Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 haha.......true also.... but i think its a catch 22 situation. once pple start to spread word that conti less reliable, less pple buy conti cars.....less pple buy conti cars, less small scale workshop can buy diagnostic kits for conti cars. i ever went to one of the middle tier workshop......he told me he got diagnostic kit for a lot of the brands of cars but contis he can't afford to buy a diagnostic kit cost too few units running around to justify him getting the diagnostic kit. so that's how the situation evolved....then once they cannot fix, they will say better to get jap car lah, blah and blah....of course contis are generally more sophisticated. so it doesn't help in the cause either. yeah its good to choose jap car if maintenance cost is a consideration cos ah beng mechs can also fix any jap cars. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 if prices of conti cars were comparable with jap cars, you might see the trend move the other way round. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 yeah...ah beng mechs usually use trial and error style to repairs. Cant do that to conti-cars, since it might do more damage than harm to the internal computers, etc. Ah Beng best for carburetted cars! Tune this cannot, try style B, if cannot neber mind, try style C... hehe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Oh how true Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 for conti car, u pay for many things u dun see. i.e pioneering R&D, crash testing, safety technology, higher emission stds, etc. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 I had the same problem when driving the Peugeot ... always got to go back agent until I found the JB agent Outside workshops cannot handle the complications of the Puegeot computerised system. Too few running around for them to play trial and error with Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Magfocus 5th Gear August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 But jap cars do that too.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 that's true.. but does that mean that jap cars do not invest in such criteria in car design ? or they do it more cost effectively. [reply] for conti car, u pay for many things u dun see. i.e pioneering R&D, crash testing, safety technology, higher emission stds Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 gotta agree that conti cars come equipped with a lot of cool features that Jap cars don't offer. But recently, the conti cars (and American cars) seem to be increasing on the roads. Could be seeing more COE conti cars in the next 10 years. Then ppl will say, why conti cars last longer than jap cars..haha "Fung Shui Lun Lau Chuin" (Feng Shui take turns to change in Cantonese). Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 actually at one stage very close already....at that stage when i was buying car.. renault megane 78k vs corolla also 78k vs astra 80K but thereafter, euro appreciates and the distance is dragged apart again. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 hehe.....yeah loh.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 (edited) Wife's a Japanese, working in the Japanese firm, so I know the culture very well. Japanese looks at things from a "more practical" manner. When they are designing, they will see what the consumer wants, then implement it. More passive in thinking. I think, Europeans are a bit of the opposite. They implement what their R&D has in mind and later attempt to sell the idea to the consumers. Edited August 2, 2004 by Hoppe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 yep....guess its across the board loh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 i think both approaches has some inherent fault in them.... the jap approach is faulty if the consumer is a novice..he don't know what he wants then car manufacturer don't provide....later when he knows he wants it already too late. as for the conti approach, it means u might be paying for a lot of things u don't want Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 agree on that... their product presentation is fantastic.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 it's more cost effective as the japs let the europeans spend $$ on R&D and then adapt the tech (minus the bugs) on their cars later when prices drop. if u noticed, Abs, airbags, EFI, safety belt, anti- whiplash & submarine seats, safety cage, etc were R&D-ed in europe and introduced to conti cars long b4 jap cars had such features. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 And not to mention the lack of aftermarket products. If I wanted to change my Peugeot rims , I'd have to buy overseas , here no have at all Can buy similar rims that fit the PCD but offset all wrong ... some absurd PCD size of 104 or 108 , cant quite remember And this is rims only .... the rest also forget it. Never get a Conti if u wanna play with aftrmarket mods Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 like the analogy of a Kendo stick versus the rifle.... so do the europeans rule over better built cars at the end of the day ..considering that the West were the first to deisgn and build automotives in the early 1700s. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...