Cracker 1st Gear June 13, 2004 Share June 13, 2004 Went to testdrive the Meriva on Sat. Quite a steady car with firm handling...the brake was hard...the car came with a 5-speed semi auto gearbox....meaning u can do it the auto or manual way. Using the auto, there seem to be a slight jerk when entering the second gear. feature-wise quite OK.... Just want to know any of the brother/sister driving this car ? Not sure how reliable is the gearbox (it is the same as the Opel corsa)..till now I had seen only abt 5 units. Consumption based on product is a healthy 7.7 litres per 100 km. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 i used to drive the corsa tiptronic. in my view, the good pts are - fuel economy - power when u need it, convenience when u need it - engine noise seems better than conventional auto car after a period of usage. it may not be conclusive but i drove my friend 1.5 yr 206.....seems much rougher than my 2.5yr old corsa bad pts are - the jerk (as u said it, but it can be countered by letting go of the pedal at certain rpm when u know it will change gear) - the danger of gearbox breakdown (not sure how expensive it will be but some smaller mechs are not confident of rectify such breakdwons) - parts issue my gear box have not breakdown before alto once a faulty solenoid immoblilised my car Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yqll Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 Read in another forum that AE sold abt 80 Meriva after its launch but I seldom see them on the road. During its launch, AE threw in three-year free servicing and maintenance, including parts except tyres, apart from $0 deposit, free insurance and 1st mth instalment when it was selling at $79,988. But AE now no longer advertises the free maintenance and parts, maybe this has been taken away. A Meriva owner is selling his 5mth old Meriva and was asking for $73k. He claims dealers were offeringc near to $70k, which I feel was quite impossible. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Genie47 1st Gear June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 The Meriva competes with the compact MPVs which is dominated by the Matrix. It is an uphill task. Like any compact MPVs in this class, the 1.6L powerplant is mediocre as witnessed by the Matrix and 1.6L variant of the Vivant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear June 14, 2004 Author Share June 14, 2004 why is the guy selling it? i have sat on the matrix...but it seemed that the meriva has better pickup. GM will on and off throw in 2-3 yrs free servicing as part of their package. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 what happened eventually? did you change to a jap or conti car? which would you prefer? Been thinking about this for a while... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 actually 7+ KM/ Litre is not very economical... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Midicity Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 From crackers posting, it's 7.7L for 100km. This is equivalent to 100/7.7= 12.99km/L Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 oh... understand now. Wow, hen it is very good leh... got how siao or not? been to Opel and was told that Meriva is under powered, hence must use more oil to power it leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 i haven't bought any car......currently driving a friend's protege. generally i prefer conti car.......but then i won't rule out anything cos lots of factor in consideration. i actually quite like the aveo.....but then no hurry yet keke....if u wanna sell me ur corsa 1.4M, i willing to consider also. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 yet it feels a bit underpowered.....but don't forget opel cars generally got very heavy body. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 definitely......matrix pick up really slow man Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yqll Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 Owner is selling the car due to financial reason. FC for Meriva supposedly to be better becos it is an easytronic (clutchless manual). I do not find the car underpowered when i test drove it sometime back. Though new car generally shd not suffer any major mechanical breakdown within the first 3 yrs, the free servicing,maintenance and parts will really give new Conti owners peace of mind. I like the Meriva the car for its styling, versatility and safety. But Hyundai Matrix is value for money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Parkwalker Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 actually enjoying my ride now! No intention of selling leh... Anyone else can help? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 hee......ok lah, like i say, i not urgently looking for car.....but if one value for money one pops along, will grab it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Acemundo Supercharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 i guess its not underpowered but if you compare it to certain other cars, maybe yes. i find a clutchless manual quite appealing. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cashiertan Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 Hyundai WAS value for money till you realised there is Chevrolet Aveo & Kia Cerato. Both perform better than Matrix anytime and have better FC. Plus Aveo comes with ABS and cost 2k cheaper than a basic matrix. Cerato has better interior and better engine and looks much much much better than matrix. Not forgetting that hyundai parts are damn EXP. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cracker 1st Gear June 15, 2004 Author Share June 15, 2004 From crackers posting, it's 7.7L for 100km. This is equivalent to 100/7.7= 12.99km/L tat what the spec sheet mentioned ! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...