User12343 Clutched October 6, 2002 Share October 6, 2002 there's this type of gadget that's installed in (possibly) high-perf cars that once you off the ignition and leave the car, the engine will still continue to run for a moment b4 it shuts itself down. any brudders know what i'm tokking about? what's that? and what does it do? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke 3rd Gear October 6, 2002 Share October 6, 2002 its called a Turbo Timer. Mainly used in turbo cars to allow the engine oil to continue circulating and cool down the turbo, not doing so the intense heat may cook the engine oil. But lately, many NA cars also install it purely for the poser value. Not necessary for NA cars, you just have to drive a little gentler just before reaching your destination. Even after hard gunning, I'll just let the engine idle a minute or two before shutdown (best time to enjoy a fag). Unless you are driving a turbocharged car, its a waste of money and petrol getting such gadgets... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 6, 2002 Share October 6, 2002 eh... me not poser lar... just like the looks of it and the function of cooling down the engine b4 shutting down besides, my turbo timer doubles up as a volt meter, a/f meter and O2 meter "In normally aspirated cars, the Auto Timer can also be used to warm/cool the inside of the car without having to sit inside. " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric Neutral Newbie October 6, 2002 Share October 6, 2002 Ya, I heard of people using this to leave the aircon on when they need to lock up the car and go off for a short while. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke 3rd Gear October 7, 2002 Share October 7, 2002 haha....well its your money, and you are free to do what you want with it. whatever floats your boat, man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 7, 2002 Share October 7, 2002 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charade993 Neutral Newbie October 10, 2002 Share October 10, 2002 Hi, on top of cooling down purpose, i would normally use the timer during warm-up, lock the car and get some coffee at the shop beside my hse. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 10, 2002 Share October 10, 2002 which turbo timer are you using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charade993 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 some old HKS model. Only timer function available. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 when u say u use the timer to warm up the car ..and then lock it and get coffee... which would mean when u come back...you will have to start the engine again? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Charade993 Neutral Newbie October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 Oh, actually no need lah cos the coffee shop just beside my house and i can set max 10mins on the timer... normally it takes me only 5-6mins to be back. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightspeed Clutched October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 hahaha... cool should try that next time Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitehawk Neutral Newbie October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 eeerrr...well.....may not all NA car using turbo timer are poser.....as super charger or stoker kit kind would need to cool-dwn too.but do agree that more are for poser value then real intention. but that a good sign too.cos too many poser..who would bother abt a real 1....wahahaha... :p -so de next time u saw a turbo timer on a NA car....dun label it off as a poser...who knws..there may be a monster sitting beside u.... :p its called a Turbo Timer. Mainly used in turbo cars to allow the engine oil to continue circulating and cool down the turbo, not doing so the intense heat may cook the engine oil. But lately, many NA cars also install it purely for the poser value. Not necessary for NA cars, you just have to drive a little gentler just before reaching your destination. Even after hard gunning, I'll just let the engine idle a minute or two before shutdown (best time to enjoy a fag). Unless you are driving a turbocharged car, its a waste of money and petrol getting such gadgets... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitehawk Neutral Newbie October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 there's this type of gadget that's installed in (possibly) high-perf cars that once you off the ignition and leave the car, the engine will still continue to run for a moment b4 it shuts itself down. any brudders know what i'm tokking about? what's that? and what does it do? the device is a "turbo-timer" which in layman term. a delay device which enable the engine running with the keys out & alarm ON. there are a few brands & each had different special function on it too.Apexi had a A/F display build-in & Auto mode timer while HKS are a simple set & 4get (fixed value),Pivot can even see amount of KM traveled & different color background while SpecR Huge LCD display is a cool Plus. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke 3rd Gear October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 if the car you mentioned has a supercharger, then its not NA liao....its an FI car. even if it has a supercharger, its still not necessary for a Turbo Timer, unless the supercharger is oil cooled or water cooled. Like I've mentioned, even high compression NA cars do not really need a turbo timer, unless you have the habit of shutting down the engine immediately after bouncing off the rev-limiter. Even if you gun hard all the time, I'm sure by the time you reach home you would have slowed down sufficiently for the engine to cool down. I sure you don't drive into your carpark at 9000rpm, powershifting and wheelspinning at every gearchange... p.s. I ain't afraid of no monsters, bring it on! The real monster NA cars in SG are mostly sleepers.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitehawk Neutral Newbie October 11, 2002 Share October 11, 2002 (edited) wahahaha....but it still a NA model yet?and when it park..would u knw?wahahaha... bring it on?...wahahaha..u sure? *oh ya.u dun need to be at 9K RPM....it startes from 3K.....wahahaha.... :p cheers Edited October 11, 2002 by Nitehawk Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slowpoke 3rd Gear October 12, 2002 Share October 12, 2002 (edited) I don't want to split hairs with ya, but... FI = Forced Induction (Turbocharged and Supercharged) NA = Normally Aspirated (anything that does not have a turbocharger or supercharger) so how can you claim that a car with a Supercharger still an NA car? I guess you still don't get my point that unless you always redline your engine even when driving into your carpark and shut it down immediately, a turbo timer is not really necessary. "...*oh ya.u dun need to be at 9K RPM....it startes from 3K.....wahahaha.... :p " I don't know how that above statment helps in your arguement, but at least now we know that you start boosting at 3k rpm... anyway, I have no right to stop anyone from installing a turbo timer on their beloved ride, regardless whether FI or NA car, they are free to do anything they want, but that doesn't change my opinion one bit... good day to you Edited October 12, 2002 by Slowpoke Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nitehawk Neutral Newbie October 12, 2002 Share October 12, 2002 wahahaha...wat can i say?....tis tread was abt "turbo timer" been sighted. and de post i reply to was base on a general view that "if a turbo timer was fix on a NA model car".it may not be a Poser value.the core of this dicussion is that.not S/c is FI or NA.that completely another issue. it either my england was too lousy..my apologies or u had de wrong idea. *different ppl different stoke.no comment need to be force-feed.but if alt-opinion are not acceptable then.there is no meaning to carry on. *knowing wat it means & does is a thing.been there done that is another. have a nice weekend.i knw i had a wonderful track day. :) ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...