Help needed on sub woofer

Sparetyre

Greetings,

I would like to know whether OZ Audio is a good brand for sub woofer?

I am new to this brand and would like to know how does it (maybe the low end model) compare to Cerwin Vega HED single voice coil series?

Thanks in advance.

For subs....take a look at its magnet will sort of tell you what to expect from its performance. If its a small puny magnet,dun expect earth shattering performance.

The best is to use your ears to determine the sound.

Cerwin Vega are a reputable brand and you can seldom go wrong. Other brands of subs that you can take a look are Kicker, Infinity.

Hi!

Thanks for your advise.

I had gotten the OZ Audio 12" woofer with an enclosure.

Need another advise though. [blush] (Buy you kopi can?)

My boot is pretty well insulated (my back seats are not those foldable type). As a result, what I am getting is 3rd order bass (this means bass is transferred to the cabin, there is no direct opening into the cabin).

Question is, should I open an opening on the back speaker shelf to get a 2nd order bass? I know this is rather subjective but what is the normal practice?

Thanks in advance.

If your boot is well insulated best bet would be to open up the rear parcel shelf to let the sound into your cabin.

No hard and fast rule, but most installers would open a whole on the pacel shelf to let the sound in.

CH,

That OZ can produce some real happening bass. Ur problem now is the amp cannot really get the full potential. I have installed some others W/ OZ and the bass can go real deep and bang hard-hard. Our friend Duh from ICE Forum just fitted, should take a listen to his.

No offence to Ghostie but magnet size is not the measure of a subs performance for in-car listening bass response performance. Eg same brand MTX 5000 normal sice magnet can easily bang out great sub and bass, but MTX 7000 or 8000 huge magnet even W/ super-powderful amp gonna have problem to achieve. Other egs. Kicker Impulse I guarantee the best in-car loud and controlled bass response compared to it's heavier magnet brothers. CDT sub also got moderately sized magnet but can also perform. Cerwin Vega super performer Vega series got magnet on the heavy side but nothing compared to some of the others in the market W/ super duper heavy ones. But in-car SQ sub and outside car blasting very few can fight.

AutoS

I thought no one would be answering to this thread... [;)]

And it actually got answered by the expert.... [cool]

Dun get me wrong, I am very very satisfied with the OZ. [:)] And I do understand it is the amp thing. But what to do? Need to save up for a new one lah....

Maybe will go for the Autotek or the Helix (have you sold it?).... but need to either sell away the current one or wait for it to kaput first.... [crazy]

OZ in Urs sounds OK. W/ a good amp will sound a lot better. Even Ur mids also not fulfilling potential becuz of same reason.

Helix 4ch sold. Only got the 5ch one left over. Autotek got to buy new.

AutoS, where is your shop ??

I am using Helix for my 4 doors... and infinity for my woofer.

ONly my AMPS drive the woofer..

Cool,

I'm at 5 Joo Chiat Place. Tel 6398-0486 / 97870213. Come down let me look see then can give accurate suggestions. Consultation is free.

AutoS

Thanks will do..

Suggest that MCF comes together ..

I am pretty fine with my sysem but probably want to install another amp for my 4 speakers.. sometime later when I got the $$$$.

thanks. [laugh]

OZ in Urs sounds OK. W/ a good amp will sound a lot better. Even Ur mids also not fulfilling potential becuz of same reason.

Helix 4ch sold. Only got the 5ch one left over. Autotek got to buy new.

Arrrggggghhhhhhh...... [:/] Too bad lah... no $$$ leh... [crazy]

I was thinking about this when I was in the gym:

To cut cost, what if I just get a 2CH amp to drive the OZ sub? Then use the existing 4CH amp to bridge to 2CH and drive the front comp. What do you think???

CH,

Problem W/ gettin a separate 2ch amp can do will solve Ur sub, but using the same 4 ch 4 mid. Also 4ch bridged to 2ch stereo got more power but not all amps can do it and even those which can may end up W/ more messy signal.

AutoS

any website for this OZ audio thingy??? izzit the same brandname as OZ rims???

Greetings,

I would like to know whether OZ Audio is a good brand for sub woofer?

I am new to this brand and would like to know how does it (maybe the low end model) compare to Cerwin Vega HED single voice coil series?

Thanks in advance.

Bro,

OZ rim is OZ rim and OZ Audio is a very specialized car audio manufacturer. Not like Momo steering wheel and rims suddenly get pple to OEM car audio tambah their brand name. OZ specialized in-house R&D and production much like Image Dynamics.

Been ard 4 awhile, B4 distributed by Nation Audio who also do other hi-end specialty brands like Blade and Zapco etc.

Can see from website Sparetyres post.

AutoS

Edited by AutoS

Ur single OZ sub already in an ideal enclosure. When U hook up a decent amp then U will see how shiok this sub can perform. One single 12" one of the best I've heard, don't let the plain looks and modest magnet size fool U.

Finally experienced Soluna's ICE liow..... [cool] Can feel the air movement in the cabin caused by the sub. My hair was actually jumping up and down... [:p]

I was thinking of calling you.... want to have an amp to feel like Soluna's... [blush]

Drool everytime I think about it.... [blush]

any website for this OZ audio thingy??? izzit the same brandname as OZ rims???

No, they are different. I think the website is http://www.ozaudio.com.

Good site, especially OZ Girls.