Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 Hi, need you help! My fabric car seat was quite dusty. I have tried to use those normal car vacuum cleaner to vacuum the seat, but no use at all. Pls advise me how to clean the dust. Thanks! ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 go for steam shampoo. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 11, 2004 Author Share June 11, 2004 May I know where to find steam shampoo service? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 tink most car polish ctrs shld hv the service. dunno how much tho. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vooth 2nd Gear June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 Use the feather duster and then vacuum... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 11, 2004 Author Share June 11, 2004 I have try using racket to hit on the seat b4 vacuum it, but the dust still there Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norman Neutral Newbie June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 if its only dust, then use the normal house vacuum cleaner...more powerful that the car ones......also depends whether u can get access to a powerpoint :P seen some people living in 1st & 2nd floor of HDB using long extention to their car parked nearby Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 11, 2004 Author Share June 11, 2004 Me stay at 7th floor so if wanted to use the normal house vacuum cleaner, then the extention wire must be supper long lor . Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Norman Neutral Newbie June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 then maybe u can try some petrol kiosks who have coin operated vacuum cleaners.....dunno if still got Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Supermax7 Neutral Newbie June 11, 2004 Share June 11, 2004 Can try out the Mobil Station next to Sime Darby Centre at Dunearn Road. I think it cost $2 for 10n min or so. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 if you have one of those 'wet' vaccuum cleaners, then it'll help alot. plain vaccuuming wun remove all the dust. Even if you do remove all the dust, it'll come back again in a few days. best is to 'upgrade' to leather. No dusty problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 15, 2004 Author Share June 15, 2004 Yes, am considering to change it to leather seat But because of $$$, so holding back for quite some time Do you know where to get a cheaper price for leather seat, not necessary full leather, 1/2 leather oso can Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ace_t Neutral Newbie June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 I've seen one upholstery shop along Thomson road.. just immediately after the SHELL petrol kiosk.. towards Novena church. It's a small shop that can do upholstery of all kinds.. Seen a few cars there doing leather seat installations too. Else I reckon the most cost effective is to go up north.. not sure which shop exactly, but maybe some of the members here can suggest and give u directions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 last time i used a formy spray, it soaked the fabric and loosened the dust etc, then just used a wet cloth to wipe over the fabric, the result was quite impressive Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Owen_fan 2nd Gear June 16, 2004 Author Share June 16, 2004 Hi, May I know what is the name of the spray, & where can I get it from. Thanks! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged June 16, 2004 Share June 16, 2004 i managed to find two cans in my cupboard just now:- 'Dri-Cleen' by SIMONIZ, and 'Carpet $ Upholstery Cleaner' by POLYGLAZE... if i remember correctly, some DIY stores are selling them... (i bought and used them a few years ago, quite effective!!) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 21, 2004 Share June 21, 2004 hi pal... my frd juz got his honda city (2nd gen) wrap in half leather..... i see the workmanship not bad... he said its abt $300+..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 21, 2004 Share June 21, 2004 hi pal... my car seats are in fabric also..... yeah... juz use the fabric foam cleaner... spray the foam onto the fabric.... let the foam sink into it.... then use a cloth to wipe..... not bad... got floral smell also...... i am using one which my frd give to me.... brand is Carpet Fresh,- No vaccuum Foam auto refresher.... not sure whether its available locally tho... juz share my info with u... ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...