Finally.... Chevrolet/Daewoo Fan

Julian

I used to try starting up a Daewoo forum club but seems than nobody even bothers. I think it's actually the brand name Daewoo that "stops" people from loving the car here. Ever since the change of name to Chevrolet, I am surprise that there is so called a "fan club" here.

I am driving a super RARE Daewoo Nexia(A) and looking for someone who drives one too. I think only 5 or 6 running on our road now. I have urge my dad to buy the Chevrolet Optra and didn't think he will buy as he is quite "Japanese" but he bought it in January when he saw the car in the showroom as it is simply huge and a beauty... didn't even bother to test drive.

I intend to buy a Black Optra after my nexia scrap in 1yr++ time but my dad driving a Red Optra and sounds silly to buy the same car as my dad. Actually, I know this car is gonna replace the Nubira since early last year and have been keeping track of it till it reach here. Vivant is only available as a manual for the 1.6 and will be "old" by the time I want to buy. Aveo is a little too small as i want a 1.6. Lumina is real cool but too big as it's a 3.8. I think i will buy the Lumina (Holden Commodore/Opel Omega) if I strike toto or 4D, I am impress by the chunky doors and the cup holder, not to mention it's a rear wheel drive.

So... the Chevy people here meet up regularly? I think i will have to drive my dad's car to meet up as I own a Daewoo.

Welcome to the Chevy Club, finally you find this place hmm. Me driving the Optra Black, good handling, huge and superb performance, so has been very please with this car, no regret. laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif.

Was like your dad, very japanese, but in end still buythumbsup.gif

Hi Julian,

Welcome on-board. No worry man, all are welcome, wheather you own a chevy, deawoo, other make cars, drive yr dad car, company car van, lorry, truck, bike, sport car, don't own car... all welcome, talk to us, grow with us [;)]

Welcome Julian.... Our last meetup is made possible by 10 cars....All Chevy owners tho...But you are definately welcome to join us... This group just gets bigger and bigger... Will try to organise 1 soon...probably the mid of this June...Dun worry, all of us are nice and lovely people...no one is even remotely "Ah beng" here...

Do log in regularly for updates.... Cheers!!! [thumbsup][thumbsup]

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif ........................

Hi Julian , welcome , welcome.

Wow a small world huh , my dads also driving an Optra and i'm the one and only one here with the Kalos '.

What a small world ......................... but its definately smaller when youre on the AYE today 31 May 2004 towards city at around 720am.dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

The Aveo's load space and passenger space actually rivals the Japanese 1.6L class. Very big small car. People go into shock as I open the boot and load stuff into it.

hi Julian....

another member to our group! YES!! [bounce2][bounce1]

wha...brudder...u driving something more rare than a porsche u noe....definitely make heads turn. [nod][nod][nod]

next meetup, hope to see you.....& your daddy together. [laugh][thumbsup]

laugh.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif ........................

Hi Julian , welcome , welcome.

Wow a small world huh , my dads also driving an Optra and i'm the one and only one here with the Kalos '.

What a small world ......................... but its definately smaller when youre on the AYE today 31 May 2004 towards city at around 720am.dizzy.gifdizzy.gifdizzy.gif

Hello, yours is a Daewoo Kalos? or Chevy Aveo? So why your dad bought the Optra too? I actually ask him to buy and I got to chose the color (chose black but have to wait and red is the next choice). I also ask a friend to buy the Aveo and choose the color for him.

THANKS FOR THE WARM WELCOME TO EVERYONE HERE.

WHICH SALES DID YOU BUY YOUR CAR FROM? MY DAD BOUGHT IT FROM MY FRIEND, PERDEEP, IN SA.

The Aveo's load space and passenger space actually rivals the Japanese 1.6L class. Very big small car. People go into shock as I open the boot and load stuff into it.

Yes, i totally agree. The Aveo boot might be smaller than Optra but it look really DEEP, thanks to the high boot line.

What are all your number plate series?

My Daewoo Nexia is SCK

My dad's Optra is SFF

Hahaha....

hi Julian....

another member to our group! YES!! [bounce2][bounce1]

wha...brudder...u driving something more rare than a porsche u noe....definitely make heads turn. [nod][nod][nod]

next meetup, hope to see you.....& your daddy together. [laugh][thumbsup]

Yeap, the car is definately more rare than a 911/930/924/928...etc....

BUT no heads turn yet.... at least all my friends/collegues said that they never saw my car run on the road b4. I know that this Nexia has a strong following in Eastern Europe especially Czech Rep.

1st time when i went to test-drive at SA 3-4mths back, saw 1 at the car park.

me & my friend stood there under the hot sun to admire the car for 1 minute. [sweatdrop]

eye opener for me. [nod]

1st time when i went to test-drive at SA 3-4mths back, saw 1 at the car park.

me & my friend stood there under the hot sun to admire the car for 1 minute. [sweatdrop]

eye opener for me. [nod]

Hello,

It might be my car as i went in n out of SA from last Sept to this yr Feb. What color is the Nexia?

silver. 1st time i've seen a Nexia.... [;)][thumbsup]

Silver?? Hmmm.... mine's Champange Gold/Beige.... so far i saw another one is same color as mine, 2 maroon, 1 olive green and a dark green. I think should be mine lah.... the color looks silver at an angle....

Do u still remember the number plate? [sweatdrop] pai say...

dun remember the nos plate liao. but nebermind...drive down ur Nexia in our next meetup, let me admire again,can?? [;)]

Can but it's a old car leh... 1996 car... not like ur car still so new.

This is the first time i feel so weird because nobody will know how to appreciate my Daewoo. They label my car as "small" and "old". Old because of the age and small because all Singaporean regard Hatchback as small. Can't understand what people think, my Nexia though a H/B but longer than Matrix and they label Matrix as big???

I don't think the following is big:

Hyundai Accent (Sedan), Kia Rio (4dr), Aveo Sedan (Oops... sorry), Suzuki Liana (4 Dr), 1995 Corolla 4dr (previous model), Honda City, Toyota Vios & Soluna .... etc...

The above are just compact cars with a boot.

Neither I don't think these cars are small:

Peugeot 307 H/B, Ford Focus 5Dr, Alfa 147, Renault Megane H/B, Opel Meriva, VW Golf, etc....

Above are just compact family cars without a boot and bigger than those above.