K&N

O me driving VIOS, i get the correct part as compared to original DENSO filter. did not buy the cleaning kit either, just consider cleaning it up again and giving another try. So you know who sold me tat? got my personal mail? [:|]

Got the mail. I'm not a customer of theirs so can't comment. They don't advertise K&N on their website either so can't draw any useful conclusions on that one. Maybe you can borrow the cleaning kit from one of the bros here and give it a try but if it was brand new, I am doubtful that is the cause. I presume that the installation was done correctly! It's hard to screw up on that one. smile.gif

excellent, will DIY. thanks a million for your input :> you are driving? got fix ground wire, capsule n Denso iridum?engine oil - which brand you used? any best recommendation?

Nothing at all lah. I'm very cheapo one. Now using Unicorn which is the same base as Shell. Last time use Caltex Havoline. Actually all the engine oil feel about the same to me leh. In fact, with the current Unicorn brand, I'm getting 14km/l on the average. I just use whatever my mechanic for the current car is using (mechanic changes with car laugh.gif).

good thinking there, for better power i think use full synthic oil lah, but for FC normal ok loh. you believe or not , one of my friend can hit 16km/l , driving maunal VIOS, me change so many thing, can achieve only 14kml average :

yup....My K&N is new and it has not given me any probs at all...took it out last night 2 check it out and it was not dirty still

i also come to realise the importance of a good air filter.

when i was doing my 40k svc, they said my previous svc ppl gave me imitation ones that dont even fit the rite size of the compartment.... [furious][furious]

i am thinking of changing to K&N ones when doing my next svc.

wah lau...where u got 2 svc yr ride sia....nxt time dun go back to them lo....basket...I dislike this kind of ppl....K&N go get frm Mr loo at speekworks.....I'm sure all of u heard of him...he only charged me $80 for my filter....but it depends on cars lar....my friends airtrek turbo R's costs $110

still comtemplating abt changing to K&N leh. some got good feedback, others say stock one is better. guess i have to change and feel it for myself.

[;)]

bro...no leh...speedworks is a one man show....ask him liao...offer to pay...but he say he do not do heat shield leh....anyway...me bought the cone filter from him...DIy myself...think made a mess out of it..hahahahha....but everything in place...went for a spin....well....dun realli feel the extra power...throttle response may be a bit better....the car feels like before i install the cone leh...the induction sound oso not say very loud....(maybe i did something wrong???).....then there is this 'pssss pssss' sound whenever i open my valve to a certain rpm...is this normal???....or is there a small leak in the tube???? me ask McWell Ventures for quote.....offer 198 inclusive of installation for a SRI....got it at speedworks for 150....cheap cheap lah..no choice...ehehehehhe

about the top speed...me neber realli run lah....me onli both for like 2 weeks....wan to do some minor mod and condition te engine first befor run lah....or else wait run liao...engine drop out how???...hahahahahhaha....then traffic so much...where to run???

The psss psss sound is normal for Vtec lah.. as the cone filter then intro too much air to your engine and it needs to release it. How come you DIY? you got all the barang to secure it huh? I thought the best time to rev your car is b4 modded.. coz after that the engine might blow at top-speed... Exceed the factory default you see!!! [sly]