Michelin vs Yokohama

Carr

Michelin vs Yokohama  

46 members have voted

1. 1.

• Michellin energy MXV8
    • Yohoman A500 (ASPEC dB).

Hi

IF you more concern about grip on wet road, then maybe can oso consider Bridgestone GIII. I just change my stock tire to GIII about a month ago, find that the grip on wet & dry road was good. My tire size was 185/65R14.

The tyres still acceptable to a certain degree. The cost factor loh, sports tyre tends to wear faster and almost all are more costly. U may have to spend 200 or more for tyres of the same size. smile.gif

So... anyone swear by their tires?

eddie

Doubt anyone swear by their tyres... I am happy with mine. They are the Goodyear F1-GSD3.

Strange, seems that Yohoman A500 (ASPEC dB) not well-like but see so many cars on the road using Yohoman ASPEC dB. [:/][dead]

I am more concern about grip on wet road because safety is top priority.

I think people ended up with the Aspec dB because they told the shops that they want the quietest tyres.

Strange, seems that Yohoman A500 (ASPEC dB) not well-like but see so many cars on the road using Yohoman ASPEC dB. [:/][dead]

I am more concern about grip on wet road because safety is top priority.

I think people ended up with the Aspec dB because they told the shops that they want the quietest tyres.

very true... well at least, tat was wat happened to me. totally forgot to ask about grip, wear rate, blah... [shakehead]

was using 190/50/15 aspecDB and cornered a T-junction in slight drizzle at abt 60km/h. hell of a experience which i do not want to try again...

traded them in (less than 4 months [crazy] ) and got myself ST115. good stuff! noisier but very grippy in dry and wet weather. at $80 a piece 15", it's a great buy IMHO. [thumbsup]

very true... well at least, tat was wat happened to me. totally forgot to ask about grip, wear rate, blah... [shakehead]

was using 190/50/15 aspecDB and cornered a T-junction in slight drizzle at abt 60km/h. hell of a experience which i do not want to try again...

traded them in (less than 4 months [crazy] ) and got myself ST115. good stuff! noisier but very grippy in dry and wet weather. at $80 a piece 15", it's a great buy IMHO. [thumbsup]

So you are also a

(1) cut losses,

(2) take the reduced comfort for improved safety kind of guy.

[thumbsup][;)]

So you are also a

(1) cut losses,

[thumbsup][;)]

u r right bro [thumbsup]

i want to cut costs but won't risk my life on cheap, crappy tyres such as... [lipsrsealed]

IMHO, ST115 is a cheap and good buy. then again, aspecDB is also not a bad choice if one is a safe/slow driver who is particular with rolling noise... just need to be more cautious in wet weather. [:)]

Edited by Jamesgetz

So you are also a

(1) cut losses,

[thumbsup][;)]

u r right bro [thumbsup]

i want to cut costs but won't risk my life on cheap, crappy tyres such as... [lipsrsealed]

IMHO, ST115 is a cheap and good buy. then again, aspecDB is also not a bad choice if one is a safe/slow driver who is particular abt rolling noise... just need to be more cautious in wet weather. [:)]

Anyone used the Michelin Preceda yet? Comments? How about AVS dB? I am on ST115 now... not complaining about grip but really not as silent as it advertised... but it's one heck of a looker though...

So... anyone swear by their tires?

eddie

Doubt anyone swear by their tyres... I am happy with mine. They are the Goodyear F1-GSD3.

How about Michelin Pilot Sports ? rolleyes.gif I've got no complaints leh ! tongue.gif

Hi Dookie,

You might want to check out the Official Tyre Review Thread in the RESOURCES folder here -->

http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gforum.cgi?post=418659;sb=post_latest_reply;so=ASC;forum_view=forum_view_collapsed;;page=un

read#unread://http://www.mycarforum.com/forum/gfo...=un

read#unread

The Pilot Preceda tyres are quite good in terms of grip and wet weather handling. Noise wise [which is subjective] is a bit less than the Pilot Sports, which this tyre is one level below. Do note that the size I tested was 225/45/R17 tho, so may give you slightly different results for 15" or 16" sizes.

Cheers tongue.gif

Edited by Assassin

How about Michelin Pilot Sports ? rolleyes.gif I've got no complaints leh ! tongue.gif

The Pilot Sports are also a top rung tyre. [thumbsup] I would classify Pilot Sports, SO3, F1-GSD3, PZero-Rosso within the same class

For this class, I would go for either the Pilot Sports or the S03. PZero Rosso is too expensive liao and wears out quite fast. Would like to give the F1-GSD3 a try if possible to see how it fares. tongue.gif