Yongwd 1st Gear March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 (edited) Yesterday I got nothing better to do. Therefore I decided to take out my car alarm installation guide and have a quick glance thru ... Hmmm, I realise my alarm system (Black Widow) has horn honking function when the alarm tripped, so I pick up some excess wires I kept in my shoe box, a digital meter and happily went to the car park to do the mod. Less then 20mins to get everything done including hunting for the horn -ve line. :) Now whenever the the alarm trips, siren and horn will go off together - REALLY DAMN LOUD! Edited March 11, 2002 by Admin ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear March 11, 2002 Author Share March 11, 2002 Good leh, that is the whole idea! Eh... does that mean if your alram if one day or middle of the night) siao siao , gila gila trip by itself (which is rather common), the whole neighbourhood will be notified as well? Hehehe... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear March 11, 2002 Author Share March 11, 2002 (edited) I consider myself mechatronic man No lah, where got so smart. Just a layman. the alarm will trigger for 2mins and relock itself. Thereafter when I use the remote to unlock the car, the siren will send out a set error codes to indicate the alarm has tripped. Hahaha, you hero man. BTW, are you an electronics man? I would never be able understand all these instructions etc that comes with electronic items like car alarm. Also thinking abt it, if the trip is left un-done, the horn and alarm combi might drain your battery faster than you can run to the car....? Edited March 11, 2002 by Shagmobil Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Wah, gung ho alarm coming to town! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ilmw 1st Gear March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 I'm checking out car alarms since my up-coming Mits Galant will only have keyless entry. Notice two very nice features in some of "better" brands: Remote Start - getting more common, most alarm brands on the 'Net have it. Good to have if you want to be perfectionist in car care, but having at least 30 seconds engine warm-up. Short Stop - this is the park, engine still running, doors lock, run out to 7-11 and buy cigarettes, hop back in. My questions: Other than the CrimeStopper, Viper, look-like-taiwanese brands, are there clifford (owned by Directed Electronics Inc?), toad, audiovox brands locally? What about immobilizer? Are people not considering if it isn't already in the vehicle? Autowatch seems to OEM for Volkswagen .. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear March 12, 2002 Author Share March 12, 2002 I think locally produced only Silicon. From malaysia will be wheels, audiovox etc Most installers will not wan to tamper with your car ignition system with after market alarms. Very good example my G9, the silicon alarm has immobilizer feature but not installed I would not wan to install a 3rd party alarm with immobilizer because I have analyse most of these aftermarket alarm circuitry - they are not reliable. Pull out the fuse of the alarm system and most likely u can start your car again. As for me, I install a switch to cut of the electric supply to the fuel pump. The thief maybe able to break into my car, turn off or destory the alarm. But he cant drive away (unless tow) as the engine will not start. Dun play play ah ... What about immobilizer? Are people not considering if it isn't already in the vehicle? Autowatch seems to OEM for Volkswagen ..[/reply] Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ilmw 1st Gear March 12, 2002 Share March 12, 2002 Shag This is the install manual for the Clifford AvantGuard4. It details the connections needed to various parts of the car, which can form to the basis of various modding IMHO. This is the rest of Clifford's products, but AvantGuard4 is the top end so these are partially useful only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear March 12, 2002 Author Share March 12, 2002 I will not install this avantguard4, once kaput u r dead meat. I only read 4 page of the manual n is enuff. Should be a higher range Clifford alarm. If I were to wire up everything according to the manual, I will spend whole day hunting for the lines under my kick panel and I may only utilise 40-50% of the features. the rest are not very useful to me This is the install manual for the Clifford AvantGuard4. It details the connections needed to various parts of the car, which can form to the basis of various modding IMHO. This is the rest of Clifford's products, but AvantGuard4 is the top end so these are partially useful only. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear April 13, 2006 Share April 13, 2006 sorry to dig out old posting ... how u add the switch to cut off the fuel pump electrical supply? oso would like to find out abt the siren, previously i am using wheels alarm and now crimestopper, seem to me that the wheels siren is much louder then the crimestopper, can i use wheels siren on the crimestopper module? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yongwd 1st Gear April 13, 2006 Author Share April 13, 2006 wah, u really good at digging out this reply dated almost 4yrs back. i still practise to install a seperate set of alarm to turn off fuel pump by a seperate set of relay not mounted at the identical location of the 1st alarm system. Choose any siren of your preference, they are all power by 12V DC, hide the siren under the fender or bumper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear April 13, 2006 Share April 13, 2006 the power of search function i dun understan wat u mean by seperate set of alarm to turn off fuel pump ... for the siren, i can just add another one? i can use any type of wire? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bluemice 2nd Gear April 13, 2006 Share April 13, 2006 sounds a good idea to trip the fuel pump in case the would be thief pull the plug(in this case, fuse) on the alarm.... mice Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Poortraveller 1st Gear April 13, 2006 Share April 13, 2006 yup ... a small hidden switch can do wonders Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gary84 1st Gear April 14, 2006 Share April 14, 2006 wah liddat oso can ah....anyway u must be damn to be able to mod that...very technical stuff, i see liao oso Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wolverine Neutral Newbie April 14, 2006 Share April 14, 2006 Yesterday I got nothing better to do. Therefore I decided to take out my car alarm installation guide and have a quick glance thru ... Hmmm, I realise my alarm system (Black Widow) has horn honking function when the alarm tripped, so I pick up some excess wires I kept in my shoe box, a digital meter and happily went to the car park to do the mod. Less then 20mins to get everything done including hunting for the horn -ve line. :) Now whenever the the alarm trips, siren and horn will go off together - REALLY DAMN LOUD! the point is? horn will activate the cops? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mivec9 1st Gear April 14, 2006 Share April 14, 2006 to scare the rats rah Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiatmobile 1st Gear April 14, 2006 Share April 14, 2006 That's the way to be noted..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...