Servicing for old car

Bluefreud

hi,

i know 5000km is std for servicing...

but i would like to know how far can i stretch before really really really need to go

for servicing.

b'cos my baby is going to turn 20 soon in 1 yr time.

so thinkin of just doin 1 more last servicing before sending to scrap

in next yr jun.

so if can save $, will be gd to save what i can.

i have already hit my 5000km.

thanks.

fei.

How often do u drive? I can hit 5k in 2 mths...Dun think 5k can last u till next year June. 5k is a rule of the thumb, but look for other signs like engine oil color nad roughness of the engine. Anyway if you are going to scrap, suggest, u can stretch it up to 7-8k if you so wish.

I had a suzuki, that i stretched to 9k....before scrapping...of cos you have to be VERY sure of what you want to dothumbsup.gif

sweatdrop.gifNo lah...considered average...my servicing intervals is every 25000km, thus, I only service once a year...thumbsup.gif

Normal la...it is the recommended interval for the car la..Merc has a 15k interval too.

But in our weather, I still do a half oil-drop, meaning at 12.5k, I change oil without resetting the 'service indicator'

what does that mean sir? my average mileage almost the same as urs. but based on my 10000km interval, i will be looking at least 3 times in a yr!! and that's a lot!!

hi,

thks for reply.

i also hit my 5k pretty fast, abt 2-3 mths 5k hit already.

so dun think i can last till next yr jun with just 1 servicing.

by the way, i get the impression from genie that servicing is just

oil change?

fei.

Spark plugs, oil and if you are having paper filter, change that as well.

Spark plugs if normal nickel-iron-copper types, every 10k. If you PM Vtim, he got special ones that last 100k. Not expensive.

Oil depends. If it is a long drain, 10k.

Paper filter, 10k. If you got K&N, just clean every 19k.

Every 30k, have your belts checked.

BTW, did you check the car's radiator? Toyota radiators screw themselves if not well looked after.

That means at 12.5k mileage, I still do an oil change, although PML says no need to, since the engines are robust enough to go the full 25k without changing oil. Thus, I spend $300 per year on servicing alone only. Thence, it brings to end another myth that BMWs are expensive to maintain

For ex, how much would it cost for a Corolla to be serviced?? I'd reckon arnd $200 each time and at 5k. This would effectively cost $1k a year?

am also considering to chg with AMSOIL next service. is that oil any gd and heard can last up till 20000km!

juz the man i'm looking for... bro... how gd seriously is the AMSOIL engine oil? im really really considering them...

Somehow, I would not risk it if I were you..hrather have peace of mind, IMO.

I rather spend that little extra on another servicing rather than getting the whole engine over-hauled, etc. Somehow for BMW too, there have been skeptics on this, but in so far as I have had my cars, the engines have always been tip-top regardless of whether I service at 10k, 15k or 25k. In my previous I even went 27k liao...rolleyes.gif

Amsoil is good. Any syn oil is good.

Mobil1 is good, so is Redline, Chemlube, Castrol SLX-A3, RP.

A lot out there. Just be careful of Shell Helix Ultra and the other Castrols.

im driving honda and requires the oil chg at 10000km interval. to me very jialat leh.... coz i can hit close to 3000km within a mth.....and that's only singapore road. somemore i like to cross over malaysia....lagi jialat.... i worry i come to 10000km in only 2.5mths!!! that time i really cry [bigcry][bigcry] . that's why looking at oil that is either good and cheap or expensive but can last the distance!

right now my honda engine uses shell helix.... my first time anyway with this oil. not had a gd feeling....that's why am seriously looking at other brands