Monaco GP

DarkLord

Welcome to Monaco! Home of the Monaco F1 GP! DarkLord will update you all on the latest news and results! Here are the latest news on the practice rounds of this weekend's race!

SCHUMACHER LEADS EARLY MONACO TIMES

Ferrari's Michael Schumacher fired an early warning to his rivals when he clocked the fastest time in free practice for the Monaco Grand Prix on Sunday.

The German, bidding for a sixth successive victory and a record-equalling sixth Monaco win, went fastest in the morning session before regaining the lead with seven minutes left in the afternoon.

"We worked well throughout the day, improving the car all the time," Schumacher said.

"I think qualifying here will be very close so, although this is a positive sign, I don't think today means so much and we will only see the real picture on Saturday."

The Honda-powered BARs went quick all day, with test driver Anthony Davidson eventually filling second spot.

Davidson again showed up well and he even beat Schumacher's Ferrari team-mate Rubens Barrichello, denying the Italian team a one-two.

Barrichello was third, with Renault's Jarno Trulli fourth and Kimi Raikkonen an impressive fifth for struggling McLaren.

Jenson Button took his BAR to sixth place while Scotsman David Coulthard was 11th for McLaren.

The morning session was interrupted for six minutes when Jaguar's Mark Webber hurriedly pulled over between the new chicane and Tabac corner, gesticulating to marshals to extinguish an engine fire.

The car had to lifted off the track by crane before practice could continue.

"The team are working flat out to repair the car and at this stage the engine appears to be okay," said Webber.

"However until I get back out on track and actually put some miles on the car we won't really know."

And there was more misery to follow for the team when Bjorn Wirdheim lasted just five minutes before damaging his rear suspension after clouting a wall, before Christian Klein slammed into barriers late in the day to leave Jaguar with three cars to repair.

Kimi must be doing something amazing to push his junkheap to the top five... [thumbsup]

If you have a good driver, sometimes can have good result, but probably not good enough to win on Sun. If you have a good driver and a good car, then..... [thumbsup][thumbsup][thumbsup]

Hopefully Button don't blunder this time round. Was a dissappointment the last race. [:/]

That mistake really cost him. Monaco being what it is, a good grid position is paramount [nod]

Yup! Pitstop roulette again. Minimal overtaking chances here. [shakehead]

Here's abit of team news for the Mclarens! Mclaren's fans will be happy to hear this news...

Heavily revised McLaren on the way spacer.gif

McLaren

Official timings of Thursday's free practice and drivers' quotes!

Michael Schumacher, Ferrari (1st, 1m 14.741s):

"It was an entertaining and interesting session as we have come to expect in Monaco. We worked well throughout the day, improving the car all the time as can be seen from the fact I was quickest at the end of both sessions. I think qualifying here will be very close so, although this is a positive sign, I don't think today means so much and we will only see the real picture on Saturday. I like the new pits as they are a big step forward in terms of safety, for the drivers and everyone working there."

Anthony Davidson, BAR (2nd, 1m 15.141s):

"I've had a really positive debut here today and I'm very pleased with our performance. It's a fairly tough circuit generally - and quite daunting for the first few laps - but I was really looking forward to getting out there. It's one of those circuits that really moves you as a driver and perhaps more than any other circuit I would really love to be driving here for the rest of the weekend. I'll settle for the fact that I've done a race distance here today to help prepare for what I'm sure will be a great race for Jenson and Taku."

Rubens Barrichello, Ferrari (3rd, 1m 15.319s):

"I had a big problem with the set-up this morning, but now we have made a very good improvement. As usual we concentrated more on the race than on qualifying. I have a bit of a cold, so I was not so comfortable in the car as it was hot and my breathing was difficult. The team did a superb job to improve the car and I am looking forward to Saturday."

Jarno Trulli, Renault (4th, 1m 15.472s):

"I had a normal Friday, working to set up the car and complete our programme. We accomplished a lot, and improved the handling, although there is still work to do in this area. We know the car is quick here, and now have to find a set-up we are completely happy with. I am glad to have come through the day without any problems, and feel optimistic for the rest of the weekend."

Kimi Raikkonen, McLaren (5th, 1m 15.479s):

"A good practice session where we went through most of our planned programme. Like David I had a problem with the power steering which caused some interruption to the second session. The circuit has been resurfaced, so it's not as bumpy as it used to be. The car seems to suit the tight circuit design here in Monaco, so hopefully we can fight for good positions if everything keeps going well."

Jenson Button, BAR (6th, 1m 15.520s):

"I think we should feel very happy with what we have achieved today and we're certainly looking good for a strong weekend. We have run three cars with mo major problems and achieved everything we needed to, particularly with Anthony who has done a great job today. We still have a lot of work to do to go through all the data we have acquired from all three cars. As we all know, qualifying well is crucial here and we have to ensure that tomorrow morning's sessions give us the maximum preparation for that. Generally though I think it will be a very interesting weekend."

Takuma Sato, BAR (7th, 1m 15.664s):

"I'm very pleased from a personal point of view and the team has made a good start to the weekend. All three cars were the top performers in my opinion and we all made good progress towards the race. So I am very happy with our performance today and

I enjoy driving here in Monaco. It is a very encouraging start and obviously we now need to concentrate on the performance and tyres for tomorrow because qualifying is so important here."

Ricardo Zonta, Toyota (8th, 1m 15.690s):

"It has been quite difficult to choose the right tyre compound for this track based on this morning's sessions. However, we did an extensive tyre comparison and at the end of the session we found a good solution for us. The course does not forgive any driving mistakes, so I am happy that we were able to finish the day without incident. In the process, we have collected a good amount of data.

Overall, it was not an easy start to the weekend, but satisfying nevertheless."

Fernando Alonso, Renault (9th, 1m 15.701s):

"Our priority today was choosing the tyres, and we did this without any problems. The car balance is OK at the moment - we don't have any big problems, just some areas to carry on tuning. I am happy with our speed at the moment, and am looking forward to Saturday."

Juan Pablo Montoya, Williams (10th, 1m 16.097s):

The qualifying results are just in, and surprise surprise, Schumi's not sitting on pole! He's lying 4th, bested by Trulli, Button and Alonso. Kimi of all people, is on his tail. Poor Ralfie made a time good enough for 2nd place on the grid, but an engine change demoted him 10 places down to twelfth. Uncle Foo, whatever you've been doing with the MS voodoo dolls, keep it up! [thumbsup]

The qualifying results are just in, and surprise surprise, Schumi's not sitting on pole! He's lying 4th, bested by Trulli, Button and Alonso. Kimi of all people, is on his tail. Poor Ralfie made a time good enough for 2nd place on the grid, but an engine change demoted him 10 places down to twelfth. Uncle Foo, whatever you've been doing with the MS voodoo dolls, keep it up! thumbsup.gif

hahaha, it does seem my new titanium voodoo pins are working fine thumbsup.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

Looks like the scarlet team is the one to beat again. BAR is doing well. thumbsup.gif

so you are very confident that this race will be another Ferrari's ??!! laugh.giflaugh.gif

The qualifying results are just in, and surprise surprise, Schumi's not sitting on pole! He's lying 4th, bested by Trulli, Button and Alonso. Kimi of all people, is on his tail. Poor Ralfie made a time good enough for 2nd place on the grid, but an engine change demoted him 10 places down to twelfth. Uncle Foo, whatever you've been doing with the MS voodoo dolls, keep it up! thumbsup.gif

hahaha, it does seem my new titanium voodoo pins are working fine thumbsup.giflaugh.giflaugh.gif

While you are at it ... can u put in 2 pins on his nipples for me wink.giftongue.gif

after you tweak them abit first...... heheheelaugh.giftongue.gif

so you are very confident that this race will be another Ferrari's ??!! laugh.giflaugh.gif

Looks like the good run will end tomolo. [;)] Well, lets give others a chance.

Official lap times of the qualifying rounds!

Starting grid

1.J Trulli (Ita) Renault 1:13.985

2.J Button (GB) BAR 1:14.396

3.F Alonso (Spn) Renault 1:14.408

4.M Schumacher (Ger) Ferrari 1:14.516

5.K Raikkonen (Fin) McLaren 1:14.592

6.R Barrichello (Brz) Ferrari 1:14.716

7.T Sato (Jpn) BAR 1:14.827

8.D Coulthard (GB) McLaren 1:14.951

9.JP Montoya (Col) Williams 1:15.039

10.G Fisichella (Ita) Sauber 1:15.352

11.M Webber (Aus) Jaguar 1:15.725

12.R Schumacher (Ger)* Williams 1:14.345

13.O Panis (Fra) Toyota 1:15.859

14.C Klein (Aut) Jaguar 1:15.919

15.C da Matta (Brz) Toyota 1:16.169

16.F Massa (Brz) Sauber 1:16.248

17.N Heidfeld (Ger) Jordan 1:16.488

18.G Pantano (Ita) Jordan 1:17.443

19.Z Baumgartner (Hun) Minardi 1:20.060

20.G Bruni (Ita) Minardi 1:20.115

* Ralf Schumacher was second fastest but loses 10 places after having his car's engine replaced.

Ralf as always... Damn joker sia!! Oii! Wake up sia!!

Edited by DarkLord

next time dun bring u go eat BKT liao.......eat liao titanium power upz level......kuku eh ah