K&N

Alamak, if you are driving Honda's Vtec then I will have a lot to share with you... anyway K&N do improve throttle respond and acceleration. [thumbsup]

yo bro..me driving SIR...any gd pts to share wif me???...me gng to change to short ram cone filter from K&N...but speedworks say no come wif heat shield....anywhere can find one wif heat shield???.....

you can DIY your own heatshield wink.gifwink.gifwink.gif

[Capricorn] Re: K&N - NEW [in reply to] Reply

In Reply To

Alamak, if you are driving Honda's Vtec then I will have a lot to share with you... anyway K&N do improve throttle respond and acceleration.

================================================================================

===

Spdwork will do the heat shield if you request.. and pay more$$$. Btw, what's your top speed? I heard SIR is the fastest of Civic series..... [sly]

bro...no leh...speedworks is a one man show....ask him liao...offer to pay...but he say he do not do heat shield leh....anyway...me bought the cone filter from him...DIy myself...think made a mess out of it..hahahahha....but everything in place...went for a spin....well....dun realli feel the extra power...throttle response may be a bit better....the car feels like before i install the cone leh...the induction sound oso not say very loud....(maybe i did something wrong???).....then there is this 'pssss pssss' sound whenever i open my valve to a certain rpm...is this normal???....or is there a small leak in the tube???? me ask McWell Ventures for quote.....offer 198 inclusive of installation for a SRI....got it at speedworks for 150....cheap cheap lah..no choice...ehehehehhe

about the top speed...me neber realli run lah....me onli both for like 2 weeks....wan to do some minor mod and condition te engine first befor run lah....or else wait run liao...engine drop out how???...hahahahahhaha....then traffic so much...where to run???

Edited by Cyrix

with the current TP spy cars and road blocks Its not wise man....2 put yr license on the line...unless u know that road dun have one lar then diff case.... [sly]

bro...u rite...tt's y me dunno my top speed....only do occasional oovertaking...shiok shiok a little distance then slow to 90km/hr liao...hehhhehe

take a look at this K&N filter after only 3000km use..... Bascially oil is used for filteration, No douths it seems good just after install, but soon find my ECU requires/drawing more air in the morning(just start engine) then usual, the starting RPM shoot from 1800 to 2200.....(because air sensor kana oil from this filter) n it cost $80. hahaha now thrown into dustbin.

Now working on Capsule.........really good but how to reduce or shield the heat from engine. once capsule heats up........ air too heats up, FC sure goes higher..... still testing for best material to isoluate the heat.

post-8-1092027582_thumb.jpg

post-8-1092027583_thumb.jpg

post-8-1092027584_thumb.jpg

Strange that something like that happened to you. I'm definitely past the 3k mark now since installation and nothing like that has happened (or anything related to the air filter). I hope you didn't add more oil after taking out of the package as it has been pre-oiled. Excessive oiling of the filter will cause problems and the manual has advised against it.

Dear Aspri. this filter i newly bought and just installed. the 1sttime i took out is only 3000km, then i saw this [dead] . Maybe i got the Chiong one, did your filter stated made in USA?

Never see leh. But both my father-in-law and I are using it with no detrimental effect at all. Where did you buy your filter from? First time heard about such a problem. I never noticed whether if it is stated that it is made in USA or not. Maybe you really got a chiong one?

O just sent you a personal mail, not so good to write his name here, but i got it for $75. think i really got the chiong one or reuse one [crazy] . too bad loh, but really good pickup and respond when newly installed. [thumbsup]

What car are you driving? The K&N filter for different cars are at different prices...

Also, you should be able to salvage it if it is reused as you can clean it up and re-oil it with the cleaning kit. Did you buy the cleaning kit at that point in time?