Recommendation of wheel alignment workshop

Bfmstg

40 minutes ago, Chogokin said:

@Beregond I did saw them secure the steering wheel when doing the adjustment. But what about they bring 2 spanner when drive out to test drive? Mean they will abit of fine adjustment on the road without secure the steering wheel? 

Yesyerday kana 2 pot holes at the same spot. Steering like out abit again. Went to Peoples Auto again. After the computer alightment test, they drove out to test. After that hand over to me say ok liao. I drove back on highway abit pull to left so steering wheel need to tilt to the right alittle bit to get it straight. Do a U-turn go back to them. They test drive and then do a manual adjustment with 2 spanner without using computer alightment. I reckon should be ok right.  

i DIY the 2 spanner alignment too. you need to know that wheel alignment is done static. meaning wheels straight and steering straight. however when traveling on the road due to the wear of the tire as well as slant of the road, this original alignment may or may not work.

Thus typically what can be done if a slight tilt is observed driving on what one considers a flat and straight road, then adjust the tie rods equally on both sides can make the steering straight. sometimes the adjustment is so very slight 1/8 to 1/6 turn of the tie rod.  lazy workshops will do only one side for the "manual adjustment" you will get that very slight toe in, but it is still within specs.

I typically DIY the manual adjustment myself after getting them to do the alignment.

At Kenny Alignment, i always have to do this manual adjustment over the few cars that i have aligned there. in the end i got tired of this and started to look around for other shops without the need for this. Tried Soon Huat alignment at toh guan also the similar and price even more ex. Charged me $70-80 for just front toe alone.

about 2 years back did my alignment after suspension change at Stamford tyre Kaki bukit. and surprised that it drove straight without the need to align again. but i must say this was on a different car then before. I redid the alignment at Stamford Kaki bukit a few months back and also no need to manual align. will try out with other cars next time at Stamford. 

Edited by Mkl22

5 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

Charged me $70-80 for just toe alone.

this is expensive. u drive branded??😁

i think now the market rate about 50-60  for front toes in /out😅

Edited by Beregond

9 minutes ago, Beregond said:

this is expensive. u drive branded??😁

i think now the market rate about 50-60  for front toes in /out😅

Nope. Bread butter. That’s why cursed and swore and never will go back. 

41 minutes ago, Beregond said:

if they bring 2 spanner go out test drive, mean they making sure your steering wheel is straight ( which is good, very few ws willing to do that )

the big spanner is to loosen and tighten , the smaller spanner is to ajust.

( straight got 2 meaning , what i mean by straight is, when your car is going straight on a straight road, your steering wheel is straight or flush)

another straight which alot of driver ask for is car is going straight on a straight road, steering wheel is straight plus let go of steering wheel, car still can go straight)            

why they need to fine tune for first example i quote? some time car got accident before, the chassis is loose etc etc when they set the steering wheel on the machine , your car body is loose. but when u drive , the chassis tighten and in some cases will cause  the steering wheel to be slanted

the 2nd example i quote, no matter how the mech try to ajust your toe in and toe out, its not going to help. there are many factor that cause a pulling effect of the car to left or right. 

" straight got 2 meaning , what i mean by straight is, when our car is going straight on a straight road, your steering wheel is straight or flush" I try also but after some distance still need to tilt alittttle biiiiit left or right to keep straight ( thou not immed). 

I try this jus now ,car is going straight on a straight road, steering wheel is straight plus let go of steering wheel, car still can go straight after the adjustment and I try on KJE after CCK which is jus relay with new asphlat. Jus some road that i try with car straight , steering wheel straight then let go , it will take awhile slowly slowly slowly drift to the left . I think its base on how level on the road. So i think is fine. as long not those that Steering wheel straight but car drift to left type....then need to tilt abit to the right to keep straight. 

I was reading it up again , and was mention " secure steering wheel before doing adjustment on the steering wheel. " part. That why i wonder when they do a manual adjustment is it ok.  Noted on your Fine tune for the first example u quote. Learn a lesson today. 

Edited by Chogokin

4 minutes ago, Chogokin said:

I try this jus now ,car is going straight on a straight road, steering wheel is straight plus let go of steering wheel, car still can go straight after the adjustment and I try on KJE after CCK which is jus relay with new asphlat. Jus some road that i try with car straight , steering wheel straight then let go , it will take awhile slowly slowly slowly drift to the left . I think its base on how level on the road. So i think is fine. as long not those that Steering wheel straight but car drift to left type....then need to tilt abit to the right to keep straight.   I was reading it up again , and was mention " secure steering wheel before doing adjustment on the steering wheel. " part. That why i wonder when they do a manual adjustment is it ok.  Noted on your Fine tune for the first example u quote. Learn a lesson today. 

from what u describe your car after alignment is perfectly fine. our road are all slanted to the left for water to flow. its normal after a while will start to pull left. unless u go lim chu kang there test 

they do the manual ajustment is extra service. , they bring the spanner out dun mean they ajust, is just in case nia.

u see the part u mention secure steering wheel before doing ajustment, sometime the mech cock eyes, when they secure the steering wheel, they didnt put it in a perfectly straight position. its only responsible that they go and test drive. 

36 minutes ago, Mkl22 said:

i DIY the 2 spanner alignment too. you need to know that wheel alignment is done static. meaning wheels straight and steering straight. however when traveling on the road due to the wear of the tire as well as slant of the road, this original alignment may or may not work.

Thus typically what can be done if a slight tilt is observed driving on what one considers a flat and straight road, then adjust the tie rods equally on both sides can make the steering straight. sometimes the adjustment is so very slight 1/8 to 1/6 turn of the tie rod.  lazy workshops will do only one side for the "manual adjustment" you will get that very slight toe in, but it is still within specs.

I typically DIY the manual adjustment myself after getting them to do the alignment.

At Kenny Alignment, i always have to do this manual adjustment over the few cars that i have aligned there. in the end i got tired of this and started to look around for other shops without the need for this. Tried Soon Huat alignment at toh guan also the similar and price even more ex. Charged me $70-80 for just front toe alone.

about 2 years back did my alignment after suspension change at Stamford tyre Kaki bukit. and surprised that it drove straight without the need to align again. but i must say this was on a different car then before. I redid the alignment at Stamford Kaki bukit a few months back and also no need to manual align. will try out with other cars next time at Stamford. 

Thought Kenny will do manual adjustment also . I did saw him bring 2 spanner also when go test drive.... 

8 minutes ago, Beregond said:

from what u describe your car after alignment is perfectly fine. our road are all slanted to the left for water to flow. its normal after a while will start to pull left. unless u go lim chu kang there test 

they do the manual ajustment is extra service. , they bring the spanner out dun mean they ajust, is just in case nia.

u see the part u mention secure steering wheel before doing ajustment, sometime the mech cock eyes, when they secure the steering wheel, they didnt put it in a perfectly straight position. its only responsible that they go and test drive. 

"they do the manual ajustment is extra service. , they bring the spanner out dun mean they ajust, is just in case nia." True also .

" sometime the mech cock eyes, when they secure the steering wheel, they didnt put it in a perfectly straight position." Ya i also think so.

21 minutes ago, Chogokin said:

Thought Kenny will do manual adjustment also . I did saw him bring 2 spanner also when go test drive.... 

he does. but i'm fussy. rather adjust it at my pleasure to my liking. i carry a set of spanners in the car after an alignment to adjust after i have traveled over the typical roads i use to test. then depending on how much the steering tilts then adjust 1/8 or 1/6 urn or as necessary on both left and right tie rods to keep the zero toe set on the alignment machine.

try rotating the tires after you find the that steering is straight and to your liking. you might then find out the steering will tilt again to go straight.  this is one clear example that the wear on the tires and its construction does affect.

Maybe you learn how to DIY...? hahaha

Edited by Mkl22

Do you guys do periodic alignment?  Recently hit a big pothole but vehicle is not pulling to one side but feel it is less stable overall.  Not sure if it is psychological. 

17 minutes ago, Voodooman said:

Do you guys do periodic alignment?  Recently hit a big pothole but vehicle is not pulling to one side but feel it is less stable overall.  Not sure if it is psychological. 

dun need. unless u buang up a kerb or pothole or replace undercarriage. 

sometime u feel abit not straight, because of uneven wear of tyres. 80% of sg cars got this issue due to going up and down mscp.

instead of doing alignment non stop. do  periodic cross rotation instead

6 hours ago, Mkl22 said:

Have been doing at Soon Huat. So far so good, except they like to swap left and right wheels and mess up the TPMS! 

10 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

Have been doing at Soon Huat. So far so good, except they like to swap left and right wheels and mess up the TPMS! 

WHY mess up TPMS ? you can easily re set them in your car instrument panel, if after market the shop or seller have a Handheld synchronize gadget within 1 min . 

1 minute ago, Roberttan said:

WHY mess up TPMS ? you can easily re set them in your car instrument panel, if after market the shop or seller have a Handheld synchronize gadget within 1 min . 

Let me ask Shopee to synchronise.... 

13 hours ago, Beregond said:

dun need. unless u buang up a kerb or pothole or replace undercarriage. 

sometime u feel abit not straight, because of uneven wear of tyres. 80% of sg cars got this issue due to going up and down mscp.

instead of doing alignment non stop. do  periodic cross rotation instead

you are right that we have World class road , so long one did not  hit and hard impact or replacing any suspension component will not require to do alignment .being driving for last 40 plus years( 6 cars and 3 trucks) only done alignment 2 time because of Shock absorber replacement . 

10 hours ago, Volvobrick said:

actually swapping left and right is a good habit.

alot of our cars got external wear on the front left.

its ok even if all the 4 tpms is mix up. as long as it give u warning when low pressure. 

the tyre shop can easily detect which 1 is leaking. 

2 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Let me ask Shopee to synchronise.... 

i am very that should be a way to do it, Shopee ? online portal is only middle party that provide you lower cost and convenient so no after sales support.

that is why product need after sales support i usually go to shop that can support locally. just my thought No offence  Sorry.