Cannotmakeit Neutral Newbie July 5, 2004 Share July 5, 2004 (edited) A close friend related this unhappy,undesirable and unfair experience to me.Really freak ed the hell out of me. Someone hit his new toyota vios from behind(obviously NOT his fault) so he go ahead to claim the other party insurance but when he reported to his own insurance,he was told that they do not do 3rd party claim & suggested he claim his own insurance 1st,then get all relevant documents and claim back from the other party insurance(to be done all by himself).As this is the 1st time he dealt with such situation,he got no choice but to follow suggestion,in the end was only able to claim back the access amt he had paid (abt $400-access of his own comprehensive policy) from the other party insurance company.Now since he had made a claim against his OWN insurance,he lost his NCD & higher premium next time. Some even suggest that he should get a lawyer to write a letter to the other party insurace to fight for the claim but too risky if he were to do that,becoz he might end up gaining nothing and still got to pay for legal fees-not worth at all. This is a clear cut case-NOT his fault,if happened few yrs ago,no problem at all,never heard of such thing as "we dun do 3rd party claim". Now seemed that not his fault but in the end he become the victim-lost NCD and pay higher premium. Can someone advise on this? Any solution ? why why why??? Edited July 5, 2004 by Cannotmakeit ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wankie Clutched July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 Hmmm, i'm also interested to know why. Seems like car insurance is getting to be something of a joke in SGP now when the insurance companies are not even willing to provide the service that they are supposedly paid for. BTW which is your friend's insurance company? Maybe you can get him to ask the insurance company to explain why he needs to go through all the hassle by himself? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 your friend's insurance company cannotmakeit lah..... er....sori, i dun mean you....i mean the ins company. i'm interested to know this company oso...muz blacklist!!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 I'd be very interested to know the company Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 pay so much for premiums, for so low a coverage and yet cannot make a claim.. someone better explain this in the press... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kardachia Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 read already oso angry. Got such things as dun want to provide 3rd party claim service one meh? Pay so high premium, if nothing happens, they earn the money for doing nothing due to our careful driving. If accident happens (not that we like it to happen), they should at least provide the service for the premium we paid. So angry, must go listen to some soothing song to cool down...how about "Unclaimed Melody"....Ohh.h.... my car.....it...kena ...accident...and cannot claim.....my ...car...oh...mine..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 hahaha I read oso sim buay tahan.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
DarkLord 1st Gear July 6, 2004 Share July 6, 2004 Tell us the company name lahz!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cannotmakeit Neutral Newbie July 6, 2004 Author Share July 6, 2004 Seen someone discussed abt company which does not do 3rd party claim b4,but cannot rem which forum/topic. When my friend claim his own insurance,he need not go thru that what inspection centre leh. Today I ask another person abt this case,he say most of the time must claim own insurance 1st,den after both party insurance company investigation is over,and concluded that not your fault,den they will refund back all outstanding $$$ your had paid ,including NCD and higher premium,but I juz listen lor,oso dunno true or not. Another headache problem here,for example my car still under agent warranty,any repair jobs will have to be done by agent service center/or authorised workshop,and NOT any outside workshop,if not,they can void my warranty. But let say I involved in an accident,and I want to claim from the other party,but the other party's insurance company will only take my car to its OWN authorised workshop(which does NOT include my agent service center/authorised workshop).then what am I supposed to do? Go ahead claim = my warranty void = die, if dun claim = pay myself = oso die. can something like this happen?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Virus 2nd Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 [reply] Tell us the company name lahz!! Yalor ! If not convenient to review the full name then tell us the first character and number of characters can liow. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mavvy Clutched July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 If somebody whack my car ass and I cannot claim... I bet I shoot to ST reporters immediately... refuse to pay claims and have NCD cleared with higher premiums.. Basically sucking our monies and not doing their work. Did IDAC come into picture ? Never heard you mentioned anything liddat.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 It is so very simple, in the first place, bring the car to the agent since it is under warranty, and ask the agent to claim the other party insurance for repair and also get a car from the agent to drive while it is under repair. Any other worry forward it to your lawyer for proceedings. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lebonchi 1st Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Hi I also had my "behind" bump before, and it is totally not my fault...however my experience is different. I first went to idac..and went to authorised workshop...star automotive. Fom there, all paper work and claims were done by Star for me, Star do the repair and claim it from the other party insurance without my insurance company or my involvement. But the catch is that if the other party is to counter claim, I will have to pay Star the repair amount and contest the claim on my own. The correspondence between Star and the other party insurance company were CC to me to keep me updated. I had also called up my insurance company but they say that since it is not my fault, I would have to claim from the other party and only inform them of the outcome. Luckily for me, i managed to get a workshop that do all the paper work for me. And yes i do claim totally from the other party. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lufu 1st Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 I also had the same situation, but mine was even better, there is a clause that says if STAR cannot made the claim from 3rd party successfully, I have to pay them the repair. On my demand, because mine was a clear cut case, where the Taxi hit my back, the manager cancelled out that clause for me and counter signed on it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Guyver 1st Gear July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 Call the guy that bang and ask for the insurance company... and then ask the claims department what he need to produce to get the claim.... this should work liao... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zrun Neutral Newbie July 7, 2004 Share July 7, 2004 (edited) A close friend related this unhappy,undesirable and unfair experience to me....in the end was only able to claim back the access amt he had paid (abt $400-access of his own comprehensive policy) from the other party insurance company. ...Now seemed that not his fault but in the end he become the victim-lost NCD and pay higher premium. I think you better get the whole story straight from your friend. 1. The other party's insurance only paid him the excess $400. This means your friend paid ZERO out of pocket. And this also means the investigation is still in progress. 2. "pay higher premium" Is this the truth or just your friend's worries/prediction? As someone else has said, both insurance companies will need to decide who's at fault and get the problem resolved. If it is decided not to be your friend's fault, the at-fault insurance company will pay your friend's ins company directly, and the premium will NOT increase. Edited July 7, 2004 by Zrun Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lebonchi 1st Gear July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 Good for you actually recently when i get new car insurance, i make sure that star is in the authorized workshop. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Smiley Neutral Newbie July 8, 2004 Share July 8, 2004 if insurance are not doing all these, then why are they in existence? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...