HID Xenon lights

Mondeo

remember that when u pay for this kind of thingy wif the new car, ga'rhment oredi tax you liao. aftermarket fittings u pay only to the installer, not to ga'rhment.

But some come with new car. how? [cool]

techincally you are not allowed but if there is original for the particular model than you can argue on ground that yrs is original. wish you gd luck.

So technically the rules 4 years ago are the same now right? Is it possible that if I change to a HID light that is similar in brightness to my stock non-HID type (I want the white colour, but not to blind people) I can get a higher chance of passing LTA checks?

Factory fitted HIDs are okay, aftermarket ones ... well, see below reply from LTA.

Our Ref: LTA/CSV/F20.032.00013754/1

Date : 30-SEP-2006

Tel : 1800 - CALL - LTA (2255 582)

Fax : 6553 5329

RE: Penalty for installing aftermarket HID

FEEDBACK NUMBER: 412867

Thank you for your feedback dated 19 Sep 2006.

2 We would like to inform you that the Land Transport Authority

(LTA) requires all lamps fitted on vehicles to comply with the Road Traffic

(Motor Vehicles, Lighting) Rules. The types of lamps must bear approved

markings to show that they comply with internationally recognised

standards, such as those adopted in European Union countries, Japan and

the United States. In addition, the lights must also conform to their

illuminated colour and intensity.

3 As far as we are aware, majorities of the authority world-wide do

not allow the retrofitting of the High-Intensity Discharge (HID) headlamp

system on vehicles which are not originally designed with the system.

Vehicles that are originally fitted with the HID headlamp system are

purpose built by vehicle manufacturer to ensure that they are safe.

4 Front fog lamps are auxiliary lamps, designed and manufactured to

project a less intense but more diffused light pattern. They should

only be used as a substantiate source of light beam to the headlamp during

adverse weather conditions or in occasions where visibility is very poor such

as during a heavy downpour or under hazy environments.

5 It is an offence for a person who abuses the use of fog lamps

and/or having any installation of vehicle lighting systems that do not comply

with requirements. Offenders are liable, upon conviction, to a fine of up to

$1,000 or a jail term of up to three months for first offence. Repeat

offenders are liable, upon conviction, to a fine of up to $2,000 or a

jail term of up to six months.

6 In the event if you come across any unroadworthy or illegally

modified vehicles on the roads, you can fill up the attached informant

feedback form and return it, via fax or mail, to the Vehicle

Engineering Division of LTA at 10 Sin Ming Drive, Singapore 575701.

7 We hope the above clarifies. Once again, we thank you for your

feedback.

Yours sincerely,

(SIGNED IN LOTUS NOTES)

WONG POH LUM

for DEPUTY DIRECTOR

VEHICLE ENGINEERING DIVISION

LAND TRANSPORT AUTHORITY

Thank you all bros who answered the thread of 4 yrs old. [laugh]

Technically the HID comes with the car factory which is allowed, since the auth. dealer will send the car to LTA for approval b4 they can see that model.

Just a personal comment bros, it not easy to be caught with HID unless you're

gg for the inspection. Normally even during road blocks, the TP ain't gonna book

you, unless you suay suay kena ROV joint ops, then gd luck!!

Else, I reckon it's quite "safe" lah... [angel]

I retrofitted my xenons and passed inspection.

But I did buy original xenon lights for my car. This includes the whole headlight cluster with projector lenses. However it wasn't a complete installation as I didn't bother to install the self-levelling sensors. That would be too much trouble.

Passed with no problems.

The white type from Philips approved by LTA sud b Crystal Vision. Diamond Vision is also white but very bright, so no LTA approval. But can b used for off-road.

Vision Plus is the yellow type.

U can try to use Diamond Vision but if the Viacom inspector is very on, u might have some problems.

Thanks for the info, so I'll probably be looking for the Crystal Vision. But looking at Garlic's reply from LTA, since my car does not come fitted with HID (even those sold now), does that mean that I might not pass inspection even if I use LTA approved HID?