ATF FLUSHing

Nightfalls

Hi Bros!

I wonder if you guys have any reliable/good experience with any particular workshop that flush ATF especially for CVT?

Is it true that flushing requires more ATF fluid? If normally require need 4 litres, then flsuhing needs how much?

Thanks

You can try ACDelco at Tampines ... not bad ... did it before

Yes, you will need as much as 2 times the fluid ... last time I say my car needed close to 15 litres in all but my capacity should be 7L ... are you sure your is only 4L ????

You can try BVO at Sin Ming...cost is 200+ (but that is inclusive of oil).

If yours is a CVT...you must bring your own oil rite ? I remember CVT uses a diff kind of ATF.

So you better check before you go. Flushing needs more ATF...cos the process is as such....

1) Suck out all your old oil

2) pump in new oil to flush

3) suck out oil again (see what colour is it)

4) pump in new oil again

5) repeat step 2-3 if oil is very dirty

So the more dirty the ATF is...you need more to flush out the junk.

Most people will quote you with a 12L oil included.

what's the frequency to do ATF ?

I read it's about 1 year on avg. Did mine at a workshop in Ubi. Cost me arn 180, inclusive of oil, DOT 3 or 4 I think.

Newer cars use DOT 5.1

Amount of ATF use for flushing depend very much on ur mileage since ur last change. If ur mileage is low, u'll spend lesser ATF lor, you can see the ATF turn redie after 2-3 cycles.

Seriously I have no idea...but let say you know off 10 per litre of ATF...and agar agar they use 12L of ATF...you minus off 120 or so from the package ?? Dun quote me on this....just a wild guess.

If you KS and want to pamper and have a feel good factor...you can do it once a year. But I usually go by mileage...around 40k I will do a flush...cos I whack the box quite jialat one.

DOT 3,4 & 5 is for brake fuild. The higher number the higher the boil point. New cars dun use Dot5...most of them using Dot4 only. Only cars that have upgraded their brakes will use Dot5 as they will generate more heat. But if you ask me...street driving how to boil the brake fulid leh ?? Kinda overkill....but no harm done.

Hi ACE_T,

Just for your info, the last time I did a flush, KATC used to charge $50 for labour if you bring your own ATF.

Mine old type (not CVT) & owner manual recommend to change every 60K km. The amt stated is 4.5 lit. for a "drain & fill".

I do a flush at about 50K km & it takes about 18 lit to get a nice red colour of the ATF inside the auto box.

I now use RP fully synthetic ATF (Dexron III) at about $10/lit. So my total cost was $180 for the ATF & $50 for labour = $230.

I flush every 2.5 years or about, so it's not too expensive in total.

Cheers [:)]