Phochem Neutral Newbie September 17, 2002 Share September 17, 2002 Hi all, my mum's Nissan VIP needs to change rubber boots liao . Looking for comfort and quiet tyres. Pls help recommend and most impt, the price per piece and the place to get them. THX !!! Current Tyre Size: R14/185/60. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Madarmour Neutral Newbie September 18, 2002 Share September 18, 2002 I think Aspec dB is one of the quietest around. Have never tried it myself but that's the general feeling I get after reading through the few car forums. Not really cheap, though. You can try Leong Seng at Kaki Bukit or Alexandra Road. One of the most competitively priced place. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Et2002 Neutral Newbie September 18, 2002 Share September 18, 2002 Hi, Maybe you would want to consider Dunlop LM701. I have just fitted those tyre and I must say that I am IMPRESSD It is quiet, good wet grip..... and very comfortable..........Have yet to wear-in... the best part is, it is not expensive. Just another good Street Tyre Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkie Neutral Newbie September 20, 2002 Share September 20, 2002 Recommend Yoko ES100 ... better road grip than Aspec dB. Some say quieter too. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear September 20, 2002 Share September 20, 2002 Hi, Recommended by a friend: Eng Wah Tyres Blk 5 Toa Payoh Ind Pk #01-1273 Singapore 319057 Tel: 6250 0085 According to him, the dBs there are cheaper and Leong Seng's. Perhaps u can check w Yap Bros too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 20, 2002 Share September 20, 2002 how much do you think the 18/225/40 will cost? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric Neutral Newbie September 20, 2002 Share September 20, 2002 ES100 is NOT quieter than Aspec dB Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Koolaba 1st Gear September 20, 2002 Share September 20, 2002 Hi, Seriously no idea... since I'm on 185/65 14". Give Eng Wah, Leong Seng, Yap Bros a call to find the px. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie September 20, 2002 Author Share September 20, 2002 haha.. thx, will update u guys on which shop offers the cheapest Yoko tyres. Changing the tyres on Sat morn. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darkie Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 Hey Eric I guess you didn't see me saying "SOME" .... but its much quieter than the Azenis anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 Yah, I know you said some Just that this "some" (me ) finds it louder. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 eric, is this moderately louder ? (es100 vs aspendb), or I will find aspecdb significantly quieter even when comparing with quieter es100. I always travel no more than 120km/h, and corner no more than 70km/h .. will aspecdb serves my need? don't want to invest on performance tyre when I don't even bring it to near its limit :P any idea what's the effect if I use 235/40/18 tyres instead of 225/40/18 tyres? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Author Share September 21, 2002 (edited) Hi, i changed my tyres today at L/S (will not spell it out in full). the boss shared some interesting things with me 2dy. Show a few letters from other shops(if nt wrong) saying that they spoilt the market by selling tyres cheaper (u guys have 2 guess the name of that shop). Yes!! Changed my tyres to Yoko's A500. Very satisfied. Also did checkout their rims, many selections. Saw the OZ Titan and OZ Vela, very chio!! . Personally prefer the Vela but the shop display only the 15" ones. Later when leaving the shop, saw a Nissan Fairlady(if nt wrong) zoom pass. This car is very CHIO !!!! Edited September 21, 2002 by Phochem Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Author Share September 21, 2002 wahhhh... 235/40/18!!! Unless ur car 3k c.c n above else ur will feel lethargic but of course ur cornering will be greatly improved. I assume if u r gg to get an 18", ur car must be some power car. Well what i think, the width betw 225 n 235 doesnt make any diff if u don corner above 70km/h. Fuel consumption not so sure liao but very sure it will look very nice to have a set of 18 incher. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 how much cheaper did you get your A500? if it's not convenient, please email me. nope, I am just driving a 1.6l car .. but just sucker for look Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Eric Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 I was making the same decision. I also don't really speed. I picked the ES100 because of the wet weather performance. I was sick of my previous car with stock tires hydroplaning. The price for ES100 should be the same as Aspec dB. If you going for such low profile tires, you might as well go for ES100. I'm not sure if Aspec dB will come in that size. 235/40/18 tires will be wider and taller than 225/40/18. Choose the one closer to you original tire diameter. Also gotta check that the wider tire doesn't rub against the wheel arches during extreme turns. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Zen Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Share September 21, 2002 I too was worried about the wet weather performance of aspecdb. On the other hand, I feel that the lousy review of its wet performance must be quoted in right context. Why do you say that I might as well go for ES100 given a low profile tires? I know aspecdb comes in 225/40/18. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Phochem Neutral Newbie September 21, 2002 Author Share September 21, 2002 (edited) ES100 designed to have stronger side walls(steel side walls insert) therefore better cornering. dun think the A500 has it. It like having a 20" rim without tyre, 18" + steel sidewall (approx 2"). Edited September 21, 2002 by Phochem ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...