sommore????? I wait till the time than decide. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 You can check yellow pages for all the scrapyards. Mostly in Kranji, S.Kadut & woodlands. Call & check for your parts is easier but must go then can see condition. I can give you a few if you need but Y.Pages have much more. 2nd hand rims now very few but last time got plenty. Dunno why. Maybe tire shops buy all. But you can still go down & check if you got the time. They have lotsa stuff for old cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2004 Author Share September 30, 2004 yea...haha 9k drive 5 and a half years ok la not tat bad...lol...wad's yur ride?? any pics?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 Ok I can't take it after chatting with you so I went to check my air-filter and plugs plus tune the carb. Apparently, AT171 requires the long spark plugs but the previous owner installed the shorter ones with 2 tips which my mech said is more for fuel-injected engines. Also the air filter is of lousy quality and the timing also a bit high. I shall see if the fc improves after this servicing! Hopefully so! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reliable Clutched September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 ya its a rx7 savanna. running on carb engine too. same as yours. carb engine drinks more petrol. sighz with the new petrol pricing can really sweat Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GoopPwr Clutched September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 on the topic of tyre pressure... for more than once already, despite pumping with setting at the recommemded pressure, i realised the pressure is still under-inflatted. how do you guys know that your tyres are adequately pumped? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 Ok I can't take it after chatting with you so I went to check my air-filter and plugs plus tune the carb. Apparently, AT171 requires the long spark plugs but the previous owner installed the shorter ones with 2 tips which my mech said is more for fuel-injected engines. Also the air filter is of lousy quality and the timing also a bit high. I shall see if the fc improves after this servicing! Hopefully so! ========================== Your plugs use Denso w16EX®U Made in Japan only. These last to 20K km. NOT the made in MY sh*t plugs. All filters & parts I only use original (japan) or OEM of good quality. Engine oil use fully synthetic & ATF also fully synthetic. Get your mech to tune carb & set timing to manufactures settings first & see how? Check tire pressure. All bearings still good? Does your car drink engine oil? If so, you need an overhaul. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pisces69 6th Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 ya its a rx7 savanna. running on carb engine too. same as yours. carb engine drinks more petrol. sighz with the new petrol pricing can really sweat ====================== Hi Relaible, Your car is rotary engine. FC is very high but very fast . High FC not due to your carb. U must use unleaded only. Maybe you can try pump in MY. Much cheaper. You got one hellava car there. I remember when they first came out, RX3 then RX7,Now RX8. There is a 2 door , I think is 929ltd. All very fast but very thirsty too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2004 Author Share September 30, 2004 oic our roads still haf a couple of rx7 savanna left...rotary engine sure roxs man...i tink old cars drink more petrol den normal cars Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2004 Author Share September 30, 2004 btw can my ride use Denso w16EX®U?? coz i notice those spark plugs he use are packed with nissan logo and is this spark plug gd? and engine oil he use castrol engine oil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 Yah my mech changed to Denso too, but I can't remember the specs but it's the long type. As for oil, I'll leave it up to him and I did mention I want synthetic for ATF but he pulled out an original Toyota ATF can and claims nothing is better than the original so maybe I'll leave it to him too. He did tune the carb and it sounds less gruff now and gears willing to upshift more. Bearings should be still ok. The rest will have to wait and see...sweating now! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Reliable Clutched September 30, 2004 Share September 30, 2004 my car drink till my wallet is empty. but savanna not very fast. looks retro only 13b engine will be fast but then will drink even more petrol Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mazda323 Neutral Newbie September 30, 2004 Author Share September 30, 2004 haha but i thought yur rx7 is 1.3 liter only? u sure savanna not fast i ever saw yur model zoom pass me on eways dam fast man...see few secs nia gone ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...