Use of turbo timer

Bibill

Wow that is good article!...so can I use a turbo timer on a NA car? NA cars need to cool off before shut down completely? Does it help to lengthen the life span of the engine? Thanks.

Well more for turbo cars lah..... for NA cars u can ask ur mechanic whos good at electrical to delay ur fan cut off thumbsup.gif

most, if not all, modern turbo cars do not need turbo timer. even a 300bhp Evo doesn't come wif it. for NA cars, the onli use is to generate carbon buildup. tongue.gif

Well, it might be said to be so for modern TC cars. But better to be safe than to be sorry.......... [:p] Dunno about your ride but for mine, the engine gets really very hot even only after a short spirited run. With the TT, not only the turbo gets some cooling, but also the engine internals as the fan is still blowing. High temp heat soak I guess is bad in general for any of the engine components.

Another use of the TT is for warmup in the morning. I know some say that it is not necessary etc, etc, etc......... but mine w/o warmup has harsh/jerky auto gear change. So at times I turn on the engine, set the TT to maybe 4 mins and lock the doors while I walk to the nearby shops to get a pack of ciggies or the ATM to get money. When I'm back, the engine is off but car already nicely warmed up so no need to stand around & wait.

Just to share my personal usage of the TT........

i guess the cautious approach stems from the 80's turbo era where turbo technology was less reliable and prone to seizures where ECUs and intercoolers were a rarity.

if u tink abt it, manufacturers employ hundreds of engineers and spend millions on latest R&D technology plus they hv to offer a 3yr warranty on the turbo eventho they hv no control on how their customers will trash the car. i doubt a low-tech $100 turbo timer thingy would've slipped their minds. tongue.gif

i guess the cautious approach stems from the 80's turbo era where turbo technology was less reliable and prone to seizures where ECUs and intercoolers were a rarity.

if u tink abt it, manufacturers employ hundreds of engineers and spend millions on latest R&D technology plus they hv to offer a 3yr warranty on the turbo eventho they hv no control on how their customers will trash the car. i doubt a low-tech $100 turbo timer thingy would've slipped their minds. tongue.gif

Well, that may be so....... but same goes for the cooling efficiency of the stock radiator for example. At high runs, there's a strong cooking smell which is the auto tranny being tortured.......... dunno about other cars though. Thats' why with an ATF cooler, the temp is reduced and the burning smell doesn't crop up at all. So, I come to the conclusion that even though the manufacturers might have done research on the optimum parts to be used, in our hot climate, I still prefer to be more prudent when it comes to temperature related injuries to my ride. [rolleyes]

wah, how hard do u drive to cook yr tranny esp if u dun track? shocked.gifsweatdrop.gifsweatdrop.gif in any case, under warranty so whack and claim lor. laugh.giflaugh.gif

Don't need to track to cook the auto tranny leh......... just need to go for a run on the NS Hwy for outings and it already cooks liao..... don't even need to hit 200km/h or higher for that matter.

actually, a car isn't realli that stressed out on NS Hwy runs plus u got all that 'cool' air flowing thru.

Well, that may be so....... but same goes for the cooling efficiency of the stock radiator for example. At high runs, there's a strong cooking smell which is the auto tranny being tortured.......... dunno about other cars though. Thats' why with an ATF cooler, the temp is reduced and the burning smell doesn't crop up at all. So, I come to the conclusion that even though the manufacturers might have done research on the optimum parts to be used, in our hot climate, I still prefer to be more prudent when it comes to temperature related injuries to my ride. rolleyes.gif

Yes u can smell chow tar smell sweatdrop.gif So shud flush and change ur ATF thumbsup.gif

Don't need to track to cook the auto tranny leh......... just need to go for a run on the NS Hwy for outings and it already cooks liao..... don't even need to hit 200km/h or higher for that matter.

Yup thats provided ur boosting or overboosting all the way and not cruising nod.gifsweatdrop.gif

Well, it might be said to be so for modern TC cars. But better to be safe than to be sorry.......... tongue.gif Dunno about your ride but for mine, the engine gets really very hot even only after a short spirited run. With the TT, not only the turbo gets some cooling, but also the engine internals as the fan is still blowing. High temp heat soak I guess is bad in general for any of the engine components.

Another use of the TT is for warmup in the morning. I know some say that it is not necessary etc, etc, etc......... but mine w/o warmup has harsh/jerky auto gear change. So at times I turn on the engine, set the TT to maybe 4 mins and lock the doors while I walk to the nearby shops to get a pack of ciggies or the ATM to get money. When I'm back, the engine is off but car already nicely warmed up so no need to stand around & wait.

Just to share my personal usage of the TT........

Another point to add is here we are always rush for time and often than not we do not allow our car to cool down enough.... unlike in temperate countries..... oh some cars dun even have aircon there too hor tongue.gif

So TT is applicable in our context ie if we always whack our cars and dun have time to let engine run while cooling down.

My 2 cents