Konspire Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 hrd of this one in their radio ads, is it good? barum..barum..barum..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 The guys at Autoworld heap praises on it for being cheap and middle of the pack. Owned by Continental group. Check the Autoexpress tests. Pretty good for the Kumho 712 price at MYR160-170 for a 195/50-15. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 See this: http://www.autoworld.com.my/forum/allposts...+Barum+Bravuris Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 (edited) Bros, anyone know where i can find online info on the above? Told that it is a house brand of Falken...wonder if it is a newly developed brand or acquire brand? I was told that it was formerly from Bridgestone, then sold off to Falken???? Is it true, i am curious to know...thanx! I wonder if my friend mistook Firenza as Firestone or Turanza which both belongs to Bridgestone..... Anyway, I have just change to Firenza verdict is that for 75 bucks for 15 inches 195/50....it is consider value for money. I drove a Fit, so dun need too performance and i dun mind sacrifice a bit of comfort for the extra bit more grip in wet weather as compared to the stock Aspec DB.... Thanks I'm on Firenza ST-03...where you got for $75 ea...vy cheap I got my at $79 per piece with free nitrogen (I guess say say only.) and life time patching, tyre rotation. 195/50/R15...wanted 205/45/R15..the saleman said I crazy...But tyres has a feature "Rim protector" its a design feature that cos the rubber around to rim edge to push out. So when you hit the curbs it prevents the rim from sratching the cemment. Actually for that price its very gd value for $$$. The tyre is mfg by Falken for out our Stamford tyres. Its made in Jap. Watch for the place of mfg for the tyre, I was told that some was mfg in Indon..so becareful. It should be Jap. & of course the MFG date. My was a new batch mfg in Jul '05 The wet grip is good, the main reason is the 4 deep wide straight grooves on the tyres. BS has 5 on its G3. But at ard $120 a piece. I felt it was better then Yokohama S306 rain tyres. Technically it was not design strict for rain. Dry grip was to be better than wet. I personally don't think so. The tyres tend to under steer compared to my old ones. Not sure whether is the softing of my 2.5yr old shocks. Noise wise...OK la....vy subjective depends on how well your car is insulted. I hv take this set on NS highway when it was a week old. cannot tell whether performance gd or not. Cos stick to 110km/h, I prefer to spend the bribe money on KFC.. Anyway I think they last quite well. So far 3months already 11,000km the wear is quite alright. But like all tyres you need to chk them vy 2wks. Make sure 1. Pressure is maintained..I hv 33psi front & 32psi rear..Actuall no diff if you had it on all 32psi. 2. Lock you steering to one end & inspect the tyres for uneven wear. For the rear just flash a touch light from the rear. Edited November 30, 2005 by Tanjm348 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 so, u meant the performance is nearly on par with continental tyres? where is it made? is continental tyres good? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 i've been having it for 2 yrs i think n the thread still good....i dunno if gd or not... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darth_mel 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 (edited) I'm surprised you still using the ST-03 till now. The tire noise is driving me nuts !!! You seemed to have a high threshold for tire noise. With regards to wet performance, any tyre is better than the ST-03s. Trust me. Edited November 30, 2005 by Darth_mel Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 I guess it will be a bit noisy...but I felt age is not the guage...but milage should be used..I think time to change at abt 40,000km onwards...But ST-115 sooner at 30,000km better check regularly. cos it uses a softer compound than most.....tyres hv a marker at the edge to indicate the wear..if not just ask you mechanic the next time you service the car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 I think they out performance Aspec on wet grip... Personally how your car is up affects grip as well. Of course there is a fine balance betw wet grip & noise level. Very difficult to have both at such a low price. Furthermore noise level is quite subjective to your cars insulation.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 (edited) Barum tires are either made in Malaysia or Thailand. Continental tires of course good lah. They own Uniroyal and Barum right now. They also got a stake in the sucky Sime tires. Continental's ContactSport is pricey and pretty good. Big tire making company. Not on par with Continental tires but as the Autoexpress tests show, it is in the middle of the pack in terms of performance and the price is its main draw. Continental tires of course higher up in performance. Edited November 30, 2005 by Genie47 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 I used to be on UniRoyal on my preivous fiat...There's a model "rally-something" was quite good....low noise good grip made in France, but ex I paid almost $450 for a set of R14..cannot even remember the size it was in '99....I used to service my car at Cost-Tyres at hill view. I believe they were the agents. But in 2002 they stop doing vehicle servicing and focus on handphones. Are the Barums cheap? any good?....I was thinking if they are cheap...change every year...can beat a 2yr old CSC-2. I used to be able to get actual US conoco hydroclear quart packaged oil at a very low price. So change engine oil at every 5000km. That will leave me with a few dollars for coffee/mee poh if I do it at 10,000km with synthic oil. including filter change everytime. after 2yrs gave up...good for the engine very clean..but bad for me cos it meant abt every 2months go garage...where got time!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 They are cheap and good from what I gather at Autoworld. Better than some dunno what Malaysian brand called Silverstones or something. Ranges from MYR130-170 for a 195/50-15. 130 when the post was in 2003 165 in a post that was in 2005. If service and change oil every 5k, might as well DIY. Come back home when engine is nice and hot, drain oil while you go chiak pung. Come back change oil filter, fill in new oil, dun even need to start engine go back khoon. This is what I do but mine is 10k. Less than 30min and don't need to wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Konspire Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 i agree that the it seems to be noisier when it gets a few months old. i think after sometime i'm immune to the noise cos when i wind up my windows and turn on my stereo. but my former aspec db oso doesn't do well in noise suppresion. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 hee hee buying value of RM drop.. Anyway I used to change engine oil myself...gave up after sometime. A lot of work due to lack of tools. I guess you need to get a 2-ton car jack (those with wheels), to push the thing to the multi-storey carpark also quite siong just for the drain nut. I fig have it done at a garage, can hv my car washed by them, wash & inspect brakes, jack the whole car up for inspection etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 I don't have a sump plug. I got a Fumoto . It is just a flick of a switch. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tanjm348 Neutral Newbie November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 What's a "Funmoto"...the plug is a pain!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 www.fumotovalve.com See why it is the rave with the DIY oil changers and those in the US. Quite a number of Chevy guys have installed it. I don't even jack up the car, just reach in and flick. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Imuya Clutched November 30, 2005 Share November 30, 2005 but the bloody oil filter is still a pain in the a.s.s. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...