Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Bros, have you used FI cleaners and any postitive effects? I've personally used STP and Gold Eagle FI cleaners and it's more for cheap insurance (and of course I'm anal) rather than performance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 TB, I use Caltex Power Cleaner.. cos my brick has been drinking 98' and XO since it hit the road. I understand the STP etc.. are designed for 95 and below type of petrol. Caltex Power Cleaner is S$28.. damm expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Author Share March 11, 2002 Hi Cool, I use the STP cleaner every 5k and open up my brick to redline after each treatment, kinda let the carbon on the valves get purged. btw, U driving a Volvo too? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 I drive Corolla 2001 LX... no money for volvo.. For me I don't red line it (cos it is an auto), but I disable overdrive mode for 100KM.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Author Share March 11, 2002 Hi Cool, U mentioned "brick" so I tot U got a second car which is a Volvo. Redlining an auto is pretty ok IMHO, once the engine is run-in. My brick's redline is 6200rpm but the auto tranny shifts at 6000rpm so still within safe limits Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schroder Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 eee thought you could redline the machine through manual intervention. That is D1 , D2 , D3 , D or something like that. Used to do that with my dads Rover. Its kinda like manual gear change. Don't seem to hurt the machine. No leakage you see. With practice it feels like a manual gear system after the initial pickup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Schroder Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Sorry but no offence. I think those cleaners are a waste of money. Fuel now burns 'clean'. Its like if your injectors are really clogged. The cleaners will never help. So long as the mixture ain't too rich or the plug ain't too cold for the normal driving condition the injectors should not be clogged at least for its normal life. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roadblock Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 I buy STP cleaners from Autobacs (always on offer - but dun noe whether really cheap or not ) and pour it in every 15-20,000 km... even if its no use, I think no harm to the car lah ... any difference after adding the STP cleaners? Truthfully, I can't feel much , except psychological feel better the fuel system is "treated". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Author Share March 11, 2002 Yup, sticking it in D1 can redline to rev limit (which I incidentally hit at PG). The tranny won't shift up and just keep bouncing on the rev limiter. That is just 200rpm above the tranny's 6000rpm shift point so I'd just leave it in D even on track outings. Oh the fuel cleaner? I'm just anal Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lester Neutral Newbie March 11, 2002 Share March 11, 2002 Dear all Fuel additives and cleaners are added to help remove gum or sludge along your fuel line. Though there are fuel filters at the petrol kiosks pumps overhead or underground, you'll never know wat will go through the filters. If these foreign deposits can slip through the filters at the kiosk pumps, it can definitely go through your own vehicles' fuel filter either immediately or after some time. i'm not taliking bout in mm for diameters. but micons of nm. it's not visible to the naked eye. But being in the petroleum industry for 2 yrs+, we get to see wat lies beneath the storage tank farms. Gum and sludge buildup is common for all motorised vehicle utilising fuel, combustion and mechnical motions. With the help of these cleaning agents, it doesn't literally make your fuel in your tank cleaner! These agents act as soap when you are washing a pair of dirty hands filled with grime and grease for example. The agents miscible with the fuel, goes through the fuel line, injectors or jets, to remove any deposits it can wash off along the way. It takes time with older engine, cos of the higher buildup it has got over the years. In a newer vehicle it's never too late to use them. Of cos, pls purchase brands and grades that meet to your car specs and not just get bcos it's cheapest! Using an unknown brand might just cause more harm than taking care of things. With the cleaning effect of these agents, you car now is running cleaner, smoother and the temperature is running cooler but not necessary showing on your temp gauge. With a cooler engine, you save on mileage and your engine lifespan is prolonged provided you follow closely to your car's maintanance schedule. I've been an ardent fan of STP for 5 yrs. it's been around since I was boen. I was attracted to the logo! Competitive pricing, reliability and meeting of specs promotes itself more than anything else. Lester Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear March 12, 2002 Share March 12, 2002 I am using the one from Honda....actually it is from Idemitsu....9.50 a bottle. Recommend that it is use every 10,000km. Feels no diff....but I guess it like buying insurance lor.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 Ai yah! Don't waste your money lah. Just take your car for an 'Italian tune-up' ie a blast on the N/S Highway occasionally. Guaranteed to result in smoother engine and better fuel consumption! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Author Share March 19, 2002 Doc, care to share your Italian Tune Up method here? http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi..._view&post=7179 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MkIIToledo Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 TB, I use Caltex Power Cleaner.. cos my brick has been drinking 98' and XO since it hit the road. I understand the STP etc.. are designed for 95 and below type of petrol. Caltex Power Cleaner is S$28.. damm expensive. Cool, Where did you get the Caltex cleaner, can't find in Caltex stations leh?!?! Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 You can't get it off the self, need to get it from the ExpressLube workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MkIIToledo Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 No wonder!!! Can't seem to get it off stockist too!! Thanks again!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cool Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 I suggest you drop by during lunch.. opens to 6pm only Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
MkIIToledo Neutral Newbie March 19, 2002 Share March 19, 2002 BTW, do you know if there's a Expresslube along Bt Timah rd? Can't remember whether they have or not? Can only go so far during lunch hour (work in Bt Batok). Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...