Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 Before I shortlisted Focus &Optra, Optra. I have test droven Magane, Focus, Optra, Aveo, Sunny, Lancer, Mazda3, Sonata, Altis In my opinion, worst of the lot is Lancer. Sunny lack of power. My wife & I like Magane the most, but too costly. I like the look & feel of Sonata, with the price of $76K (Gold edition), it is a very good buy for 2L car. But my wife aginst it. Otherwise, I would have booked it. Altis is value for money as well, and BM is offering 2% interest rate for 7-10 years. Very attractive. But, too common and my wife doesn't like it. , most importantly, we felt that Optra & Focus are better than Altis, in term of handling & comfort. Finally, we shortlisted Focus & Optra. We test drive few times again, particularly the Optra, and took a very close look at both cars again & again. After few rounds of analysis we finally chose OPTRA. External look: We like Focus. (Optra not too bad as well) Interial look: I like Optra, and my wife like Focus Handling: Comparable. I felt that Focus is better. Cabin quiteness: Optra wins Brake: Focus is more responsive, but the squzzing noice of the braking just too high. Warranty: Focus 5 years Price: Optra is cheaper by $9+K (taking into consideration of OMV & Cash back), insurance premium is cheaper on Optra as well, and the cash need is lower. Resale value: Focus is well known Design: Focus design is due soon, and Optra is new. We choose Optra mainly because of Optra meets our basic expectation - "Conti feel" and cheaper. If RM offers cash back, and have a more aggresive SE, we would have chosen Focus already. Actually, on Wednesday, We have decided on Focus, but SE of SA called me again & urge me the test the car again, and gave us the the assurance on the build quality of Optra. We tested Optra again & again on Friday, and decided on it. Hopefully, we have made a right choice. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 Redeel will be sad to read this. anyway....welcome to the Chevy Kakis Club,bro! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 Ah... You never contact Eddie when you went down to RM?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cashiertan Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Share August 1, 2004 well i guess he wants to be total stress free when deciding to buy his car. However, wise choice bro on your optra. anyway, focus is a great car just the price is abit expensive. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 1, 2004 Author Share August 1, 2004 Eddie?? don't know him. If he can make better offer / service, the scenario might have changed. One bad thing is that RM don't offer cash back??? Why don't RM works with DBS ! It will open up the maket space. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Seansene 1st Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 That's the way to choose a car! Too many people decide on these expensive purchases based on what other people say, without experiencing it for themselves. You have to look at what suits you, not your father or uncle... Enjoy your ride When's it due? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 v detailed analysis. good choice for either choosing both cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arah Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Welcome bro.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Alfpoon Clutched August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 how much is the latest Optra? Manual/Auto? Do you have to wait long for it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 (edited) Wah.. very very detailed sia, very good. not like me... I have driven many different types of car b4.. the perks of renting.. haha.. I read lots of good reviews here and abroad.. so when I go SA to drive the Optra, find nothing irks me, handling is good, quiet interior, I got it ! The only thing I dun really like is the location of the hand-brake.. they never swap side.. And the horn, very squeaky.. Must change.. So now, waiting for my car.... Edited August 2, 2004 by Sotong_kia Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tkew 1st Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Congrats, and welcome to the Chevy community. You made a good choice. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 PMed you... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 That's the way to choose a car! Too many people decide on these expensive purchases based on what other people say, without experiencing it for themselves. You have to look at what suits you, not your father or uncle... Enjoy your ride When's it due? Agreed. Whether you are buying a Proton or Magane, you are spending at least S$50K !!!! No joke man, at least for me. So, have to be careful, and get the car to suit you best. Pending on the approval of the DBS loan. Either mid Aug or End Aug. Can't await Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 We might getting the car at the same period as you !!! Hopefully, my loan can get approved before Wednesday. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 how much is the latest Optra? Manual/Auto? Do you have to wait long for it? S$71K Auto, premium package. Inclusive, immediate COE, 1 year of Insurance + 1st month installment. All in all, I just need to pay $1K to drive away. Delivery, the quickest is 2 weeks. If you need it very urgent, I think SA can get you a open cat COE. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sotong_kia Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Yeah, we might be getting the same time.. I also wanted the Premium, but dun want the CD changer leh.. My loan just got approved.. so waiting for Wednesday.. hee hee. Going Overseas.. dunno when I come back end of the week, got any good news or not.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Liu38 Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 Yes. I got a message from SE. My loan has approved. Wow, DBS really efficent. Submit on Sat and approve Today. We will get our car the same time... Maybe we can meet each other Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Remygenn Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Congrats on ur new car. Irregardless of any car makes , what ppl will say but at the end of the day >> it's your money , it's u n wifee who will be behind those wheels - bottom line ... it makes you feel damn good !! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...