Car can't start properly. Engine Stalls after a min.

Presea

It's wierd.

After cooling down (left for more than 2 hours)....my engine will start at the first crank.

Then I drive it (in the carpark - MSCP) and as I drive...within a minute, the engine starts to have fluctuations in the revolutions.

It will go above 2000rpm without throttle input, and fall to almost 1000....then rise and fall....gradually bottoming out below 700rpm where the engine proceeds to die.

And then it refuses to start!

Yesterday..before going to the esplanade, I had to push the car into a lot, so as not to block traffic in the carpark.

Thankfully, there was a lot on the level which my car stalled.

I then had to keep cranking....for more than 15mins (more than 10s of cranking...then resting it for a minute.)

Finally.....I decided to crank for a longer period at least 20-30s.

And the engine finally starts!

....and I leave it to run idle for a minute.

Then I proceed to switch it off.....and then I restart...and it starts on the first crank.

We drive to the esplanade without incident. In fact..the car feels very responsive...and more powerful (I don't know why...)

And after seeing the fireworks....the same thing happens [:/] ! And with the engine fluctuating again! I pushed the car into the nearest lot (up a slight slope - Marina Sq carpark) After a few more failed attempts...for some wierd reason, I decide to crank it again for as long as it takes to start....and again...around 30 secs of cranking allows the engine to start!

With everyone looking at me I decided to rev the engine to see if there was any other problems. Nothing again.

And we proceed home without incident....and with the car being very responsive.

Anyone saw a Black Presea....intermitently speeding (way above speed limit) last night?... [laugh]

Anyway....I hope that it starts today [shakehead]

Anyone with any ideas as to why it behaves like that??

Could it be....too much petrol (the fuel attendant overfilled my tank earlier that day)?

faulty ignition coil.

i replace several B14 nissan sunny and one presea this year, same problem

brand new complete ignition distributor + leads $650

no wonder nissan stockist dare to stock up these rare nissan parts.

have fun.

Sorry to hear about your cranking problems. I dunno much about mechanical stuff but hope u can get it rectified soon. Can't imagine if u are running late for a show at Esplanade (pronounced S-plan-nard, I think) then your engine can't start.

By the time u reach there, the ushers ask u to see the tiny monitors so as not to disturb the audience.

For me, dun think I will have this problem cuz I got no "yi shu xi bao" (artistic talent) so u wun see me going to Esplanade for shows unless they are free and I got company *hint*

Possibility of full tank possible as high pressure on the pump. However, it should start off immediately. Montor a few days tho

yeah...thanks to all for their concern.

It's just that...."money no enough" nowadays.

I just hope that the problem will go away.

about 6 months ago, the same problem came....but I was doing ICT then.

So my wife took over the car, and while she drove....the problem only occurred once during those 2 weeks. After that.....it's been 6 months.....and only yesterday the problem came back [shakehead]

Maybe I should let her takeover the car again.

My Presea's just showing her temper [furious] ....throwing tantrums [bounce1] because I've been abusing her! [laugh]

cheers....

That is the thing about older cars... they got character, man! [thumbsup]

Agree with u on the money no enough part. Sigh! Seems like most people I know all have this common problem and of course I am no exception. [:(]

As what my friend would say and still say "Ji pah tan..." u know how the rest of the saying goes! [laugh]

I don't mind doing your job bro.....while working....can still surf the net. [thumbsup][laugh]

When's your off-day (since you're working today). [sly]

We can go to Marina...let's do a few circuits [;)]

Hey dl! Dun sabo me leh... later my boss see your posting, I am gonna get it! [sweatdrop]

Sure thing. I got your hp number so will msg u when I am off.

Marina sounds fun to me but u gotta give chance to me ok? [:)]

Guys,

Sontong is my relative, so dun be too hard on him.... Thanks.

By the way, Happy Birthday to me... [:p]

Cheers, have a tiger.

Edited by Gadgeter

sorry lah......but I assume your boss is not in MCF. and how would he know who Rainbowsix is....it's not like we mentioned your name .......________ [laugh][laugh]

looking forward to see you soon.

Chance....OK....I tie your car to my car lah... [laugh]

My first car was a 93 presea...auto. Bloody car can just stall and switch off and refuse to crank. Same went for my spec at my NSF unit, presea just died even though it was auto. Turn out to be the first 2 plates of the auto gear box that caused it.

As for mine, dunno what caused it and didn't bother coz I sold it off. Can't drive a car that does not give me confidence at all.

I also hope he is not a member of MCF! [laugh]

U tie my car to your car or your car to my car? [crazy] What difference does that make?

Give me ten car lenghts and dun let me bang u in the rear ok? [laugh]

If I give you 10 car lengths....you make sure I don't bang YOUR rear! [laugh]

I tie your front end to my tail....so as I go quickly through the corners....you will still be as fast as me [thumbsup]

....the thing is this. My car cranks fine....but it just fails to fire!

Can't start even though it cranks properly.

It cranks so well....after 20-30s of cranking.....the engine will start!

I love the engine....it goes to almost 7000rpm without incident, and I get good acceleration in most gears (up to 4th). And overall the shape and styling is what I want. New cars just don't have that sleek and rounded look.

Edited by Presea