Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 Help needed.... Very confused here on which tyre to get, which is better in; 1) Noise level ?? 2) Aquaplaning handling?? Size is 205/55 R16 Pirelli Dragon or Michelin Preceda ??? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Audirs4 1st Gear September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 Go for Conti lah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanzy Clutched September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 What's the difference in price? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ahdi Neutral Newbie September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 i'm using dunlop 9000 205/55R16 on my nissan sunny. its rather noisy, but runs v well on wet weather. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Leonknapp Clutched September 23, 2004 Share September 23, 2004 I think both are on par. Wont go wrong with either choice! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 24, 2004 Author Share September 24, 2004 It's about the same price... very very close. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 24, 2004 Author Share September 24, 2004 i'm using dunlop 9000 205/55R16 on my nissan sunny. its rather noisy, but runs v well on wet weather. --------------------------------- Yes, I've heard that 9000 is very noisy. Preceda should be more silent thou. Not too sure about Dragon. That's why checking to see if there are any user of Dragon out there that can comment.... on the noise. Cheers, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanzy Clutched September 24, 2004 Share September 24, 2004 Since these are not hardcore performance tyres, I'll go with the one that looks the best and quieter of the two. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie September 24, 2004 Share September 24, 2004 curious.. what's the price of the Dragon in your spec? The Dragon is actually very new... I think Assassin is on it now.. but still new so hard to gauge noise level right? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched September 24, 2004 Share September 24, 2004 (edited) Hi BigPicture, Welcome to MCF ! Do enjoy your time here and come along for our weekly Friday evening meetups ! More details in the MEETUPS folder. For other automotive and contacts info, do check out the RESOURCES folder and the TIPS & TECHNICAL RESOURCES folder. You might also want to take a look at our FORUM GUIDELINES in MCF here. The Official Tyre Review thread in the RESOURCES on the Dragon tyre is here. Pictures of the tyres are included in each of the tyre reviews. I'm on 205/50ZR16W right now @ S$195 each. Not sure what price you were quoted for the size you are looking for. No problems with aquaplaning so far @ 80-90km/h. Noise wise, it is subjective, and some people might find it a bit noisy over certain parts of the expressways. I have tried the Precedas but on 225/45/17 sizing, the walls seem to be stiffer, but can tramline sometimes. Noise wise, about the same. Best to go to a tyre shop and feel the side walls for these 2 tyres of the same size. Hope this helps. Cheers Edited September 24, 2004 by Assassin Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Author Share September 27, 2004 Since these are not hardcore performance tyres, I'll go with the one that looks the best and quieter of the two. ------------------------------ Yes, will definitely choose the quieter one.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Author Share September 27, 2004 curious.. what's the price of the Dragon in your spec? The Dragon is actually very new... I think Assassin is on it now.. but still new so hard to gauge noise level right? ___________________________________________________________________________ Around S$160 for 205/55 R16 .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigpicture Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Author Share September 27, 2004 Thanks for the welcome note.... The reason I was considering Dragon as compared to Preceda is the price (both are around $160 each) with the Dragon is having a higher spec/speed rating compared to Preceda. My head says Preceda... and my heart says Dragon.. hahaha.. Anyway HEAD wins ... got 4 new Preceda over the weekend, now enjoying the new tyres. Satisfied with it so far. Much more quieter and softer compared to the Pirelli P6000 that I was using previously. Cheers, Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 $160 for 205/55/16?? hmmm.. can PM me contact? I'm on 205/50/16.. so should be around that price yah? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 Hi BigPicture, Glad that youre enjoying the Precedas. Good price you got too. The next tyre I want to try out would be the Goodyear F1 GSD3. Do post your review in the Official Tyres Review thread in the Resources folder also if you can. Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 Hand getting itchy again ah ? Now its a new set of tyres ah ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mojoe Neutral Newbie September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 no lah... just checking stuff out first have you gotten your rims or am i back-dated? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Assassin Clutched September 27, 2004 Share September 27, 2004 (edited) I see. You can compare between the Michelin Preceda, Pirelli Dragon and the Goodyear F1 GSD3 lor. Why do you think I'm on new 16" tyres leh ? Edited September 27, 2004 by Assassin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...