Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 Hello Friends Any idea where I can find aftermarket small, red, momentary push buttons (2 pcs) horn buttons (if such exists). Intend to put them at the 3 and 9 o'clock position for thumb access. Thank you ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 What's car/steering wheel U using? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 (edited) Hello Mondeo Oops, I am still using the Civic's stock steering wheel. Find the horn very stiff, couldn't tap the horn lightly to politely alert pedestrains Thought having thumb horn buttons would allow fine control instead of blaring rudely. Edited March 1, 2002 by Hotwheelers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 For lower cost, U may check with those electronic equipment/accessories shops, eg. Sim Lim Sq 2/fl, they have different type of buttons, but I think must paste it on steering, and give longer wiring if equip with Airbag. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 Thank you In that case, have to look for a micro-switch to conceal on the steering wheel. Else it look like a Nintendo game pad... haha.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
WaLau Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 do take note that u have to place it in such a way that u will not accidentally press it while doing u-turn... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 Why dun just change the steeging wheel- momo got this ~ Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 *chuckles* will bear that in mind! another site to position the horn button would be on the dashboard... like a driving instructor's! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 sigh... my gf against the idea of any thing sporty, leh... (also, cos there is a driver airbag) if not, long long time already changed.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mondeo Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 gf? Girl fr. or Grandfa? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Share March 1, 2002 Another option is to wire up a pair of pushbuttons and place them at the back of the steering wheel at the 10 and 2 o'clock positions Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 wah pian... isn't it obvious??? my gf is my Grandfather lah.... (oops.... my girlfriend gonna kill me!) she jealous i doll-up my car, instead of doll-up her wardrobe.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 1, 2002 Author Share March 1, 2002 Idea man! That way, i can still keep the airbag & easier to conceal the shorten length of wire Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 2, 2002 Share March 2, 2002 Do be careful when removing the steering wheel cover and revealing the airbag. Safest bet is to disconnect the battery. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hotwheelers Neutral Newbie March 2, 2002 Author Share March 2, 2002 Yup, did read an DIY article somewhere b4 on disconnecting the battery 1st.... Thank you for your reminder! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Turbobrick Neutral Newbie March 2, 2002 Share March 2, 2002 Ur most welcome! Don't want the airbag to blow in ya face! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kiss29 Neutral Newbie December 27, 2006 Share December 27, 2006 I am also looking for a nice red button. So that I can add a new air horn on my car, to be used on those sturborn drivers around me. Anyone with details and costs? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...