Bleuzone 1st Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 Hi all...... I need help.... Maybe I'll tell U my story first. I think I'm one of the unlucky ppl who bought a lemon COE ESI Well, it started like this. I scrapped my car cus of high parf, and wanted to change to a cheap car. So I went car shopping (damm fun!) with my financial controller (my Dad). Well, my FC told me to get this ESI which I am driving (erm... actually I wish I could drive it) which turns out to be what u guys term it, lemon... So again, listening to my FC (cus I needed to take interest free Parent loan), I sent my car to his mech who did a overhual for 4K+ (engine, suspension, etc). If it went well then it would be ok, but it didn't. My my engine keeps overheating and according to my mech, it cus of my engine block cracked or something, and I need to do a complete overhual. So he advised it'll be better if I do a engine swap. Anyways, that's my story. I'm asking if any of u guys know a good and trustworthy mech who does Honda ESI cars. I'm thinking of dropping back the same engine, pref from Japan cus it's better. I not sure sure if I can trust locally recon engines. Anyway I've checked with Jeep Chee and they quoted me 2K+. Would appreciate if you guys have any other lobangs....... Do SMS or call me k? My number is 96543223. I need to do it urgently cus I hate to take busses... Thanks!!!!! I think I've spent enough $$$ and I'm trying to save now. So much for getting a cheap car! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 Hi, dun worry. You are not the only one who bought a lemon. It'll take some time to find a relatively good engine.. ask the scrapyard or mech to see if they can get one. My mech just did one.... on mine. Pretty good so far. Not sure if he can get one of your make and model. Took him awhile to find one from rising sun. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 perhaps you might want to do a warranty claim on the mech who overhauled your engine.. or at least get them to source for u another engine block. dun make sense for you to spend more after doing an overhaul. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Civic92 Neutral Newbie June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 just did mine also 2 months ago. Jap C-3, I also did a change on the support engine block as well as the arm booster. Very much more stable and quiet. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 Engine overhaul means dismantling of engine and renewal of pistons/rings/diameter and so on and so forth. It is this moment the mech should have found out if the engine block is cracked or not. It is absurd that after overhaul that the engine overheat. I think you should take the mech to task and ask for engine replacement free. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vidz 6th Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 (edited) firstly, I'm curious what was actually done with a 4k+ "overhaul"... tats alot of money!! and if after that overhaul, if problems still persist, have to get back to the mech for some "reasoning"... Edited June 25, 2004 by Vidz Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 be sure what kind of ovehaul yr mech did.. was it just a top overhaul or complete engine overhaul. Also surprised the mech din see the crack even after overhaulling. Sure can see oil spilling out or coolant level decreasing. Since it's yr FC's mech, maybe he can help talk to the mech.. to sort things out. Just paying another 2k to get another engine isn't the best of solutions., IMHO. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeobh 4th Gear June 25, 2004 Share June 25, 2004 (edited) What you have to do is to get yr mechanics to show you where is the leak. Overheating can be cause by present of air bubbles in the cooling system or low engine oil pressure. Get him to do a pressure test on the cooling system or a combustion leak down test to locate the leak. If he is able to carry out the tests then how on earth does he know that there is a leak ? Ps Looks like yr mechanics is having a on-the-job training at yr expense. Edited June 25, 2004 by Yeobh Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear June 25, 2004 Author Share June 25, 2004 Hi all, thanks for your response esp to civic92!! Just got back so I'm checking the msgs now. The previous 4K+ (actually close to 5K) was for a top overhual, radiator change, clutch change, rear brake caliper repair, etc. He's a experienced mech, but mostly deals with conti cars. I would recommand him for conti cars anytime as he did a good job on my dad's merc. Maybe he's lost touch with Jap cars. Anyways he feels quite bad too and is offering to drop in a 1.6 engine from Japan for ard 1.6K. It's the cheapest so far, so I'll think I'll let him do it. I hope it'll be ok after that. But I did learn a lesson from this. New cars may not be expensive after all....... Thanks for all yr help, maybe I can meet up wif u guys after my car's done ya! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hitman Neutral Newbie June 26, 2004 Share June 26, 2004 Better make sure he does all the proper paperwork with LTA for the transplant. Else you get into trouble with inspections. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 Better make sure he does all the proper paperwork with LTA for the transplant. Else you get into trouble with inspections. no need lar! just have to the 'identity' lor Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
En0203 2nd Gear June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 " " Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 (edited) great ! do keep us updated and informed of your progress. btw... are u paying extra 1.6k for a drop in ? u could do some checks and verify at what price is he intending to charge.. afterall, he's swiped 4k out of u. and after he's dropped in a new engine, what about your old one ?.. dun forget he's done some work on it too.. Edited June 28, 2004 by Ace_t Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vtim 3rd Gear June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 oh yes, serve the purpose Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ghostrider 3rd Gear June 28, 2004 Share June 28, 2004 I think you mean a top overhual rite ? Cos like many said here..if do overhaul liao still overheat...ask the mech to settle it and not you to crack your head. Its his problem. I guess its top overhaul cos you mentioned that you did suspension as well. (still very high if its a top overhaul only) 2K for a engine plus swap ? Not very cheap leh. You pay like 3K plus you can go JB find a halfcut liao. I would suggest that you dun look at the engine swap first...cos you buying a engine that you do not know the history. You might just come up with another lemon. Then you buy another engine liao you will still need to work on it...spending more money. Tell the mech that did your overhaul to get it done for you. If its not possible then dun go back to him anymore. You might want to check if AutoDynamac got the engine there or not....I saw a ESI block there some weeks ago...dunno if its still avaliable or not. 76459702. Look for Raymond. Dun dis a COEd car...remember...you can get parts at such low prices that new car can only envy. Scrap yards are your shopping centre....there are lots of stuffs to be found. JB has a tonne of scrapyard....last I ask....2K you can buy a B16A with manual gearbox....is that incentive enuff for you ? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear July 2, 2004 Author Share July 2, 2004 Hehhehe... Yes, it's incentive alright. That's the reason why I choose a COE car.... But then I was thinking, if I had a new car, I wouldn't have gotten all these problems in the first place....... Sigh.... Decisions decisions..... Anyways I did the engine already. Damage to my pickets - $0. Damage to my FC's pocket - $1,8K. My FC felt bad he recommanded me to his mech... The car's much better now. Pickup has improved, engine much quiter and responsive. I doubt this is a lemon engine. Can really tell the diff from my old one. I hope my fuel comp. inproves as well. I was getting 10L/Km for the old engine. I guess I can truly enjoy the wonders of a vtec engine now huh P.S: U r right, it was for a top overhual, altough strangely enuff when I sent my car in previously he quoted me that price for a complete overhual + suspension and all....... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie July 2, 2004 Share July 2, 2004 glad to hear that your problem is solved, altho your FC paid an additional 1.8k more. with your new found power, I doubt you'd get good fuel economy if you have HRF syndrome.. hehehehe. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bleuzone 1st Gear July 2, 2004 Author Share July 2, 2004 Hahhaha! No no...... I'm becoming a more cautious driver now cus I dun wanna worry my gf. But maybe on a quiet night, when the roads are empty, when I'm alone..... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...