Tailgating is dangerous!

Seth

Hi all,

Recently, I have been tailgated several times. In fact, a few times by Hondas drivers.

In fact, I saw an traffic accident at ECP involving a Toyota Corolla and a Renault. The backside of the Toyota was badly damaged. This occured under heavy traffic road condition in the rush hour evening.

The Renault must have been following too closely.

Tailgating is definitely too dangerous! [thumbsdown]

In one instant, I was at a constant acceleration (50km/h) of a single sloping lane slip-road adjoining to ECP.

The Honda driver still tailgate me and want to overtake!

you should speed up when merging into expressway traffic. 50kmh (constant acceleration?! HA!) should earn you some tailgatings with nasty looks on the side.

people like you shouldn't be allowed near anything more powerful than a juicer.

Hi Seth,

Tailgating is one of the problems u will face once u start to drive.

Learn to ignore them. Most of them can't drive for nuts & try to show off by coming close to smell your backside which any new driver also can do (no skill required at all).

If you can, just move left, let them pass then continue your journey. No loss of face whatsoever.

I recently had a black Focus tail me on BKE. I was going 100km/h & centre lane full of slower vehicles. I just continued as normal.

Best part when I came to slip road to PIE, I didn't slow down & want to see if the idiot got guts & skill to follow me. Just like I thought, he no balls & no skill to follow. He slow down to about 60km/h & I left him far far away.

After that he pai seh to come near me & I see him stay far back from me. Dare not try to show off to me anymore.

I just can't stand those 5 cts & 10 cts drivers who try to scare pple but can't drive & got no balls.

Cheers [:)]

the tailgating driver will always be in the disadvantage.

in the event of accident, the rear driver is at fault.

din keep safety distance, can claim his insurance, & his front engine compartment maybe damaged. a lesson for all tailgaters!

well.. many types of drivers around... some are just impatient...

just take your own time driving safely down the slope and make sure you don't sway to the side let him pass...

it will be more dangerous... if he hits your ass... he's gonna pay...

I recently had a black Focus tail me on BKE. I was going 100km/h & centre lane full of slower vehicles. I just continued as normal.

If there is a faster car behind you ... why not give him way. 100 kph does not give you red carpet treatment on the Expressway. unimpressed.gif Do you know what kind of an Emergency that guy is in ?? If you dont, then just let him pass. Leave the speed control works to the Traffic Police

I am sure you can signal left ... let him pass and then get back to Lane 1 and continue at 100 kph.

Best part when I came to slip road to PIE, I didn't slow down & want to see if the idiot got guts & skill to follow me. Just like I thought, he no balls & no skill to follow. He slow down to about 60km/h & I left him far far away.

I dun understand this ... on the Expressway ... you go 100 kph ... on slip roads where you have to slow down to 50 kph ... you show your skill ... why ?? dizzy.gif If he slows down to 60 kph and you can leave him far far away ... that means you were way over 50 kph right ?? rolleyes.gif

I think skill is about knowing when you are hogging others and knowing areas that you should never be speeding wink.gif

On the public road , its not about Racing Skills ... its about Safety Skills ... I think we should get that priority correct smile.gif

laugh.giflaugh.gif I never do sly.giftongue.gif .... cause there is something called the "Traffic Neutralizing Effect"

Many times you see cars overtake left right centre ... and then 3 minutes later ... you see that same car at a traffic light as you laugh.gif

Remember .... a 1 minute stop at a traffic light ... a car you overtook at an expresway and left behind 5 km away can catch up in a jiff tongue.gif

No point, no use ... waste petrol ... and its not like petrol is cheap rolleyes.gif

Edited by Hitman

i always tapped my brake to frighten off tailgaters, most of the time they will get a fright and change to other lanes, hee hee.

but frankly there are really too many idiots on spore roads who like to tailgate to try to prove something. this is despite of being in the middle lane and the right lane is free. i have been driving for 20 years and have seen enough of these bast**ds.

you are right, sometime i follow a car quite close but doesn't mean i tailgate, the traffic was heavy where i stay close to the car in front. I just make sure i anticipate and prepared to stop just in case.

If the move is aggressive like high beam or horn, then it is the car in front to give way, regardless if you are above the limit or what! cos he could be in a hurry. If you think he tailgate you and you speed up, that make this person calling for a race but the guy behind has no intention to.

[;)]

Edited by Jman888

this is despite of being in the middle lane and the right lane is free

For this , there is no excuse ... only freakin idiots tailgate in the middle lanes nod.gif

Well bcos there were a whole line of slower moving cars & trucks on the centre lane & there were also a line of cars in front of me, all going at 100kp/h. It would be difficult to filter into the centre lane & then have to come out again.

For the slip-road, if the michael schumarcher wants to tail gate me to smell my arse, lets see how good he really is. The slip road is a 2 lane for some distance then merge into 1. If he so damm good & in such a hurry, he could overtake me on the 2 lane part & hurry on his bloddy way for all i care. & who actually goes 50km/h on the slip roads??? Even trucks take them in excess of 60km/h.

I am fully aware about safety but when I get n axxxxxe coming so close to smell my ass, & he's trying to intimidate me to give way to him. Why should I even give him a foot to pass.

He should have followed me at a safe distance & flashed his high beam, once. If no responce then flash again twice. If still no response then he should horn & flash to get my attention. That's what is safe driving. Not accelerate to my backside & think I'm some sissy going to run to the side so he can pass.

He's damm lucky I didn't slow to 50km/h & let him follow me all the way to the end of the BKE and let's see what he wants to do then.

Exactly nod.gifthumbsup.gif ... I think sometimes too much pride is the cause of many roadside scuffles and middle fingers shakehead.gif

Everyone thinks that they have the right of way dizzy.gif

Only idiots tailgate in heavy traffic ... cause they have brains of a monkey. Like you .... I get into heavy traffic everyday on the CTE .. to and from work ... I follow close , but I dun tailgate. If someone wants to tailgate me in heavy traffic .. fine , I give way .... let him pass and then get up behind him and let him tailgate the car formerly in front of me. shakehead.gif Also wat kind of stupid logic he has .... cause all the way to AMK, he is still only 2 metres ahead of me if the car in front doesnt give way. Heavy traffic wat, wat do you want right ?? Red carpet treatment is it ?? Have a blue blinker with siren ... thats when you get red carpet treatment lah laugh.giflaugh.gif

I just dun like the rear distraction when I should be concentrating in front in heavy trafic wink.gif

Edited by Hitman

hmm.. like myself.. i keep encountering cars who overtake me like mad.. in the end, i saw them at traffic light...

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

prolly over N... I cannot spot you anywhere after you hit NOSed.. ... sly.giftongue.gif