Hoppe Clutched July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 (edited) Under Singaporean driving conditions (lots of short distance drives, with occassional N-S adventures), until what mileage (kms) can a typical engine work up to before needing an overhaul? An overhaul can only lasts about 50kms, the last time I've heard. Is this correct? I have seen cars in Msia going with 500K mileage and still moving?! Owners say no overhaul whatsoever. Is he lying? Msian cars travel longer distances (many times more!) than Spore cars due to the land size and also traffic. Any bro has experiences to share? Edited July 30, 2004 by Hoppe ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 Actually can last. No need overhaul if you are faithful in changing the engine oil. In the US also, high mileage vehicles that stuck with their owners is some kind of veteran badge of war time action. People see your vehicle with same body and engine usually to you. Another thing about Malaysian cars. Highway miles are less stressful to the engine compared to city miles. But they do get traffic jams. So this might not be true. But remember, it is the regular change of engine oil and replacement of some critical parts like water pump. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dwoon 1st Gear July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 Nowadays, with half cuts getting so common and cheap, might as well repalce. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched July 30, 2004 Author Share July 30, 2004 Also, I think Msians don't really service or take care of their cars like car owners down here. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 You will be surprised! Considering the earning power they have and comparing with us, yes we pay more for our cars but lump in the inflation, they in a way pay as much as our cars though their running costs are lower. They do take care of their cars. At least changing engine oil. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 Speaking from experience, if you take care your car properly, engine should last 5-7 years before next overhaul. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie July 30, 2004 Share July 30, 2004 5-7 yrs seems a bit too short leh. milege maybe still below 150k ? gear box can tahan more than 200k at least for auto. manual lagi better. juz a figure here, anyone can confirm? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Normal_aspirated Clutched July 31, 2004 Share July 31, 2004 Mine old Fiat before being scrapped, I remember the last overhaul was 7 to 8 years ago. The engine was still very good and powderful. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 From my impression from various sources, Jap cars seems to last longer than European or American make. For Korean cars, there's nothing to say coz their engine doesn't last... Just wondering if I am correct? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Jap cars seems to last longer than European or American make. do you conclude based on the number of COE/old cars of jap made vs the rest? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 (edited) nope, info from ah-beng mechanics, info read from forums as well as, also the no. of COE cars on the road. For one, I heard that the Renault Clio (COE models) have some problems. Edited August 2, 2004 by Hoppe Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Under Singaporean driving conditions (lots of short distance drives, with occassional N-S adventures), until what mileage (kms) can a typical engine work up to before needing an overhaul? An overhaul can only lasts about 50kms, the last time I've heard. Is this correct? I have seen cars in Msia going with 500K mileage and still moving?! Owners say no overhaul whatsoever. Is he lying? Msian cars travel longer distances (many times more!) than Spore cars due to the land size and also traffic. Any bro has experiences to share? My uncle has a 1980 Subaru Stationwagon in MY that is still going with its original parts in 2002. Recently thrown away .... cause of bad rusting , otherwise ... its still in drivable conditions Thats almost a 24 yr old car with ..... endless mileage on it .... 4wd on road and off road Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 wow maybe manufacturers nowadays purposely make inferior products to reduce life-span. This is to encourage consumer to change and buy new products. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 i suppose part of it is true, part of it is caused by perception. i think jap engines are reliable....probably the earlier generations of contis less reliable.... word gets spread around like wildfire and now it seems the gospel truth. but went i go australia, old cars come in all makes...so alto i do believe jap cars are slightly more reliable, i am not incline to believe that it is so much more reliable....i am incline to believe part of such reliability is propagated through popular opinion and hearsay. tell u one thing, that day i saw a SFJ Honda Jazz being towed away. i have nothing against that car..but isn't honda and toyota the most reliable jap brand..but why do i see such a new jazz being towed away? unless i am so lucky as to see a repo man at work. my pt is, in singapore, opinion is too swayed towards the jap cars. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 maybe car towed away due to different issues, ie tyre puncture, etc? BTW, I stay in a condo where there any many continental cars from Jag, Benz to Porsche, BMWs. I am seeing lots of service vans lately..hehe (especially for Jags). Recently I saw a record of at least 5 of such vans for Jags. A couple more for BMWs. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 Cant disagree there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged August 2, 2004 Share August 2, 2004 haha....like i say, if its towed away for such reason, then i must be damn lucky lor.. then again, i don't label jags and bmws as contis/americanos.....they are more like luxury cars to me..... like i say again, i do believe jap car are more reliable....but i don't really agree that the reliablity when compared heads on is so one sided in favour of jap car......part of it is through hearsay turn to make-believe propogated for 2-3 decades. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hoppe Clutched August 2, 2004 Author Share August 2, 2004 furthermore, continental engines are very difficult (design different with lots of computerised stuffs) for normal beng mechs to repair or service. But Ah Beng's full of pride, cannot repair also must say can. The more they try to service, the more damage they do for the engines. Maybe that's the reason why continental cars don't last in Spore. Ppl buy them and cannot afford to send them to authorised repair shops, and instead opt for Beng shops. No problem in short term but for long term alot of problems crop up. This may be the cause of reduced engine lifespan... just a thought. For Jap cars, any dick and harry mech can attend to repairs/service. No need to send to authorised places once warranty period expires. Easier maintanences lead to longer engine life? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...