Car insurance (comprehensive cover)

Nilkz

under my name would be the best. got my licence for 5 years liao.. btw, 2.5% for 10 years loan under DBS Bank consider good deal? just wondering.. thanx for the enlighting!

no loan that stretches 10 years can be a good deal.

Remember to factor in effective rates for better comparison and know what you are actually paying.

And yes, put it under your name to start building up ur NCD. Will be painful in the beginning but you have to start somehow.

Good luck!

May i know some of these terms:

1) Excess

2) Authorised workshops - does it mean for insurance claims, can i and/or the other party only go the authorised workshops stipulated by the insurer?

thanks

Excess - The amount you pay in the event of a "OWN DAMAGE CLAIM". If claim others, don't need to pay.

Authorised workshops - Workshops appointed by insurer to do repair for their clients. Usually this does not include Agent workshop eg. Kah Motor, Borneo Motors, etc.

Usually the plan with Authorised workshops are cheaper in premium.

hi... i am going to renew my insurance soon... currently using AIG... tot of changing to a cheaper insurance...

1) is it the fact that AIG only replace a car if the car is reported as totalled lost in the first year?

3) I understand that AIG insurance is quite EX...

4) Can list me some insurance companies that charge cheaper?

5) currently AIG charges in the range of $900 - $1000 for the renewal...

5) How much cheaper will the cheaper insurance comapany charge?

thanks

Really hope bros/sis here can guide me...

I just got a call fr AIG tat they dun intend to renew my insurance due to an accident happened on 2 May 08. My insurance expire on 08 jun 08. The case is still pending and AIG have reserved $3k in case if there is any claim for bodily injuries.

Will there be any insurance company willing to take my insurance. Really sad now. PLS PLS HELP ME...dunno wat to do now.

Very unlikely oter insurance co. will take you in. Even if some do, the premium would be ridiculously high eg, from the existing $1.2k to $5k (new premium).

Why don't you call an insurance broker to see if they can help you look for one. Worse case is to transfer the car to one of your family members.

Just give those insurance companies a call or those got online quotation.. So many companies, may have one that will accept your case..

Can forget about AIG anyway.. Their premium are really the premium.. They actually quote me more even when I have 10% more NCD when time for me to renew.. Of course I switch immediately..

Edited by Beei

I am buying a new car from Toyota. I was given a quote with an excess of $1200 from their in-house agent AIG. To me, this is as good as no insurance.

The SE told me that all new Toyota cars insured with AIG will carry this excess. Is this true?

My current car insurance excess is only $500.

Any comments appreciated. Cheers.

Car Insurance company seem to be high handed these days.

They will withhold your NCD entitlement once you make a accident report regardless of whether you are right or wrong.

If you are Right (Insurer say maybe you are not telling the truth)

If you are Wrong (Insurer sure need to pay)

Die Die - car owner lose !

I called my current agent and they are willing to quote with an excess of only $500. Only problem is I would have to pay $500 extra for the car if i don't take up their in house insurance.

What a fix.

Ya lor, that's why become non-insurable [smallcry]

Any idea how much my premium will be likely. [sweatdrop]

Will other insurance agent want me [bigcry]

Maybe u can try put yr parents or wife as main driver and you as sub-driver?