Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 better is subjective. i tink value-for-money is a better yardstick. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 actually japs does a lot of copying. but maybe they are also smart lah, cos they never invest in such r&d....copying is a lot cheaper Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 my point exactly. that's why i say value-for-money. until, of course, when the local agent gets into the act and marks up the profits until the VFM equation is lost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 yep..... but strange huh, u have difficulty finding peu specialist in sg but found them in MY? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 that's why its good to look at omv vs selling price.. but one thing i don't like is that omv is never published and you can only enquire by word of mouth...and we all know lah, if they misrepresented orally about the omv, we can never sue them....alto omv does fluctuate from car to car within the same model, it still should state the expected omv with say a margin of permissible error of say 5%. then the consumers know whether they kena chop carrot big time. but then again, not every consumers look for such things...otherwise, m3 wouldn't be selling like hotcakes now. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 u can view the OMVs frm the LTA's website wat. and you'll be shocked at the $$markups of some mainstream jap cars there. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 oh that's great......i suppose the lta updates them timely? otherwise, the value of info will have been lost with drastic exchange rate movements or manufacturer charging lower to clear stocks. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 the info is based on the latest OMV of registered cars from the previous month, so quite up-to-date. a rule of thumb to calculate the basic cost of a new car: OMV x 2.363 + COE. the balance of the selling price is the dealer $$markup. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 can't seem to find the exact page who shows the omv by vehicle...can which page of onemotoring or lta should i go to? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 u can try http://app.lta.gov.sg/motoring_vo_omv.asp Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 wow this page is good Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 best value is to look for a low markup jap car. i wanna be a ricer next.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 nope, info from ah-beng mechanics, info read from forums as well as, also the no. of COE cars on the road.For one, I heard that the Renault Clio (COE models) have some problems. Beg to differ your comments on Renault Clio having problems unless you are owning one yourself to experience it. Hearsay is not good enough. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 hehe, like I have said, I just happen to "hear" lah. Was asking for comments/feedback. Personally, I find the Clio quite chio. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Wife's a Japanese, working in the Japanese firm, so I know the culture very well. Japanese looks at things from a "more practical" manner. When they are designing, they will see what the consumer wants, then implement it. More passive in thinking. I think, Europeans are a bit of the opposite. They implement what their R&D has in mind and later attempt to sell the idea to the consumers. For jap designs, jap culture I doubt so. The japs culture die die will not change type, I agree. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Have been driving the Renault range of cars for a long time now. Renault designed cars on the practical side with safety. So far, do not experience any problems whatsoever on it except the wear and tear parts. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 nope, Japanese culture has changed quite a lot. Young ppl are just confused, with the influx of the western culture and the poor economy, etc. One thing is for sure, the new Japan will never be as strong as the old one. It's a common analogy in Japan these days that, "The old generation worked to build our country, while the younger generation are destroying it". And nope, never driven a Renault before. But sure wanna try... I have nothing against it and think they make great cars too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Since SG modelled after Japan, will we suffer the same fate for the younger gen.? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...