Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 my FC where got good? i get average +-400km when reach 'E', that comsumed around 38-40l , equal 10km/l. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 I use RON92. It can take RON92 but just don't go pushing the car beyond 120kph which is around 4k RPM. Engine will work very hard to prevent detonation and vibrate like hell. Hell! I think the vibration I experienced is detonation! Let it settle to the next tank and see. Tell the engineers at SA. Should get you to demo the next time I seat in your car sia!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 How to demo? I need a long runway for this. Mind you, she performs better in the high end. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultraman Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 At least you can hit 400km. Mine only hit 370km at best, when the needle reach the "E" mark. The refuel light have not come on though Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 the long stretch of wide flat road at jalan bahar, beside tenga airbase? that's if no TP is around... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 Forget it. I'd rather go up north. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 Maybe one night after meet up something! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 I cannot beat the Starlets on take off. All of them just zooms off. But when cruising at 90 and for me to drop to 4th and take them out is easy. Robin saw the action when he was following me and I was playing catch up on the Starlet that is now sold. Robin was very surprised at the surge the Aveo has 3k RPM and up. Well, now we know it is 4.8k RPM for the VGIS to kick in. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 Hmmmz... Next time remember to jio me when the Starlet guys meet up k? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 your aveo still runin bro, let see few tank more. u will learn how to adjust your driving style to make the best performance out of your aveo on the way. that what i believe, get to know more about you car is v important. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ultraman Neutral Newbie July 12, 2004 Share July 12, 2004 From my personal observations, Toyota engines are usually biased towards low and mid range torque. This gives the car a good pickup and very nimble during stop-and-go city driving. Disadvantage is the torque curve begins to drop sharply once it reach high mid (beyond 4000rpm). Many Toyota owners who do not know about this characteristic thinks their machine can "makan" everyone else, that is until they kana "makan" by N16s on the highway, which has good mid and high range torque. So what Genie47 shared is a very familiar scenario. Our Aveo's engine is also mid and high rev type. So while we cannot win the Toyotas during the initial launch, we can surely catch up and even OT them once we get up to speed. It also depends on whether the driver knows how to maximise the use of the "sweet spot" of his engine's rev range. During my initial testing, the torque starts to pickup around 2800rpm. It peaks at 3600rpm, and begins to bleed off around 4200rpm. I dint go beyond 4500rpm as my engine has only done 2K+ km, and is still running in. But the torque is quite weak above 4200rpm, and it took some time to rev up to 4500rpm. Hypothetically I believe there should be another torque peak somewhere in the 5000rpm range, once the VGIS switches over to the shorter intake at 4800rpm. Not sure can Genie47 verify my hypothesis, since you have oredi experienced revving till redline? Oh btw I have nothing against Toyotas. In fact my previous car is a Toyota, and I love that car. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 I've redlined till the rev cut kicked in. Yes above 4.2k, weak. Took me some time to reach 174 from 150 on the E3. This is on 5th gear. Can't feel the torque from 5k onwards. Feels the same when I whacked on 1st, 2nd and 3rd. But 4th is a different matter, this is the gear to push to 175. Just sort of keeps going and going. The Toyota E-series are 12V SOHC engines. This made them very powerful even on a carburetted setup. The 16V 4E-FTE is not a different creature. It is a monster! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Arah Neutral Newbie July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 So its seems that Kalos/Aveos 1.5s will kick ass for the first few lampost and the Aveos 1.4s will start to kick ass for the last few lampost. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 let our power combine.... sure chiak all other cars! hahaha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 But do feel better drive after 5k service, change to 10W30 oil last friday. quiter when idle, lesser scream when at high touqe. FC still under monitoring, need finish few tank 1st. mine still useing mineral oil.... 20w50...5k scv yday... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sgrac3r Neutral Newbie July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 why? no time get RP from Tarence? i very happy with the oil. my aveo run smooth vroom vroom! now monitor the FC. can foresee that will be better, but not much. but dino oil should be ok, good protection for new car. i change to syn oil cause try to squeez extra km. try my luck, hope it don't wear too much. some said RP got thinner problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zacer Clutched July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 (edited) got ask Suhaimi, tech guy from SA if can change to syn oil. he say better to run in more milrage first. I feel engine more smooth and quite after the scv dunno what they DO. NV go supervise them!![:p]my FC ard 10-11km okie for auto. need to ask ur brudder 1 qns. 1k scv at 1 k. 5k scv at 1k+ 5k Y 10k scv at 6k+5K? my current milrage ar 6K next 10k at 11K. oso some of you have notice 1 of the dealers in SA have a nice AVeO HB with nice front lower body kits and side door moulding.mentioned by tien earlier in other threads. that guy told me he did in in Johor. din bother to ask $$ as I dun even go up noRth. Edited July 13, 2004 by Zacer Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tien Neutral Newbie July 13, 2004 Share July 13, 2004 JB.... i seldom go there... but the front lower body kit is indeed nice ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...