Optra auto owners...got something to ask you

Stary

When you shift the gearstick back from N to R, do you have to push the gearstick down first?

Before I send my car to servicing.....R to N and N to R just shift along the goove.

Now after servicing, from N to R, I have to push the gearstick downwards first before I can shift to R.

Is this a safety feture or something not normal here?

When I went to test drive last saturday, they told me have to press down to go from N to R / P.

They say safety feature.. The vehicle I test drove was like dat..

i think optra and aveo could be the same. to move from P/R to N/D, must step on brake first.

from D/N to R, must depress the gear level before gear can go into R. this is a safety feature to prevent 1 from shifting to reverse accidentally.

i think the owner manual got write...

oh isit????? geee.....din kno that! siao liao....... [:p][sweatdrop][sweatdrop]

normally step on the brake & shift the knob everywhere. [:p] oops....

you try shifting without depressing. if can do that, maybe wanna check with SA mech...

Bro..I can do that...and that's before I send the car in before servicing.

This is what happened. Maybe a month back, I had this "tic-tuk" sound on the gearbox when the gearstick is at "P". It's quite random and happened normally from cold start. i can shift from N to R without depressing the gearstick.

Then things got out of hand. I can now even shift the gearstick without the need to depress the brake!!! Now before things get really bad....I sent the car in for servicng on Thursday.

The car spent a nite over there and got the car back on Friday.

Now I have to depress the gearstick when i shift from N to R. So wonder if that's normal or if the gearbox was already screwed the day I got my car.

Yup, you are suppose to push down the gear stick when shifting from N to R, but not from R to N. This is a safety feature to prevent you from accidentally shift from D all the way to R, since this is a zigzag gear box, instead of the straight push-buttton type.

If you didn't have that until after your servicing, then probably the mechanic found out the problem and fixed it. I think they do check the gear shift.

My own cashcard reader was not working when I collected my car , I find that a surprise. Where is the quality check , I wonder.

[reply]

Now I have to depress the gearstick when i shift from N to R. So wonder if that's normal or if the gearbox was already screwed the day I got my car.

Well, Chevrolet is a good car and back by a good company but their local distributor is [sweatdrop][thumbsdown]

Seriously, i think GM should consider geting another distributor or adding one more to add spice to the small but vibrant SG car market. SA is not doing a good job at the moment.

yes, i muz step on the brake to shift from P/D to R. (if dun step, cannot shift)

but...Starry mentioned abt depressing the gear knob. [dizzy][dizzy]

si mi lai eh? [:(] maybe aveo & optra diff?? i blurz liaoz... [dizzy]

Edited by Ah_veo

Like some old manual cars that I drove before :

some need to depress the knob downward before being able to shift into R (of cos, must press clutch also)

some need to PULL UP the knob before being able to engage into R.

agree, for most conti cars Manual.

but they're talking abt Auto here leh.....i gong gong liao. [dizzy]

btw, when u collecting urs? [sly]

So it is the same for the Optra Auto lor.. have to step brake, and press down before being able to shift from D to R....

"New" feature lor.. :)

My SC told me this morning still waiting for bid.. Loan just got approved.. Heng ah.. cos I just joined new company for 1 month..

I honestly have no idea how long they will take to deliver my optra..

Edited by Sotong_kia