Fulcrum Clutched June 10, 2004 Share June 10, 2004 Hi everyone, Anyone drove to Kuantan b4? i've got no GPS so a messy Malaysia map is my only tool. Anyone know of an interactive online map of Malaysia? Can anyone who drove to Kuantan can provide a good route (shortest distance)? Thanks in advance. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 10, 2004 Share June 10, 2004 hmmm....Kuantan. nice place. i oso interested to know..... bro,pai seh...tong pang your thread a bit.... or anybody knows of any place along NS highway(between JB to Malacca: within 2hrs drive) where there's good food/shopping to spend the weekends? am thinking of bringing my family for a short getaway holidayz. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 10, 2004 Share June 10, 2004 My fave rout e to Kuantan is by Kota Tinggi>Mersing>Kuantan. Very light traffic. Some very nice roads. And seaside scenery along many parts. Fallen in love with this stretch and will up there again this June holidays. Also a chance to stretch my legs a bit Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 10, 2004 Share June 10, 2004 if follow the signboard strictly(kota tinggi-mersing-kuantan) will i miss the exit? am thinking of a short holiday trip there oso. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Slayer Clutched June 12, 2004 Share June 12, 2004 Hope it helps : Go buy a proper road map from book stores or a AAS. There are some interesting articles from AAS website. in the Highway section: http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/cargo0404.htm http://www.aas.com.sg/features/archive/cargo0604.htm Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 12, 2004 Share June 12, 2004 if follow the signboard strictly(kota tinggi-mersing-kuantan)will i miss the exit? am thinking of a short holiday trip there oso. If you follow the sign boards plus a litte knowledge of malay, you should be able to go there without much problems. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gendut 2nd Gear June 12, 2004 Share June 12, 2004 Exit? What exit? I just follow the directions that says Kota tinggi, then Mersing. Doubt you will get lost. The other way is to use your pple skills and ask at the petrol station. Most will understand English and don't think they charge for directions. Have a nice trip and if you pass a black Octavia, give a wave. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie June 12, 2004 Share June 12, 2004 "online map" Hi! there, Fulcrum, Here it is: http://www.jkr.gov.my/RoadMap/index.htm# Use the east coast road and keep the sea at your right, and you won't miss your destination. Be alert for a fork when the road splits, I've forgotten if it's at Endau or Rompin, but you won't miss it in the day time. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Pauly75ts Neutral Newbie June 12, 2004 Share June 12, 2004 "within 2hrs drive" Hi! there, Ah_Veo, You can choose from, Kluang, Muar or Batu Pahat. Don't expect Orchard Rd shopping centres, or Tampines type, or HDB, or Boon Lay too. Rgds Paul Yong Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 great help there,bro! thanks a million! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 ok, thanks brudder. malay saya faham...satu, dua, ampat. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 roger, bro Gendit. thank you,thank you.... black skoda.....hmmmm......will take note of that. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ah_veo Neutral Newbie June 14, 2004 Share June 14, 2004 (edited) mmmm.....Kluang,Muar,Batu Pahat. will try to drop by one of these places. thank you sir. Edited June 14, 2004 by Ah_veo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 Halo, you fogot tiga comes before empat lah.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 hi pal... share with you abit abt my first trip to kuantan 3 mths back... i set off with my frd at abt 3am to try catch the sunrise along the beach area.... thinking we will reach there in time... cos some frds told me the sunrise is the best scene.. as it is facing south china sea..... however, we took abt 4 hours to reach there from Singapore.... and by the time we are there... the weather was pretty bad with rain clouds gathering and the sun was already up. so if u wanna catch the sunrise... can start journey more early.... also... less traffic (see my pointers below) ... Then its another 4 hours drive back... Some pointers to note... 1) from JB all the way to kuantan... the roads are of 2 way lane, those typical trunk road. It gets a bit tricky to overtake slower cars while ensuring the opposite lane is clear of oncoming vehicles... A certain stretch of the road is with lots of tight curves... so do drive carefully and there are those with up n down hills too... 2) real cheap food at kuantan... we have porridge n noodles at RM 1.50... more noodles at 1.80 only. 3) nice beach... machiam like those u see in baywatch... heehee... minus the babes lah... 4) its handy to have a map of kuantan or johore... juz for precaution.... have a nice trip.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 heehee... dun forget to try some nice durians while visiting these places... heard they are cheap n good also.... and yes... seafood also.... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Linus Clutched June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 maybe he got something against tiga lah...... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Luckcent 4th Gear June 15, 2004 Share June 15, 2004 If he get lost, it will be a great joke. Hope not. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...